GURU's Netgear wndr 3400 update - test build page 7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
test build
(unzip first Smile )



dd-wrt.v24-17567_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt.v24-17567_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.zip
 Filesize:  3.28 MB
 Downloaded:  2406 Time(s)


_________________
Professional debrick service for EU countries for small fee.
Send inquiries to: debrick at dd-wrt dot si

Have a brick you don't need?

Paypal & Amazon.com gift cards are welcome. Every $ or € counts. Email: donate at dd-wrt dot si
Sponsor
IAmWEC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't have a wired connection to the router right now but will test when I get home today! Very Happy
IAmWEC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
IAmWEC wrote:
Don't have a wired connection to the router right now but will test when I get home today! Very Happy


In other words, thanks Eko!
mexashaggy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm sure this is not recommended for a noob, but I was able to pick up this router at a thrift store for 3 bucks, and I would like to try dd-wrt on it. I have already read through the forum rules and the Peacock thread, in hopes of finding out how to perform the install without having to ask, but I could not find anything specific to this device, which I'm assuming is because support on it is a WIP. Should I use the WNDR3300 Instructions but substitute the extracted file above? Thanks.
IAmWEC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
mexashaggy wrote:
I'm sure this is not recommended for a noob, but I was able to pick up this router at a thrift store for 3 bucks, and I would like to try dd-wrt on it. I have already read through the forum rules and the Peacock thread, in hopes of finding out how to perform the install without having to ask, but I could not find anything specific to this device, which I'm assuming is because support on it is a WIP. Should I use the WNDR3300 Instructions but substitute the extracted file above? Thanks.


When they say WIP they mean WIP. That build was just posted this morning (eastern) and is just a test build. By all means, though if you want to test it out and report any bugs or problems then feel free to do so! Very Happy
stride
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
works good as far as i can tell.. but How do I revert back the Netgear firmware? I have tried and does not seem to be working.
mexashaggy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
IAmWEC wrote:
When they say WIP they mean WIP. That build was just posted this morning (eastern) and is just a test build. By all means, though if you want to test it out and report any bugs or problems then feel free to do so! Very Happy


I understand that, and am still wanting to try. I would just like to know the best way to proceed.

stride wrote:
works good as far as i can tell.. but How do I revert back the Netgear firmware? I have tried and does not seem to be working.


Did you use the Netgear web UI to install dd-wrt?
spenceuiuc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 21:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
So is the test build for WNDR3400 v1 or v2? Thanks!
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
spenceuiuc wrote:
So is the test build for WNDR3400 v1 or v2? Thanks!


This is for the WNDR3400 v1.
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
stride wrote:
works good as far as i can tell.. but How do I revert back the Netgear firmware? I have tried and does not seem to be working.


I tried flashing via the Web GUI, and via TFTP.

TFTP just fails, and the Web GUI fails with:

"Firmware upgrade failed. Please check your file."

I tried with the older firmware, and the latest firmware.
The only thing I have left to try is forcing an image while the WNDR3400 boots.

How were you able to do it?
bettertomorrow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 22:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I flashed this via the Netgear interface and everything seems to work perfectly.
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 23:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
bettertomorrow wrote:
I flashed this via the Netgear interface and everything seems to work perfectly.


Maybe it has something to do with me using the Cablevision provided version?
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 0:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm about to try telnetting in, issuing "erase linux", and TFTPing the DD-WRT test build.
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 0:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
^ Do not that. I now have a semi-brick lol.
IAmWEC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Flashed successfully, I just want to point out what I'm finding issues with:

-Wireless speed on 2.4 GHz is consistently around >1mbps - 5mbps (That's transfer from wireless computer to wired computer, was full speed on Netgear firmware)
-Whenever I try to enable the 5 GHz radio the router crashes (have to turn off then back on)
-Due to the slow speed, the webgui is painfully slow

Other than that it seems to be working well! Very Happy

Edit: The speed issue seems to have been fixed when I reset the router to defaults. Still can't enable the 5 GHz radio though.
Edit 2: The problem appears to be with apply.cgi as whenever I try to do anything that requires it (enable security, for instance) the router either crashes or just gives me a white page.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 21, 22, 23  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 7 of 23
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum