Wireless settings keep reverting to TKIP.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
john_es
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:43    Post subject: Wireless settings keep reverting to TKIP. Reply with quote
I'm running v24sp1 on a wrt54gl... I can't see the wireless network from my computer and I notice something weird.

When I go to the Wireless > Wireless Security page, I choose Security mode, WPA2 Personal. I choose the AES option under WPA algorithms. I hit save, and then Apply Settings and once the page refreshes, the choice reverts back to TKIP.

Any thoughts?
Sponsor
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 15:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm thinking peacock thread....sp1 had encryption issues. Try 11296.
_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
john_es
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
What encryption issues (as I head over to peacock thread).

Well - I can say this is resolved. After a ton of reboots, and adding / removing virtual wireless networks, the setting finally stuck. I can't say much more than that since I can't explain it.

Weird.
john_es
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
If I am looking for the VPN build for a wrt54gl, do I choose:

dd-wrt.v24-11296_NEWD_openvpn.bin
dd-wrt.v24-11296_VINT_openvpn.bin

or something else. It was confusing on that link...
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
What did your correv test tell you.

You need newd, and you need to hit apply to have the settings stick.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
john_es
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know what correv is, but I always hit Save and then Apply Settings. In this case, I tried every combination of them and still saw the problem. It's gone now, but I'll work on getting the latest build installed and see what happens.
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
john_es wrote:
I don't know what correv is,


Command for getting this is explained in the peacock thread.....

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Dan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2006
Posts: 400
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 17:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
john_es wrote:-

Quote:
I hit save, and then Apply Settings and once the page refreshes, the choice reverts back to TKIP.

When I see this happening I try using a different Browser to access the router.

That usually fixes it for me.
john_es
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Solved!

I upgraded to the 11296 build and the problem goes away...

Thanks for all of your help!
nema32
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
This problem hit me. I'm was already running 11296, so that wasn't it.

The problem was not browser related, nor the build version in my case. Trying to adjust the nvram directly instead of through the web interface gave the crucial hint.

My nvram was exhausted-- I had 17 bytes left. After freeing some space by removing comments in my Firewall script, the AES setting took, and my wireless worked flawlessly again.

I assume that fiddling with new firmwares appeared to fix the problem because one additional thing that did was reset the nvram.
schriss
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also had this problem. Removing sme options to free up space did not help.
Then I flashed newer build, keeping settings - the issue was still there, encryption was reverting back to TKIP.
Using diffeent browser did not help.
What did help was to clear settings (restore defaults) and set everything up from scratch.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum