D-Link DIR-615

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Author Message
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
so i flashed my C1 sucessfully and it seems to be working great. Couple of things that need to be cleaned up: the power light only comes on orange when booting, then goes out and never comes back on. The WAN light just lights up at boot and never does anything else regardless of traffic, boot status etc.

The wireless light just blinks slowly in a random pattern after boot regardless of whether or not it has a client connected or boot status etc etc.
Sponsor
eskaryo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:35    Post subject: 802.11n? Reply with quote
I picked up two of these this weekend and slapped ddwrt (first install ever) on there and I'm finding that I'm stuck at g speeds instead of n.

The models are both D-Link DIR-615-E3's

I see a few people on this thread have posted about being stuck at G speeds as well and I'm curious if anyone has found a release where N works or if there are some settings I should fool around with.


*EDIT*
I read something about issues with TKIP so for the hell of it I tried AES & AES+TKIP and was able to hit 144mbps. It's a 300mbps router but I don't really need that bandwidth in my house so I'll sit happily with 100+
jtleon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 14:49    Post subject: New DIR-615 E3 Lost Wireless LED ! ! ! Reply with quote
I have edited the .bin file adding the "00" in front of the rev code.

The router accepts the new bin file - just as if it is the factory bin.

After flashing my DIR-615-E3, the wireless LED no longer is on.

Is this normal? I really liked that pretty flashing light! It gave me such a sense of happiness and security...LOL!

But seriously, dd-wrt is running great - surely we can get that little light to come back on!?! What must I do, anyone?

Thanks in advance.
jtleon
eskaryo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 19:05    Post subject: Re: New DIR-615 E3 Lost Wireless LED ! ! ! Reply with quote
jtleon wrote:
After flashing my DIR-615-E3, the wireless LED no longer is on.

Is this normal? I really liked that pretty flashing light! It gave me such a sense of happiness and security...LOL!

But seriously, dd-wrt is running great - surely we can get that little light to come back on!?! What must I do, anyone?

Thanks in advance.
jtleon


I have seen a number of posts regarding this while searching for my fix to the link speeds issues I was having on my setup. From what I can tell this is something that probably isn't going to be fixed over other potential candidates since it is what some would call an unproblem. Your best bet is to try a few different releases to see if any of them revive that led. Either that or mount the router somewhere you can't see it Smile
jtleon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 20:53    Post subject: Re: New DIR-615 E3 Lost Wireless LED ! ! ! Reply with quote
eskaryo wrote:
...Your best bet is to try a few different releases to see if any of them revive that led. Either that or mount the router somewhere you can't see it Smile


Oh No....I have learned if dd-wrt is working (15778 now) that I should be contented and happy....playing with other releases only exponentially drives up the BRICK factor. I have that MAJIC-BRICK-MAKER touch! Laughing
jtleon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 20:45    Post subject: Packet Error Counts Normal?? Reply with quote
I have 2 of the DIR-615-E3's running dd-wrt build 15778 and I am seeing what looks like high packet error counts.

642815 OK, 7161 errors
28888 OK, 57 errors

The top one has been running for several days. The bottom has only run several hours.

Do these counts look OK??

Also, I had another DIR-615-E3 router crash last night with after running the Wiviz Survey several times. Is this Wiviz very stable with this router?
Thanks in Advance!
Joyker
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:19    Post subject: Re: Packet Error Counts Normal?? Reply with quote
jtleon wrote:
I am seeing what looks like high packet error counts.

642815 OK, 7161 errors
28888 OK, 57 errors

The top one has been running for several days. The bottom has only run several hours.

Do these counts look OK??

My Dir-615 c2 running dd-wrt build 17201, up 3 days 17 hours,

Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX) 18717599 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX) 20028870 OK, 1164 errors

eth1 (wan)
RX packets:36263215 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:44678328 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
waves of light
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:44    Post subject: D-link DIR-615 D4 Virgin Media Reply with quote
Hi,

Total noob here, looking for some advice before I flash my d-link modem router.

I've recently purchased a D-Link DIR-615 router off ebay. It has arrived today and I've tried to set it up only to find that it does not have PPPoA in the connection type menu.

After further detective work, I can see that the H/W is D4 and the firmware ends with VG. So it looks like this router is locked to Virgin Media.

What I need to know, will flashing it allow me to connect using PPPoA, which it what my ISP supplies?

Thanks in advance.

Ricky.
DevinC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 21:29    Post subject: Possible brink? Reply with quote
I have DIR-615 C1 running on Win7 64

Originally I have been following instructions in the peacock thread [ http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486 ]

Steps:
1) 30/30/30 Note: firewall/security turned off, factory reset, etc.
2) uploaded f/w v24 preSP2 [Beta] Build: 14896 "D-Link DIR-615 rev C1 Firmware: Special image for initial flashing"
3) waited 15 min for it to rebuild the nvram Note: got connection timeout page (in browser) after upload
4) 30/30/30 Note: briefly saw the "uploading" page with progress meter before going back to connection timeout page
5) waited for another 5-7 min
6) wasn't able to get back to the web admin page even after doing a couple of soft/hard reboot
7) ping test results:
192.168.0.1 : Destination host unreachable (and sometimes Request timed out)
192.168.1.1 : transmit failed. General failure
8) later found this page [ http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/D-Link_DIR-615_rev_C ] and realized that I haven't done the hex editing step
Note: see comment above re peacock

Any hope left? Thanks.
DevinC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Never mind. Problem solved.
lepa71
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 21:43    Post subject: Re: Packet Error Counts Normal?? Reply with quote
Does wifi led work on this build?

Joyker wrote:
jtleon wrote:
I am seeing what looks like high packet error counts.

642815 OK, 7161 errors
28888 OK, 57 errors

The top one has been running for several days. The bottom has only run several hours.

Do these counts look OK??

My Dir-615 c2 running dd-wrt build 17201, up 3 days 17 hours,

Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX) 18717599 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX) 20028870 OK, 1164 errors

eth1 (wan)
RX packets:36263215 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:44678328 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
lepa71
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 21:46    Post subject: setup question Reply with quote
Wondering how do you guys have it setup(modem to router). I have DSL modem with dhcp running on it.
Q.
Do I want to disable dhcp on modem and just use dchp on router or vise verse?

Thanks
nightwing
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could be ipv6 is enabled on the dir-615 c1? I can't find ipv6-enabled ddwrt firmware for my router
mballx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:24    Post subject: my 615 e4 not have 40mhz Reply with quote
my 615 e4 up dd-wrt ok
but not have chanel width 40 mhz,why?
edselm05
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 17:40    Post subject: Thank you.. Reply with quote
I have my Dir-615 C2 flashed with DD-wrt TEW-632brp firmware from other download database succesfully. Previously with dd-wrt Dir-615 C1 firmware, having problem with unknown disconnection and my android phone can't connect. Right now I'm testing the connections looks pretty good..instant connection with my droid. Thank you. Laughing
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22 ... 27, 28, 29  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 21 of 29
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum