Simple Hurricane Electric Tunnelbroker setup

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Mangix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:28    Post subject: Simple Hurricane Electric Tunnelbroker setup Reply with quote
posting this here for future reference. maybe it will help some people as the stock script is a bit large and bloated. when doing this, use the tunnelbroker.net website to find out all the info regarding your tunnel.

Under Administration > Commands > Startup, place
Code:
ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote (Server IPv4 Address) ttl 64
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add (Server IPv6 Address) dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip addr add (Routed /64) dev br0
sleep 5
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf
Under Administration > Management > IPv6 Support > radvd config, place
Code:
interface br0 {
MinRtrAdvInterval 3;
MaxRtrAdvInterval 10;
AdvLinkMTU 1480;
AdvSendAdvert on;
prefix (Routed /64) {
AdvOnLink on;
AdvAutonomous on;
AdvValidLifetime 86400;
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400;
};
RDNSS 2001:470:20::2 {};
};
Under Setup > DDNS > settings are
Code:
DDNS Service - Custom
DYNDNS Server - ipv4.tunnelbroker.net
User Name - (Tunnelbroker User Name)
Password - (Tunnelbroker Password)
Hostname - (Tunnelbroker Tunnel ID, typically a 6 digit number)
URL - /nic/update?hostname=
everything else default
make sure ping is not blocked(needed for DDNS). hope this helps someone.
Sponsor
owens1024
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 13:26    Post subject: Simple Hurricane Electric Tunnelbroker setup Reply with quote
First I would like to thank you for this post.

without it I may not have ever made a successful connection thru my HE tunnel to ipv6 land.

I am running a wndr4000 with v24-sp2 (3/17/12) big.

my radvd is:
interface br0 {
MinRtrAdvInterval 3;
MaxRtrAdvInterval 10;
AdvLinkMTU 1480;
AdvSendAdvert on;
prefix (Routed /64) {
AdvOnLink on;
AdvAutonomous on;
AdvValidLifetime 86400;
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400;
};
RDNSS 2001:470:20::2 {};
};


My Commands -> startup is:
sleep 10
insmod ipv6
sleep 10

ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote (Server IPv4 Address) ttl 64
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add (Server IPv6 Address) dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip addr add (Server IPv6 Address)dev br0
sleep 5
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf


I hope others find this helpful as well.

Cheers!
PatrickDickey52761
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 May 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 5:21    Post subject: Re: Simple Hurricane Electric Tunnelbroker setup Reply with quote
Mangix wrote:
posting this here for future reference. maybe it will help some people as the stock script is a bit large and bloated. when doing this, use the tunnelbroker.net website to find out all the info regarding your tunnel.

Under Administration > Commands > Startup, place
Code:
ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote (Server IPv4 Address) ttl 64
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add (Server IPv6 Address) dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip addr add (Routed /64) dev br0
sleep 5
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf
Under Administration > Management > IPv6 Support > radvd config, place
Code:
interface br0 {
MinRtrAdvInterval 3;
MaxRtrAdvInterval 10;
AdvLinkMTU 1480;
AdvSendAdvert on;
prefix (Routed /64) {
AdvOnLink on;
AdvAutonomous on;
AdvValidLifetime 86400;
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400;
};
RDNSS 2001:470:20::2 {};
};
Under Setup > DDNS > settings are
Code:
DDNS Service - Custom
DYNDNS Server - ipv4.tunnelbroker.net
User Name - (Tunnelbroker User Name)
Password - (Tunnelbroker Password)
Hostname - (Tunnelbroker Tunnel ID, typically a 6 digit number)
URL - /nic/update?hostname=
everything else default
make sure ping is not blocked(needed for DDNS). hope this helps someone.


Hi there,
I've got a few questions.

1) Is this still valid for updating your tunnel?
2) In the DDNS section, when you say TunnelBroker User Name and password, are you referring to the login information for both, or the UserID after you log in for the username, and your login password?

For the URL, you have /nic/update?hostname= and everything else is default. Could you put the exact url up? I ask, because when I go to the /nic/update posting at https://forums.he.net/index.php?topic=1994.0 , it doesn't look anything like what you have.

I've been trying for a day or so to get my IPv6 working. I've got it to where it sets up the link, and then after I manually update my information at Tunnelbroker, I can ping from inside of the router (but not from any of my devices on the LAN side).

Currently I'm using the longer version of the script, but I plan on trying your version next. I just have to figure out how to update my IPv4 address, as it's a dynamic address (which is why I'm asking about the DDNS section).

Thanks, and have a great week. Smile
Patrick.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum