Asus RT-N66U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30 ... 138, 139, 140  Next
Author Message
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1156

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
This is what I got back from ASUS:

Adam Kwang wrote:

I apologize for the delay in response as this message was filtered by our spam filter. I do not have information on design decisions for the RT-N66u, however, I was informed that the NVram of the RT-N66u is 64kB.



Can you give me more information on your OpenVPN usage and your network setup?



Best Regards,



Adam K.

Customer Care Specialist J

ASUS Computers International


I am not sure where he got his information or maybe there is a version 2 router or something but mine definatly has 32k nvram:

_nvram_init: allocat header: 2280783872, size= 32768

-Fractal
Sponsor
Chance
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
They have give me the same answer but definitely this isn't correct:

"I just got confirmation from HQ that the NVRAM on the RT-N66U is actually 64KB. Also, the 5.100.138.20 wireless drivers are the latest drivers."
AndyMS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
I am not sure where he got his information or maybe there is a version 2 router or something but mine definatly has 32k nvram:

_nvram_init: allocat header: 2280783872, size= 32768

-Fractal


It is possible that they have incorrectly configured this router from the get-go, and are just now learning of the issue through attempts at loading third party firmwares. Which would be bad because that would mean Asus has a failed QA process.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
run the stock firmware, then using telnet do the "nvram show" command.

I did it just to test the functionality of telnet with the stock firmware.. it works but I didn't pay attention to total space and free reported at the end.

It may be possible that the firmware is using flash space to add to the cfe nvram.. dunno.. it would be possible.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Chance
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
RT-N66U login: admin
Password:

ASUSWRT RT-N66U_3.0.0.3 Wed Mar 21 04:03:05 UTC 2012
admin@RT-N66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show
...
...
...
ct_udp_timeout=30 180
wl_antdiv=-1
wl_radio_pwrsave_level=0
size: 28690 bytes (4078 left) => 28690 + 4078 = 32768 = 32KB
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12736
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Chance wrote:
RT-N66U login: admin
Password:

ASUSWRT RT-N66U_3.0.0.3 Wed Mar 21 04:03:05 UTC 2012
admin@RT-N66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show
...
...
...
ct_udp_timeout=30 180
wl_antdiv=-1
wl_radio_pwrsave_level=0
size: 28690 bytes (4078 left) => 28690 + 4078 = 32768 = 32KB

Seems like Asus HQ is wrong (how can that be Razz )

Send that nvram show to Mr. Kwang

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Chance wrote:
RT-N66U login: admin
Password:

ASUSWRT RT-N66U_3.0.0.3 Wed Mar 21 04:03:05 UTC 2012
admin@RT-N66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show
...
...
...
ct_udp_timeout=30 180
wl_antdiv=-1
wl_radio_pwrsave_level=0
size: 28690 bytes (4078 left) => 28690 + 4078 = 32768 = 32KB

Seems like Asus HQ is wrong (how can that be Razz )

Send that nvram show to Mr. Kwang


I sent it along with a reference link to this thread.
AndyMS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I only have about 1500 left, and that's without any VPN settings.


    admin@RT-N66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show >/dev/null
    size: 31229 bytes (1539 left)
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7016

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 15:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The RT-N66U is Asus state-of-the art router, their first dual band router, it is fresh on the market and what they should do now is temporarily stop the sales, increase nvram to 64K and do a field upgrade on all the routers they have sold and routers in dealers stock.

It is quite amazing that they have not looked at the competition and asked themselves why Cisco and Netgear have increased the nvram size to 60 or 64KB, Asus will get the same problem as Cisco and Netgear got on their dual radio routers before they upped the nvram size.
There is only one word for it: Fustercluck!

Is it even possible to add vpn keys on the RT-N66U without overflowing nvram? If it is then there can't be many bytes left.

The RT-N66U is a router that I had intended to buy and retire my RT-N16, looks like the RT-N16 has to be in duty for now.
AndyMS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 15:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just sent this to asus:

Quote:
Hello,

I purchased a RT-N66U on March 28th from NewEgg. Since then I have discovered that the current NVRAM size (30kB out of the 128kB installed) is inadequate. Without DHCP, DNS or any of the VPN settings enabled, I only have a little more than 1500 bytes left, and router stability is affected if I try to apply any other settings to the point that the router needs to be rebooted. Through various forums I have seen responses from Asus that indicate this router should actually have 64kB vs. the 30kB most are seeing. Is it possible that this router has been incorrectly configured? I ask because it would be sad to see such a powerful router hobbled by an inadequate amount of NVRAM.

Response I saw from Asus:

I apologize for the delay in response as this message was filtered by our spam filter. I do not have information on design decisions for the RT-N66u, however, I was informed that the NVram of the RT-N66u is 64kB.



Can you give me more information on your OpenVPN usage and your network setup?



Best Regards,



Adam K.

Customer Care Specialist J

ASUS Computers International

Current NVRAM usage from my router:

admin@RT-N66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show >/dev/null
size: 31229 bytes (1539 left)

Again, that is without any VPN settings enabled.

Regards,

Andrew Stafford
furlonghokie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
sorry for the noob question, but what's the impact to me of the nvram "issue"? I'm using the n66u as my primary home router. I don't do anything special - i have a couple repeaters along my home network, but i don't do anything crazy over wifi (yet). What's the significance of the nvram limitation, would it impact me - if so, how? Also, what types of behavior changes would I have to make in order to avoid the issue impacting me?
AndyMS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 17:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
furlonghokie wrote:
sorry for the noob question, but what's the impact to me of the nvram "issue"? I'm using the n66u as my primary home router. I don't do anything special - i have a couple repeaters along my home network, but i don't do anything crazy over wifi (yet). What's the significance of the nvram limitation, would it impact me - if so, how? Also, what types of behavior changes would I have to make in order to avoid the issue impacting me?


NVRAM stands for Non Volatile RAM, and is used to store settings that need to survive a reboot. Basically any setting or configuration change you make via the GUI will get stored in NVRAM. If you're not using a lot of the router's advanced settings you will likely be ok. However, it seems that the router begins to have stability and performance issues the closer it is to maxing out NVRAM, and most of the VPN users are seeing problems.
furlonghokie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
AndyMS wrote:
furlonghokie wrote:
sorry for the noob question, but what's the impact to me of the nvram "issue"? I'm using the n66u as my primary home router. I don't do anything special - i have a couple repeaters along my home network, but i don't do anything crazy over wifi (yet). What's the significance of the nvram limitation, would it impact me - if so, how? Also, what types of behavior changes would I have to make in order to avoid the issue impacting me?


NVRAM stands for Non Volatile RAM, and is used to store settings that need to survive a reboot. Basically any setting or configuration change you make via the GUI will get stored in NVRAM. If you're not using a lot of the router's advanced settings you will likely be ok. However, it seems that the router begins to have stability and performance issues the closer it is to maxing out NVRAM, and most of the VPN users are seeing problems.


thanks.....a couple follow up questions:
1 - does running dd-wrt vs stock impact this? meaning does one FW take up more NVRAM than the other?
2 - the only "advanced" thing that I do is that I have a wireless bridge paired to the n66u currently. I have another n66u that i'd like to replace the existing bridge. I run pretty standard security stuff, don't have anything set for VPN things or any print sharing etc. No MAC filtering. Based on this should I be okay?
3 - what are some things that you consider "advanced setting" that would increase the amount of NVRAM i'm using?
AndyMS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe there is hope for this router. I received a response from Adam at Asus network support and he told me the same thing, that this router should have 64kB. Below is his response to me, and mine to him.



Quote:
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for contacting Asus Networking Support. Please link me to where you are seeing discussion regarding low NVRAM. Currently, the utility is indicating the wrong amount of NVRAM available in the NVRAM partition. I have been informed that NVRAM should be 64KB.

Can you provide me a case with your settings files showing with settings where you would encounter low NVRAM?

Best Regards,

Adam K.
Customer Care Specialist J
ASUS Computers International


Quote:
Adam,

The issue came to light during development of dd-wrt for this router. One of the developers (Fractal) discovered that when running dd-wrt, the router would soon run out of NVRAM and would require a reboot.

Here is the link to the thread on the dd-wrt forums:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=86437&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

I personally have not attempted loading dd-wrt on this router, but I had considered it before learning about the nvram limitation. Even running the stock firmware (.112) you can see it is currently configured with 30kB:

admin@RT-N66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show >dev null
size: 31266 bytes (1502 left)

That is without DNS, DHCP, or any VPN settings configured, and there is only 1500 bytes left. I'm sure if I enabled those there would be even less. As I mentioned above, even the DD-WRT developers are running into a lack of NVRAM.

Also, NewEgg is advertising that this router has dd-wrt support, and that was a selling point for me. Not sure if that makes a difference to Asus, but thought I'd mention it.

Let me know if you need anything else.

Regards,

Andrew Stafford


@Fractal - I hope you don't mind me dropping your name as you were the one who ultimately brought this to light.
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 246

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 0:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
GH0 wrote:
So is anyone running Ext2/3 USB Drives off of this router?


I have an ext3-formatted flash drive plugged in that I use for optware. Works perfectly for me.


Was this done with stock, and not messing with any settings? This has not been working for me, so I would be interested in how you were able to get it working.

Thanks.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30 ... 138, 139, 140  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 29 of 140
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum