Asus RT-N66U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 34, 35, 36 ... 141, 142, 143  Next
Author Message
BLaZe_ru1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 8:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
BLaZe_ru1 wrote:
Can i use Asus Recovery Tool to flash DDWRT? Is it possible?


There have been special instructions in this thread on how to flash dd-wrt to the asus N66U.. There is a KNOWN problem with nvram and you have to use their cd to break into the CFE and clear NVRAM after a flash otherwise you get will get nothing.

-Fractal


If you said A say a B. What tool from the Asus CD should i use to clear NVRAM? Without it thoose "special instructions" is useless.
Sponsor
BLaZe_ru1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Take my words back. DDWRT installed.
furlonghokie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
how do I go about checking the remaining nvram? I'm using an iMac, FYI.
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
furlonghokie wrote:
how do I go about checking the remaining nvram? I'm using an iMac, FYI.


With what firmware? With Asus, you can telnet in, and run:

Code:
nvram show


No idea on DD-WRT or Tomato.
lfbb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Squarepants wrote:
Well If Asus is reading this thread... I hope they fix the NAT problem. (...)

What NAT problem?

-lfbb
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12814
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 18:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
furlonghokie wrote:
how do I go about checking the remaining nvram? I'm using an iMac, FYI.


With what firmware? With Asus, you can telnet in, and run:

Code:
nvram show


No idea on DD-WRT or Tomato.


same on both

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
furlonghokie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 18:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
furlonghokie wrote:
how do I go about checking the remaining nvram? I'm using an iMac, FYI.


With what firmware? With Asus, you can telnet in, and run:

Code:
nvram show


No idea on DD-WRT or Tomato.


i'm running the stock fw. What do you mean by "telnet in"?
BLaZe_ru1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry for my q, but what gives NVRAM?
kiteboygriff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 5:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bit of a Noob question I know and apologise

Just starting testing this thing a little bit

Just been transferring files to a server getting around 14.5- 15MB/s when transferring over wireless


Does get up to 18-19 MB/s sometimes

Seems really fast - is that about the right for this router?

This is transfer from wireless to then cat 6 network to a hardwired Microserver with 5400 hard drives

Sound ok?
mstombs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 10:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
SHKaminski wrote:
mstombs wrote:
Actually Tomato doesn't work on the RT-N66U right now - there's an obscure bug in script command argument passing that only affects this router - that has the devs scratching their heads...


Tomato Shibby is working for me (1.28 AIO). Couldn't get DD-WRT to load any other than mini, even after following the instructions.


If it works for you fine, but that mod author is still hunting for this obscure bug!

http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/the-rt-n66u-hash-bang-shell-parameter-bug.37402/page-2#post-182800

So I suggest you try harder to get the code from this thread running!
BLaZe_ru1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 14:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Using ddwrt mini 18946 on RTN66U for 2 days. It works like a clock. More testing.
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 4:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
furlonghokie wrote:
RMerlin wrote:
furlonghokie wrote:
how do I go about checking the remaining nvram? I'm using an iMac, FYI.


With what firmware? With Asus, you can telnet in, and run:

Code:
nvram show


No idea on DD-WRT or Tomato.


i'm running the stock fw. What do you mean by "telnet in"?


Connect to your router using a telnet client, like Putty. Or if the thought of connecting to a Linux shell scares you, you can also run "nvram show" through this hidden webpage:

Code:
http://192.168.1.1/Main_AdmStatus_Content.asp


(changing the IP for your router's)

EDIT: looks like the output gets truncated due to its size, so you won't get the bit that interests you when using that webpage. Putty it is then.


Last edited by RMerlin on Sun May 06, 2012 4:28; edited 1 time in total
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 4:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
BLaZe_ru1 wrote:
Sorry for my q, but what gives NVRAM?


NVRAM isn't something given. It's the name of the special storage area of the router that survives reboots, and contains the configuration settings.
BLaZe_ru1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 19:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
BLaZe_ru1 wrote:
Sorry for my q, but what gives NVRAM?


NVRAM isn't something given. It's the name of the special storage area of the router that survives reboots, and contains the configuration settings.


More nvram means more memory for firmware, and then more functionality inside firmvare?

So why every one waiting for Asus to fix it? I could not be fixed by ddwrt programmers?

And also is there any topic how to tune ddwrt to rise lan to lan, and WiFi to lan speeds? I coudnt get more then 20mbs Sad
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
BLaZe_ru1 wrote:
RMerlin wrote:
BLaZe_ru1 wrote:
Sorry for my q, but what gives NVRAM?


NVRAM isn't something given. It's the name of the special storage area of the router that survives reboots, and contains the configuration settings.


More nvram means more memory for firmware, and then more functionality inside firmvare?

So why every one waiting for Asus to fix it? I could not be fixed by ddwrt programmers?


No. The NVRAM is *ONLY* for storing configuration settings. The firmware itself resides in another area of the flash memory, and there is still a lot of space left for that. And the RAM used to run the software is also something completely separate.

As explained previously, the NVRAM is set up by the CFE, which is similar to a computer's BIOS (while the firmware would be the operating system, i.e. Windows, Linux, etc...). The source code for this is not available - this is something that is separate from the firmware, and manually tinkering with it has a strong chance of bricking a router beyond recovery.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 34, 35, 36 ... 141, 142, 143  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 35 of 143
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum