New official dd-wrt build - 17990 is out (EKO and BS)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Yom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:30    Post subject: iptables rules to make VAP work again? Reply with quote
Hi all,

Does anyone know the iptables rules necessary to make a VAP setup work under this build? I have 2 WNDR3300 routers, one as a gateway and one as a WAP, and the rules I have found only kinda work on the gateway but break NAT, and they don't work at all on the WAP with the WAN port disabled. Could someone please help?

Thanks!
Sponsor
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1251
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
After flash BS version , SER ( Milkfish ) no go ..



Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....

1 WZR1750 23919
1 DDx86 VMware 23919
1 E3000 23838 K3 USB NAS
1 E3200 23838 4G
1 WRT610Nv2 22000+ Kong
1 WHR G125 Voip 15962
1 WRT150N 15962 BW
1 WHR HP 54 like Repeater Bridge 15962
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 5Ghz is definitely more unreliable on this build "DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/08/11) big - build 17990M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko" on my E4200.

It starts out with a 450 connection, then after a few seconds drops to 108, slowly rises in steps to 300 and then bounces up and down between various other speeds for the rest of the time. I'm only 2 metres away from the AP, though through a wall but I never had issues with stock so I know my signal is clear.

I've tried various setting changes like, channels (normally set as 157, 40, lower, though tried 161, 40, upper), transmit power, interference value, sensitivity range and none of them make any difference.

Build dd-wrt.v24-17893_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k which I used before was far better, even though it didn't always stay at 450, it would normally be stable and sit at 405.


Last edited by Taomyn on Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:49; edited 1 time in total
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
FlyHigh wrote:
Hi,

Question:
If I upgrade from 17201 to 17990, can I restore my configuration from a file without trouble?

Thanks


You can try an upgrade, but never use a backup file to restore from a different version. I always 30/30/30 and re-enter settings every time. During these various "test" builds you can never guarantee compatibility or if it appears to work, some background settings may corrupt.
khael
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi
thanks for your job.
jffs2 doesn't work...
also you have this problem?
chillser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 18:17    Post subject: Mounting USB flash drive with multiple partitions Reply with quote
Hi,

I have a E4200 and updated from 17598 to 17990 today. I used the brainslayer 'big' build from here: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2011/12-09-11-r17990/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k.bin I did a 30/30/30 before and after the update, flashed via the web gui via LAN and selected 'reset to default settings' in the upgrade dialog.

The overall performance looks good, though I haven't measured speeds and wifi channels and stuff.

I also experienced the ssh-key-reset problem reported in http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=148009&postdays=0&postorder=asc

Then I wanted to install optware. I followed the 'optware the right way guide' from http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware,_the_Right_Way and was using a USB stick formatted from Ubuntu as described in http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/How_to_-_Format_and_Partition_External_Storage_Device

When activating automount to /opt in the web gui, the usb stick is recognized, but TWO partitions (part1 and part3 in the aforementioned scheme) are both mounted to /opt.

Here's the Disk Info section of the Web GUI after automounting the drive:
Code:

--- /dev/discs/disc0/disc
Block device, size 7.461 GiB (8011120640 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 517.7 MiB (542836224 bytes, 1060227 sectors from 63)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext2 file system
Volume name "optware"
UUID (...) (DCE, v4)
Volume size 517.7 MiB (542834688 bytes, 132528 blocks of 4 KiB)
Partition 2: 70.60 MiB (74027520 bytes, 144585 sectors from 1060290)
Type 0x82 (Linux swap / Solaris)
Linux swap, version 2, subversion 1, 4 KiB pages, little-endian
Swap size 70.59 MiB (74018816 bytes, 18071 pages of 4 KiB)
Partition 3: 133.4 MiB (139829760 bytes, 273105 sectors from 1204875)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext2 file system
Volume name "shared"
UUID (...) (DCE, v4)
Volume size 133.4 MiB (139829248 bytes, 136552 blocks of 1 KiB)
Partition 4: 6.749 GiB (7246471680 bytes, 14153265 sectors from 1477980)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext2 file system
Volume name "data"
UUID (...) (DCE, v4)
Volume size 6.749 GiB (7246471168 bytes, 1769158 blocks of 4 KiB)
Status: Mounted on /opt
Status: Mounted on /opt


And here's what 'mount' on the console says:
Code:

root@caiman:~# mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
devpts on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /opt type ext2 (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part3 on /opt type ext2 (rw)


When disabling automount, I can mount part1 manually using
Code:

mount -o noatime -t ext2 /dev/discs/disc0/part1  /opt


When I attach a hdd with a single partition (fat32-formatted) via usb, automounting works fine. (I have no disk drive with two compatible partitions for testing, unfortunately, only hfs+ disks with >1 partition.)
dadi-linux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:56    Post subject: Nice build Reply with quote
Updated two Linksys wrt610 from 17201 to 17990.

Signal seems to be fine on 2.4 and 5 GHz.
USB is working again, Openser is back alive and DynDNS works
too.

Thanks a lot for the great work. Definitely a big improvement over 17201.

Peter
dmulti
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:13    Post subject: Updated two Linksys wrt610n V1 from 17201 to 17990. Reply with quote
PPTP Client not work.
PPTP Server works.
FTP works.
Samba not work.
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, seems the wireless driver in "DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/08/11) big - build 17990M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko" on my E4200 is dreadful. I'm now having unstable speeds with the 2.4Ghz only channel with it dropping to 5mbit all the time, and that's even with the interference setting set to 2. So that's both transmitters playing up Sad

Will revert back to the previous Fractal build which was rock solid for connectivity, unless someone thinks that the BS build of this newer firmware might help.
DigitalDeviant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2010
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 14:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Taomyn wrote:
Sorry, seems the wireless driver in "DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/08/11) big - build 17990M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko" on my E4200 is dreadful. I'm now having unstable speeds with the 2.4Ghz only channel with it dropping to 5mbit all the time, and that's even with the interference setting set to 2. So that's both transmitters playing up Sad

Will revert back to the previous Fractal build which was rock solid for connectivity, unless someone thinks that the BS build of this newer firmware might help.


The BS build has a different driver version. My E3000 runs much faster and more stable on the 5GHz band with it vs the Eko version, usually between 2-4 MB/s better.

However, VAPs seem broken. I've noticed others reporting the issue too.
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 10897

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
DigitalDeviant wrote:
The BS build has a different driver version.


BS and EKO use the same code when flashing, and I believe they use the same driver versions on equivalent builds. K26 have the k26 driver. K24 have the k24 driver.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
DigitalDeviant wrote:
The BS build has a different driver version. My E3000 runs much faster and more stable on the 5GHz band with it vs the Eko version, usually between 2-4 MB/s better.

However, VAPs seem broken. I've noticed others reporting the issue too.


Just upgraded to the BS build of "DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/09/11) big - build 17990" and so far the 2.4Ghz is not dropping to 5mbit but the 5Ghz is still not as good as I know I can get with the Fractal firmware and even better with stock Cisco, but a small price to pay for the extra functions dd-wrt gives me.

I'm not having any issues with my VAP - re-entered all the settings I used before to make a second AP off the 2.4Ghz transmitter with only WAN access. I can connect, surf and the device has no access to the local network.
DigitalDeviant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2010
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf wrote:
DigitalDeviant wrote:
The BS build has a different driver version.


BS and EKO use the same code when flashing, and I believe they use the same driver versions on equivalent builds. K26 have the k26 driver. K24 have the k24 driver.


Here is what I get from a 'wl -i eth2 ver' command

Quote:
BrainSlayer
root@router:~# wl -i eth2 ver
5.100 RC138.9
wl1: Dec 9 2011 02:13:06 version 5.100.138.9


Quote:
Eko
root@router:~# wl -i wl -i eth2 ver
5.60 RC127.4
wl1: Jul 18 2011 05:47:50 version 5.100.127


Both are 17990 (mega-nv60) linked from the first post and loaded on an E3000.


Last edited by DigitalDeviant on Mon Dec 12, 2011 22:50; edited 1 time in total
SHoTTa35
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 May 2011
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 21:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
SHoTTa35 wrote:
Using an Intel 6300 and E4200 with 17990 BIG BS/EKO

LAN to WLAN (1Gbps to 5Ghz) seems limited somehow. This issue has been there for a while but figured i'd note it here also. What I mean is when i'm copying a file from my file server to my laptop it tops out at 10-11MB/s and seems to try going above but then always throttles back to that range (10-11MB/s). It's like there's a governor (think like in cars) slowing it down whenever it goes over.

The other way (WLAN to LAN) works just fine, in that I get 22-25MB/s which is the normal I get with Linksys firmware (1.0.03 or whatever the latest is). I've tried uprading without clearing NVRAM to see if DD-WRT can use the same settings but it always instantly results in lower speeds.

IN general I know DD-WRT isn't as fast as stock but this seem as if there's something holding downloads back to say 100Mbps LAN speeds. Uploads as I said seem to just be limited by the specs. This is my only issue i have left with DD-WRT on this router. 10MB/s is fast but annoys me to no end cuz I feel like some setting is holding it back. I've try changing every setting in advanced wirelss for 5Ghz and nothing changes.

Side note - My IP changes whenever i'm on DD-WRT to a certain one every time. I thought it was sending the wrong MAC address but it's not. My modem doesn't need a reboot also. I can switch 5 times in 10 minutes by just uploading the new firmware (DD-WRT and Stock) and it'll switch between the 2 ranges (69.x and 67.x) every time getting back the same IP address. That makes no sense as the router's software should cause another IP address to be assigned.


I had the same problem, you need to be running the latest intel drivers... I recommend going to their site and running the auto updater... should be running 14.2.x.

I get 55-65mb/s down on 5ghz band and I have 100mb link..

-Fractal


I'm not talking WAN-LAN as i get my full speed on my laptop as well. It's just local copying files seems to have the issue. Oddly enough I tried out ToastMan Tomato build and that worked great!

http://www.4shared.com/dir/v1BuINP3/Toastman_Builds.html#dir=136610941

It works great in that the speeds are 20MBbytes/s LAN to WLAN and WLAN to LAN.

I'm testing 18000 now and I'm guessing it'll be he same. The drivers in that one they say are "beta" to get it to work. Didn't test all the advanced stuff, just normal usage works great though!
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Main issue I have seen with 17990 is that the Bandwidth graphs no longer work properly on iPad's Safari - all the values show as "NaN" - not a number, I assume. Other than that, seems about the same as my old 16758 build - seems to use less memory though, that's nice.

SS

_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum