E3000 bricked?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 19:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
illiac4 wrote:

Well this will not work because the cfe is defect. I can not get to cfe> because the cfe is constantly resetting/rebooting. So the jtag is the only option to flash CFE and this is what I need. The serial will not help me.

Well you do as you choose. Unless you deliberately did something to the cfe, it is next to impossible to harm it. The fact that you are getting serial output tells me that the cfe is probably intact.

Because you can not stop the boot, does not mean the cfe is bad. It could be your adapter, it could be you are not fast enough, it could be something bad in nvram (yes, the cfe reads it), or it could be the device has suffered a hardware failure and when the failed component (switch, one of the radios, etc) gets initialized, that causes the reboot (a bad power supply will do the same thing).

I can only suggest you post the serial output. Maybe someone like LOM will see your post. He is one of the best I have seen at interpreting the boot log when there is problems.. He has helped me out several times.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Sponsor
kamaradski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

Sorry for the late reply.

I was told that serial will most probably not work with the e3k in this state. However i'm i'm a router-hardware noob, so i wouldnt know....

anyway, I ended up contacting Eko and he had the needed skills and equipment to fix my precious device Smile

If you are in Europe i could recommend you the same for a quick and hassle free solution. eko@dd-wrt.si

Sorry i couldnt help you further on a home-fix .... :S

Cheers
Kamaradski
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 0:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interestingly I did another hard reset on the router and the wireless came up. I was able to connect to the wireless with my laptop and even get to the firmware upgrade screen. I tried to reflash DD-WRT and it gave me "upgrade successful" so I waited but I couldn't reconnect to the router by any means and a power cycle just put me back to a flashing power light. Sad


Not to keep spamming posts but I'm learning as I go. My CA-42 cable has 5 wires: red, yellow, white, blue and black. I have no idea which is which. The colors seem to mean pretty much nothing. I've found varying accounts that GND is blue, black or orange/red. Hopefully I don't fry something.
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can't get the CFE prompt to come up but the serial is working which was a huge triumph for me. What should I do? How can I check to see if I have the right Tx..obviously Rx is working.




CFE version 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: Mon Dec 21 13:21:59 CST 2009 (ljh@team2-complier)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.

No DPN
This is a Parallel Flash
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.51
CPU type 0x8: 480MHz
Tot mem: 65536 KBytes

CFE mem: 0x80700000 - 0x8079DAC0 (645824)
Data: 0x80732A20 - 0x80737080 (18016)
BSS: 0x80737080 - 0x80737AC0 (2624)
Heap: 0x80737AC0 - 0x8079BAC0 (409600)
Stack: 0x8079BAC0 - 0x8079DAC0 (8192)
Text: 0x80700000 - 0x80732A1C (207388)

**Exception 8: EPC=80712E30, Cause=00008008 (TLBMissRd)
RA=807122A4, VAddr=00005FD7

0 ($00) = 00000000 AT ($01) = 80730000
v0 ($02) = 8072E050 v1 ($03) = FAAFA023
a0 ($04) = 8079D820 a1 ($05) = 00005FD7
a2 ($06) = 00000000 a3 ($07) = 8072E048
t0 ($0Cool = 80737950 t1 ($09) = 00000028
t2 ($10) = 00000001 t3 ($11) = 00000000
t4 ($12) = 00000008 t5 ($13) = 48534C46
t6 ($14) = 9FC036BC t7 ($15) = FF5BF9FB
s0 ($16) = 8072DD10 s1 ($17) = 0000000A
s2 ($1Cool = B8000000 s3 ($19) = 8079D820
s4 ($20) = 0000082E s5 ($21) = 00000000
s6 ($22) = 8072E048 s7 ($23) = 80704FF8
t8 ($24) = 04000000 t9 ($25) = 00000000
k0 ($26) = 80725AEC k1 ($27) = 80725AEC
gp ($2Cool = 8073AA20 sp ($29) = 8079D7E8
fp ($30) = 00000000 ra ($31) = 807122A4
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 10890

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have to be faster than a human to get the cfe prompt. You almost have to break it before you power it. Get help to do this. Only non-humans like Barryware can do it solo.

That CFE output looks bad to me, but someone like LOM or BW will know better. Compare it to other CFE outputs that are posted in threads on the forum.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
it's not throwing that error all the time. If I hold down CTL-C and then boot the router it only gets to here:

CFE version 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: Mon Dec 21 13:21:59 CST 2009 (ljh@team2-complier)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.

No DPN
This is a Parallel Flash
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)

It never gets past the exception 8 table. However it never gets to this stage (taken from antoher page):

mac_init(): Find mac [00:16:B6:28:7D:4F] in location 0
Nothing...

eou_key_init(): Find key pair in location 0
The eou device id is same
The eou public key is same
The eou private key is same
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-16-B6-28-7D-4F, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Reading :: Failed.: Interrupted
CFE> ^C
CFE>


Last edited by wats6831 on Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:50; edited 1 time in total
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
you have stopped the boot..

now at the cfe prompt, erase nvram:

nvram erase [enter]

then.. power cycle it.. if it still does not boot, erase nvram again then force the flash of stock firmware at the cfe prompt via tftp

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
you have stopped the boot..

now at the cfe prompt, erase nvram:

nvram erase [enter]

then.. power cycle it.. if it still does not boot, erase nvram again then force the flash of stock firmware at the cfe prompt via tftp


I get I'm stopping the boot sometimes but I never get a CFE prompt. I get nothing it just stays where I break it.

This is where it either hangs or gives the Exception 8 error, it won't do anything past this. Are you supposed to hold CTL-C until the CFE prompt shows up? Does it take like a couple of mins?


CFE version 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: Mon Dec 21 13:21:59 CST 2009 (ljh@team2-complier)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.

No DPN
This is a Parallel Flash
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.51
CPU type 0x8: 480MHz
Tot mem: 65536 KBytes

CFE mem: 0x80700000 - 0x8079DAC0 (645824)
Data: 0x80732A20 - 0x80737080 (18016)
BSS: 0x80737080 - 0x80737AC0 (2624)
Heap: 0x80737AC0 - 0x8079BAC0 (409600)
Stack: 0x8079BAC0 - 0x8079DAC0 (8192)
Text: 0x80700000 - 0x80732A1C (207388)

Boot version: v4.2
The boot is CFE

mac_init(): Find mac [68:7F:74:22:D3:90] in location 0
Nothing...
No country code find


Last edited by wats6831 on Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:55; edited 1 time in total
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
wats6831 wrote:
I get I'm stopping the boot sometimes but I never get a CFE prompt. I get nothing it just stays where I break it.


wats6831 wrote:
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-16-B6-28-7D-4F, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Reading :: Failed.: Interrupted
CFE> ^C
CFE>


"cfe>" is the cfe prompt..

cfe> nvram erase [enter]

cfe> reboot [enter]

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="barryware"]

wats6831 wrote:
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-16-B6-28-7D-4F, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Reading :: Failed.: Interrupted
CFE> ^C
CFE>


I took that from another page to show I'm never getting to that stage.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="wats6831"]
barryware wrote:


wats6831 wrote:
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-16-B6-28-7D-4F, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Reading :: Failed.: Interrupted
CFE> ^C
CFE>


I took that from another page to show I'm never getting to that stage.


understood.... We need to wait for LOM to evaluate the error's you posted. Last time he gave me a hand, it was an either / or.. either the flash chip has failed or bad nvram.. turned out to be bad nvram. using jtag, I erased nvram & kernel.. the router was saved..

another instance, it was a bad switch chip.. that router was not saved.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 21:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="barryware"]
wats6831 wrote:
barryware wrote:


wats6831 wrote:
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-16-B6-28-7D-4F, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Reading :: Failed.: Interrupted
CFE> ^C
CFE>


I took that from another page to show I'm never getting to that stage.


understood.... We need to wait for LOM to evaluate the error's you posted. Last time he gave me a hand, it was an either / or.. either the flash chip has failed or bad nvram.. turned out to be bad nvram. using jtag, I erased nvram & kernel.. the router was saved..

another instance, it was a bad switch chip.. that router was not saved.


based on it's prior behavior I wouldn't be suprised if the switch chip was bad.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7017

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 14:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
wats6831 wrote:


I get I'm stopping the boot sometimes but I never get a CFE prompt. I get nothing it just stays where I break it.


Your crash is before the command interpreter is activated so there is no chance to break into the cfe.

I can't say exactly what the cfe is doing when it crashes cause neither I nor barryware has this version but I guess that it is an nvram problem.
wats6831
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 1:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
wats6831 wrote:


I get I'm stopping the boot sometimes but I never get a CFE prompt. I get nothing it just stays where I break it.


Your crash is before the command interpreter is activated so there is no chance to break into the cfe.

I can't say exactly what the cfe is doing when it crashes cause neither I nor barryware has this version but I guess that it is an nvram problem.


Ok so then what's my next course of action? JTAG?
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 3:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
wats6831 wrote:

Ok so then what's my next course of action? JTAG?

Yep.. use jtag to erase nvram & kernel. The router will either let you tftp firmware to it, or if you see the same errors at boot, it may be broke.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum