Linksys E2000 / E3000 test builds here

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 72, 73, 74, 75, 76  Next
Author Message
xashleyx3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: American living in Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there any Visual instructions, like a video or something.. because if i watch how it works step by step maybe i won't break it..

If i can't figure it out i am just going to take back the linksys e3000 router. I don't won't to because i like it but i might have to. and if i do take back the router is what routers have the dd-wrt install with them and which ones are the do you prefer.
Sponsor
Beastmaster365
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 15:07    Post subject: e2000 initial flash Reply with quote
Hello,

I just purchased a e2000 router and I'm doing some research before flashing tomorrow. I understand for the initial flash that you have to use one of the bin's. with e2000 in the name. I have downloaded the file (file name dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_ftp-e2000) from the wiki. Do I need to rename the file so it just reads e2000.bin? Or can I use the default file name.

Secondly, I will be using 2 of these routers ,(replacing a pair of linksys WRT54GL's) One as a router and another as a repeater bridge. What build is the most stable for this functionality? I will be doing this flash after the initial e2000 flash. Thanks for all the help.
sca1079
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 21:16    Post subject: build 15943 - unable to select channel when using N-5ghz Reply with quote
I read through some of the threads and didn't find this topic anywhere... so not sure if anyone else has mentioned this...

I'm unable to select a channel or bandwidth (20/40 mhz).. it's currently set to auto.

I'm using the e2000 as a wireless bridge and I'm actually getting decent speeds. I have it wireless connected to my netgear wndr3000 (also on build 15943). I mean the e2000 is working as it's setup now (on auto), but I'd like to be able to select the channel/bandwidth.
sca1079
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:59    Post subject: Re: build 15943 - unable to select channel when using N-5ghz Reply with quote
sca1079 wrote:
I read through some of the threads and didn't find this topic anywhere... so not sure if anyone else has mentioned this...

I'm unable to select a channel or bandwidth (20/40 mhz).. it's currently set to auto.

I'm using the e2000 as a wireless bridge and I'm actually getting decent speeds. I have it wireless connected to my netgear wndr3000 (also on build 15943). I mean the e2000 is working as it's setup now (on auto), but I'd like to be able to select the channel/bandwidth.


I've attached a picture of the settings.. if anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it..



ddwrt.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.15 KB
 Viewed:  13856 Time(s)

ddwrt.png


buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7382
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:04    Post subject: Re: build 15943 - unable to select channel when using N-5ghz Reply with quote
sca1079 wrote:
sca1079 wrote:
I read through some of the threads and didn't find this topic anywhere... so not sure if anyone else has mentioned this...

I'm unable to select a channel or bandwidth (20/40 mhz).. it's currently set to auto.

I'm using the e2000 as a wireless bridge and I'm actually getting decent speeds. I have it wireless connected to my netgear wndr3000 (also on build 15943). I mean the e2000 is working as it's setup now (on auto), but I'd like to be able to select the channel/bandwidth.


I've attached a picture of the settings.. if anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it..


In that mode you cannot select it, only can select it in AP mode, because it basically follws the same settings as the main AP when you run it in any other modes.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
mickyq
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 14:52    Post subject: please help new builds for e2000? Reply with quote
This is sooo confusing trying to find the correct reliable version. I have read the peacock and hundreds of other posts about builds what is the latest reliable build i should use on my linksys e2000?

There are new builds for e2000 at this link
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2011/02-17-11-r16214/broadcom_K26/

however the recommended post by redhawk0 still recommends the 14929 build
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043

which one should i use for VPN with no problems ??
sca1079
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 19:20    Post subject: Re: build 15943 - unable to select channel when using N-5ghz Reply with quote
buddee wrote:

In that mode you cannot select it, only can select it in AP mode, because it basically follws the same settings as the main AP when you run it in any other modes.


Thanks, buddee.. good to know!

can I get your guys' opinion on something else? would you recommend that I dedicate two linksys e2000s (or other routers) using one as an AP and one as a client bridge on 5ghz N.. and then hang the wndr3000 off the original AP to serve as another wireless AP for G/other N traffic? I want to be able to stream HD throughout the house (to my TV connected via the bridge) with the least amount of interference.. and since the wndr3000 is simultaneous dual band, would it be able to broadcast both radios?

btw I've been using build 15943 on both of my routers and they've been rock solid.. if anyone was looking for a good firmware version.. that's the one i'd recommend right now..
wuudogg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 22:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
After several failed attempts over the past few weeks I was able to get client bridge and repeater mode to work on my e3000s with the 5ghz radio only. It seems to have issues when I set both radios simultaneously to client bridge or repeater bridge.
I'll take this as a small victory. Many 30/30/30s to get it right. Probably user error. I followed the instructions:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

WPA2 personal
AES

I felt so good about getting it to work that I got a dd-wrt client bridge connected to a stock linksys e3000 in less than 10 minutes for my neighbor on an old spare wrt54g-tm.

I did notice that when set as a CB or RB the 5ghz channel scanned for the correct channel. My thinking is that this can be set on the host Access Point but the CB / RB is a client slave as far as the channel goes. In concurrence with Buddee.
Beastmaster365
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi All,

So I have recently flashed two Linksys E2000 routers with the build from the wiki (14929 E2000 Trailed Initial Flash Build). I have one connected to the cable modem in the basement as a router using G/N. I have the other on the 2nd floor setup as a repeater bridge using G/N. The signal status on the repeater bridge varies quote a bit anywhere from 100+/MBs to 5/MBs. I'm using WPA2 AES security on channel 11 Upper 20mhz. When I do a site survey, channel 1 seems quite congested and channel 6 and 11 both have 2 routers broadcasting on them.

The router in the basement has a pretty consistent status of 100MBs +. Is there a particular reason why the bridge is varying so much? Any ideas for solution? Thanks for the help.

Chris.
max pl
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where do i find info for the latest stable release for the e3000? is it 15508?

I ask because Ive been running 15943-snow, Eckos latest build from December, but its not as stable as I'd like it to be.

Crashed after 3 weeks and now crashed again after 2 weeks.

I know ddwrt is capable of running without crashes as it did so on my WRT54G2 so i'd like that same performance with my e3000.

I think I recall reading that 15508 is stable so I'm likely going to go back to that.

Otherwise, should I just enable the auto reboot on set schedule feature?
Sarphram
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 0:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all,

I recently upgraded from a dd-wrt WRT54GL (very stable) to an E3000 and flashed it with dd-wrt.v24-16214_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-e2k-e3k after the initial flash via the wiki (and all steps associated with it). I originally had some issues with connectivity that were solved by changing the channel, but a new issue popped up: my router will stop responding to anything (2.4/5/wired) for about 30 seconds-1 minute. All machines connected to it lose their connection...but the SSID is still broadcast according to a wifi finder app on my phone. So far it's happened 5 or so times; three within about a 30 minute period, then 2 about an hour apart about 10 hours after the first issues.

I haven't seen anything in the log file (high level) that corresponds to this unresponsiveness. The router's uptime doesn't reset either, so I know it isn't rebooting. Is there anything else I can check? I'm also considering a downgrade to a more stable version, is there one people have had luck with besides 14929?
theseoguys
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
cool, thanks.
can't flash
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:54    Post subject: Modifying Firmware to Update SLL Certificates Reply with quote
I have an E3000 and am trying to modify the firmware in order to change the default SSL certificates. I would like to be able to use the https protocol for the web-GUI and not get the annoying certificate warning message everything. Firmware modification kit spits out a generic.bin but Peacock says NEVER to use one on E3000 due to odd way it allocates NVRAM. Had anyone successfully modified the E3000 firmware? If not, is there another solution to the SSL certificate issue?
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
My E2000 is running 14929 (see my sig) and is working great as a repeater bridge (5GHz) connected to/repeating for a 600N running 15334.

The only issues I have seen so far:

- The wireless light does not blink on activity
- (No doubt related) I can't seem to figure out if GPIO is working for the LEDs. I tried gpio 0 to toggle the wireless light... no effect.

But it's been impressively stable and connects to the 600N at 270Mbps (nice!).

_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
Doremon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 19:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
speedy71471 wrote:
My E2000 is running 14929 (see my sig) and is working great as a repeater bridge (5GHz) connected to/repeating for a 600N running 15334.

The only issues I have seen so far:

- The wireless light does not blink on activity
- (No doubt related) I can't seem to figure out if GPIO is working for the LEDs. I tried gpio 0 to toggle the wireless light... no effect.

But it's been impressively stable and connects to the 600N at 270Mbps (nice!).


Wait how are you getting a 270 Mbps connection. I thought when you run repeater bridge your bandwith is cut in half? Looking to run two 5 GHz E2000's and trying to find some more info.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 72, 73, 74, 75, 76  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 73 of 76
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum