Client Bridge Fails to Renew DHCP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Accused187
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:13    Post subject: Client Bridge Fails to Renew DHCP Reply with quote
Hello,

After many hours of troubleshooting and research, I've been unsuccessful at getting my DD-WRT router (Linksys WRT54Gv5) to renew the DHCP lease (which I manually set to expire every 10 minutes for troubleshooting purposes).

Currently, I am using firmware version v24-sp2 (build 14929) (8/12/10) micro.

For my network setup, I have a Modem connected to my primary router (non DD-WRT) (@ 192.168.1.1), and my desktop is connected to my secondary (DD-WRT) router (@ 192.168.1.2). And obviously those two routers are bridged...

Every 10 minutes on the dot, my connection will drop from my desktop and come back a few seconds later due to the failure to renew DHCP lease.

I've tried adding the custom firewall command via the web interface and even tried disabling SPI firewall completely to no avail.

I'm sort of out of ideas at this point. It might be worth noting that I've tried connecting an old Linksys Wireless G network adapter to my desktop and it has worked successfully at renewals; however, I don't want to use this.

Any suggestions?

What I have tried:

Firmware update from an old v24 Final
30-30-30 hard reset numerous times
SPI firewall command / SPI disable
Static IP on the main router for my desktop
Tutorial for client bridge from the wiki
Flashed firmware 12548 and 12874
Disabled IPv6 completely on the machine (just curious)

Thanks in advance!


Last edited by Accused187 on Thu Feb 03, 2011 21:14; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Tweener
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Look up bug report 973 in the timeline. It might be related. Seems to me it had to do with lease renewals, but I could be wrong. I have client bridge working with that build and a similar router. You could also try 12548 or 12874 which are both great builds on that router.

Also, what encryption are you using? Use wpa2-aes ONLY.
Accused187
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tweener wrote:
Look up bug report 973 in the timeline. It might be related. Seems to me it had to do with lease renewals, but I could be wrong. I have client bridge working with that build and a similar router. You could also try 12548 or 12874 which are both great builds on that router.

Also, what encryption are you using? Use wpa2-aes ONLY.


Bug 973 is actually the SPI firewall bug I attempted to remedy before, but now the firewall is completely disabled (I don't need it anyway for my secondary).

I changed my security on the main router to WPA2 AES only and the same for the secondary but that didn't work (I even did a hard reset on DD-WRT).

So far those things haven't worked. I will try flashing those two firmwares and see if it gets me anywhere. I'll post back with results.
Tweener
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does it happen only with one computer? Could be a driver issue on the computer?
Accused187
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Build 12548 showed the same results. When I issue ipconfig /all it never resets the lease time (but oddly enough the main router will reset the time...) and I will always drop at that expiration time.

Yes, this is the only computer I am having issues with (but it's also the only computer I've had it hooked up to). I will try and hook it up to a few other computers to rule out or confirm that driver possibility.

EDIT:
I tried hooking up the DD-WRT to my laptop and it would not renew the DHCP lease. It would expire and disconnect me. :?

EDIT 2:
I have tried build 12874 and still cannot get DHCP to renew on this computer.

Not sure if this is helpful, but here is an output of my ipconfig /all:

Code:
Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Legacy
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.co.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.co.comcast.net.
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-D0-81-B1-10
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c4d6:bf5d:29f7:8df7%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.34(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 03, 2011 1:37:42 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 03, 2011 1:42:42 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889168
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-88-CC-DA-00-1F-D0-81-B1-10

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.85.102
                                       68.87.69.150
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.co.comcast.net.:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.co.comcast.net.
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2038:531:b4b8:7d0a(Prefe
rred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2038:531:b4b8:7d0a%13(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
415pinolero510
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a Linksys WRT110 that repeats the signal to my DDWRT N12. I connect my DSM520 media device through wire to the N12. My lease seems to expire and not renew either. I'm not entirely sure if this is the problem tho. Have you tried any extra steps to fix the problem?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum