Linksys E1000 v2.1

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Author Message
bballs2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
curan wrote:
Hi,

I'm a little bit confused, so to get a couple of things straight:

Metrowalker used one method of flashing and silly wabbit used another. After flashing with Eko's FW from page 2, should i reflash with another FW afterwards or stay with the page 2 FW?

I'm also asking this question because i read before i flashed, that with the E2000/E3000 models you should only use the trailed FW.

If i'm misunderstanding anything, please let me know.


Yes, just use the firmware from page 2. It ran fine on my router. Just follow the standard steps for flashing, as I did, i.e. the 30-30-30 hard reset.

Also, I successfully flashed back to the original firmware using the "firmware upgrade" option in the administration tab for anyone who wants to know.
Sponsor
ariey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:31    Post subject: Please help about WDS and Wifi led Reply with quote
Smile Dear eko, and all user here.
sorry I'am noob about DDWRT, I have been following the procedures set forth in this thread, I have E1000 v2.1 and has been successfully upgraded to DD-WRT (thanks to who have built this).
The problem is that I found today are Confused :
1. wifi led lamp is not lit (dim) just after the flash, is this normal?
2. I have not managed to find where do to enable the WDS mode? I've tried -> wireless -> repeater mode ->?
3. When I did the flash of 2 or more E1000, after all in flash, why only one was detected in my nokia N95, with a fixed SSID dd-wrt, even though I had to change its ssid and router name from the webgui.
3. A bit OOT, could E1000 which has been in the dd-wrt is connected by way of WDS with WRT160NL who has been in dd-rwt, too? although both of linksys, but they are different chipsets.

Thank you very much for the answer. Razz
e1000v21
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
after flashed to ddwrt, i think im having problem about port forwarding too. while use linksys firmware, no problem with it.

e1000 v2.1

Firmware Version
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/17/11) std-nokaid-small - build 17084M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko

router ip 172.16.1.88
cctv dvr 172.16.1.99 port 1999

wan public ip.
using dyndns, e.g: mycctv.dyndns.org

Port Forward setting
Protocol 1999
Source Net (blank)
Port from 1999
IP Address 172.16.1.99
Port to 1999
Enable

-------------------------------------
accessing from local computer :
1) mycctv.dyndns.org -> redirect to ddwrt page, it works.
2) mycctv.dyndns.org:1999 -> not working
but when use other internet connection (not local network), it's working.
3) 172.16.1.88:1999 -> it's working
4) 172.16.1.99:1999 -> not working
-------------------------------------

first i flashed to the firmware at 2nd page of this forum, then i flashed to std-nokaid-small bcoz i wanna try the ipv6. now stuck at accessing cctv from local network.


Any suggestions to help?
thank you.
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 17:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
e1000v21 wrote:
after flashed to ddwrt, i think im having problem about port forwarding too. while use linksys firmware, no problem with it.

It's stickied...

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=89353

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
shawn.selig29
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2010
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks so much for making a version for this router, i love ddwrt! i dont buy a router that isnt compatiable with it.

i have one of these routers (e1000 v2.1) flashed with
dd-wrt.v24-16968_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_e1000v2.bin

i have it in client mode, to give my ps3 and a computer internet via a wire from a wireless network the router is connected to.

but every day or so the router keeps getting a dns error according to the ps3. i got the router set to a static ip as i needed to add a custom dns. but is there a problem with setting static connection ip for the client router (the ip from the main router to the client mode router)

thanks so much for your time
jdm4sinduct
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 May 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
i just brought a e1000 v2.1 stock fw. its seems the wifi range isn't as good as my old wrt54gs v4 with ddwrt mega that which i've been using for 10 years. Would my e1000 v2.1 upgrade to ddwrt would cure my wifi range problem? any info would be much appriciated. Thanks
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12843
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
jdm4sinduct wrote:
i just brought a e1000 v2.1 stock fw. its seems the wifi range isn't as good as my old wrt54gs v4 with ddwrt mega that which i've been using for 10 years. Would my e1000 v2.1 upgrade to ddwrt would cure my wifi range problem? any info would be much appriciated. Thanks


I doubt it.. The wrt54G series routers had radios that were strong and reliable. The key here is they also had external antennas. The new routers have internal antennas. Specs in regards to dbi is about the same for the internal vs external antennas.

positioning & orientation of the routers with internal antennas make all the diff in the world.

The routers with external antennas, just give'm a twist or a tilt and your signal would improve. Can't really do that with a router that has internal antennas.

I have two E1000's (V1 & V2 (for sale!)), both are ok in regards to the radios. I certainly couldn't use one as an AP to serve a repeater I got going down the street at a neighbors house.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
ama
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've read the instructions and from what I am able to garner it is normal to flash a router twice. You should flash once with router specific information, and then you do another general flash.

The first flash for the e1000 v2.1 should be with the firmware on page two of this thread. This initial flash should install dd-wrt on my router.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=19259

And using the newly installed dd-rt interface I should then do a second flash with this file I think?

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/08-12-10-r14929/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_std_generic.bin

Or...

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/08-12-10-r14929/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin

Or maybe even this one?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=18970

Can someone clarify?

From what I understand the previous three firmwares are all acceptable choices. Correct?
curan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have been using this firmware for about 3 weeks now and it works great. I'm using the router as a bridge between my office, where the internet and my NAS box is, and my living room.

As primary router i'm using an Airport Extreme and the Linksys router as secondary, just for getting internet to my TV and my media player and make the media player connect to my NAS box for movie streaming. It just works, no issues at all and it plays full HD with no problems.

Thanks for a great piece of firmware!
excedio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 0:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can someone definitively say: "This FW will work with the E1000 v2.1"

I just want to be 100% sure before trying. Also, if this does work, when will it be listed as an "officially" supported router?
valir553
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 0:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes it works 100%

Ive been using for the last 3 weeks with no issues at all.
chirick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
works for me too Smile
supoverride
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 16:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
This also works fine with me also. I even installed the v24 presp2 std-nokaid firmware and still working fine except i can't find the chillispot hotspot portal anymore. Does this version stop supporting it?
metrowalker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 17:22    Post subject: Client Bridge? Reply with quote
Has anyone managed to get the E1000 V2.1 working in client bridge mode?

I'm running -

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2011/05-08-11-r16994/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-16994_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin

Network uses WPA2 Personal, AES

I have a 54GL configed as another client bridge and it works great, but I've tried everything I can think of and so far client bridge on my E1000 won't work.
twiztidditzwit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:18    Post subject: E1000 V2.1 working with dd-wrt.v24-16968_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_e1 Reply with quote
I just wanted to justify that I have successfully got my Linksys E1000 V2.1 running 'dd-wrt.v24-16968_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_e1000v2.bin' found on page 2 of this thread... I had to set my IPAddress to "Obtain Automatically" but still made sure to use Internet Explorer and have Firewall and Antivirus OFF. (Plus, never forget the Hard Reset 30/30/30 BEFORE *AND* AFTER the initial Firmware Upgrade.)

However I cannot seem to properly get repeater mode to work. Any questions or suggestions to that? ...And as a NOTE: Putting the ORIGINAL Linksys Firmware back on the E1000 V2.1 is easy with the "Administration>Firmware Upgrade" process.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 14, 15, 16  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 16
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum