E900 JFFS read only

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
hansle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 21:16    Post subject: E900 JFFS read only Reply with quote
I'm trying to set up NOCAT SPLASH on an E900 using dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin

I've enabled NOCAT SPLASH and JFFS, but I can't create any folders inside the JFFS folder. The JFFS folder is read-only. I tried to change permissions on the folder using WinSCP but that doesn't work either.

How can I make the JFFS folder writable?
Sponsor
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
After you enabled the JFFS, did you "clean JFFS"? If not check the WIKI Tutorials for help.
_________________
Asus ac68r - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_OLDD (06/13/14) kongac - build 24345
Asus ac66u - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_OLDD (06/07/14) kongac - build 24200
Repeater Bridge(s)
Linksys e4200 rm - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys e2000 v1 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys WRT610N v2 >> e3000 - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7041

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is not enough free space in flash for jffs2 on the big and mega builds.
hansle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
And the mini version does not have NOCAT SPLASH... is that correct? Do I have any options?

I used to run DD-WRT and NO CAT splash on Linksys E2000's, but since they don't make them any more, and the last few refurbs I got were junk, I decided to try a current model.

Is there any way I can run NOCAT SPLASH on any current model?

thanks
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM, is that true with the newer routers that have 16MB of memory over the 8MB like the e4200? If so then on the K2.6 version the STD_USB_NAS build would/could have the room for the JFF2, correct?
_________________
Asus ac68r - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_OLDD (06/13/14) kongac - build 24345
Asus ac66u - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_OLDD (06/07/14) kongac - build 24200
Repeater Bridge(s)
Linksys e4200 rm - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys e2000 v1 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys WRT610N v2 >> e3000 - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7041

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
jrscs wrote:
LOM, is that true with the newer routers that have 16MB of memory over the 8MB like the e4200? If so then on the K2.6 version the STD_USB_NAS build would/could have the room for the JFF2, correct?


I had 8MB flash based routers and E900 in mind when replying but it is true that 2-3 routers from each Asus, Cisco, and Netgear can run big or mega and at the same time have a huge jffs2 partition where you can install optware packages like UPnP-AV, miniDLNA, or similar in order to get the same functions that OEM firmware has included as standard. Wink

An router with 8MB flash have room for a 7.6-7.7MB firmware so any build smaller than that have space for internal jffs2.

jffs2 requires 192KB for journalling + n blocks of 64KB for data, you can easily check the diff between mega and smaller build and calculate how big jffs2 size there is room for if flashing the smaller.
hansle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
So then in order for me to be able to run NOCAT splash with JFFS I will have to use a router with a 16MB of memory?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7041

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
hansle wrote:
So then in order for me to be able to run NOCAT splash with JFFS I will have to use a router with a 16MB of memory?


Familiarise yourself with the dd-wrt File Versions:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_DD-WRT%3F#K2.6_Build_Features

and then check the file sizes on the dd-wrt firmware ftp.
hansle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction LOM. I see there is a MINI HOTSPOT version of DDWRT which has NOCAT and JFFS support.

I don't see a build of that version for the E900 though. Support was recently added and the downloads for this router are at http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FV24-K26%2Fsvn18946%2F . There is no MINI HOTSPOT version on that download page.

How would I be able to get the MINI HOTSPOT version of DDWRT for an E900?

Thanks again for your assistance.
hansle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I looked again at the chart and found that the STD USB NAS version has what I need. So I installed that version of the firmware for the E900 and JFFS2 is working now.

Thanks again for your help.
nevezen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Apr 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="LOM"]There is not enough free space in flash for jffs2 on the big and mega builds.[/quote]

I'm having this problem as well. According to the webgui, I have 6,272.00 KB available. I'm using a mega v24sp2 (k26), build 18777 on an e3000.

I've cleaned it but it still ends up as read only and I can't change it any other way. Is there something missing here or is it truly too small for jffs?
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12814
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
nevezen wrote:
LOM wrote:
There is not enough free space in flash for jffs2 on the big and mega builds.


I'm having this problem as well. According to the webgui, I have 6,272.00 KB available. I'm using a mega v24sp2 (k26), build 18777 on an e3000.

I've cleaned it but it still ends up as read only and I can't change it any other way. Is there something missing here or is it truly too small for jffs?


jffs occupies "unused" flash space. your kb available, is nvram.. even though available, it is occupying flash space.. as well as kernel and cfe. Kernel = the firmware you flashed.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum