Linksys E3200 Here - see page 2 for test build!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 29, 30, 31  Next
Author Message
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
it is a v1.. if it was a v2, the fcc-id should reflect that.


aah oke (: i hope i will have more luck with the new one shipped by Amazon (:

Thanks a lot!
Sponsor
Zenettii
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 7:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Last night I had great success "upgrading" my E3200, my first ever try with DD-WRT or anything of the sort.

Steps I took
I used this wiki page as my guide but I replaced the firmware version with the latest I could find. (SVN18946) Followed the instructions to the extreme, if it said wait 5 minutes, then I waited atleast this long before trying to do anything else. patience is a virtue:D
I then flashed it again with the Mega version of the same SVN18946

I spent days reading through these forums, wiki, and without having done this I think I might have bricked the device in the first 5 minutes.
Not meaning to be offensive but I have to say this site is it's own worst enemy due to the messiness of accurate information, can see why so many people must get put off.


Wifi works (except 5gz but never really made use of it due to old hardware), and currently can not mount my USB drive, but this is because it's in NTFS format and I'm trying to find some kernel modules/drivers with ipkg to get this FS support.

Anyways, thanks to those who do the development, and thanks to those who kindly spend the time to put the information out there on the forums.

Looking forward to getting my USB drive mounted, DDNS setup, ssh running, and then maybe some playing about with snort and such tools for some fun.
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Zenettii wrote:
I replaced the firmware version with the latest I could find. (SVN18946)


So that means you used this build for inital flash - to convert from Linksys firmware to dd wrt? (:
Zenettii
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
DarkKnight93 wrote:
Zenettii wrote:
I replaced the firmware version with the latest I could find. (SVN18946)


So that means you used this build for inital flash - to convert from Linksys firmware to dd wrt? (:


That's correct, I didn't use the 17201 at any point.
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 17:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Zenettii wrote:
That's correct, I didn't use the 17201 at any point.


Thanks for your reply! Indeed i flashed mine with the current (18984) trailed build and it worked like charm (:
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all. Is there someone who manage to run transmission daemon on this router ? I'm now starting to flash it with DD-WRT.

EDIT: I cannot mount my external drive. I'm using NTFS file system. Where I get wrong ? I'm using the DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/07/12) mega - build 18946M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko firmware.

Zenettii
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 8:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
ka4o_pi4a wrote:
Hi all. Is there someone who manage to run transmission daemon on this router ? I'm now starting to flash it with DD-WRT.

EDIT: I cannot mount my external drive. I'm using NTFS file system. Where I get wrong ? I'm using the DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/07/12) mega - build 18946M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko firmware.



I might be wrong here since I'm very new to all this too, but it appeared to me that you need to install optware to get NTFS support, which was ironic for me since I couldn't install optware until I had a working drive on the E3200 Smile

Personally I've taken a different option, I've used a mini usb drive (like this) in the back of the router so I can successfully install optware, giving me transmission, snort, and other exciting options (list of optware stuff here) and I'm sticking my hdd on another device on my network. I'll then mount this network drive onto the router and have transmission etc auto move completed file there.
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK.
What is optware ? Another frimware or just addon in the dd-wrt ?
Is there a tutorial how to install and operate with it ?

EDIT: I manage to reformat my external hdd in 3 partitions: one for optware in ext3 FS, one for swap file in linux-swap FS and the rest also in sxt3 FS for storage. Also manage to mount it. The problem now is when I try to lunch "service xinetd on" or "service transmission on" I get this message: "Segmentation fault". What can I do next ? Also is there an easy way to install samba 3.5 ? Help please
skinner12
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
ka4o_pi4a wrote:
OK.
What is optware ? Another frimware or just addon in the dd-wrt ?
Is there a tutorial how to install and operate with it ?



Here is the tutorial

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware%2C_the_Right_Way
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 23:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, I use this to make it. I manage to run everything, but now I have only one problem - I cannot mount my Data partition. It's not seen at all from putty and when I check with "mount" command I see this

Code:
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
devpts on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /opt type ext2 (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part3 on /opt type ext2 (rw,noatime)


and this in the dd-wrt web interface:

Code:
--- /dev/discs/disc0/disc
Block device, size 232.9 GiB (250059350016 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 231.5 GiB (248526143488 bytes, 485402624 sectors from 2992128)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext3 file system
Volume name "Data"
UUID 6581F6B7-D0C4-97E5-DCE9-6A2C5AE0E8E6 (MS GUID)
Volume size 231.5 GiB (248526143488 bytes, 60675328 blocks of 4 KiB)
Partition 2: 256 MiB (268435456 bytes, 524288 sectors from 2467840)
Type 0x82 (Linux swap / Solaris)
Linux swap, version 2, subversion 1, 4 KiB pages, little-endian
Swap size 256.0 MiB (268427264 bytes, 65534 pages of 4 KiB)
Partition 3: 1.176 GiB (1262485504 bytes, 2465792 sectors from 2048, bootable)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext3 file system
Volume name "Optware"
UUID 3F85FBDA-9DFD-179E-602B-0DBAE95AD6C4 (NCS)
Volume size 1.176 GiB (1262485504 bytes, 308224 blocks of 4 KiB)
Status: Mounted on /opt
Status: Mounted on /opt


Where is my mistake now ?
Zenettii
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
ka4o_pi4a wrote:
Yes, I use this to make it. I manage to run everything, but now I have only one problem - I cannot mount my Data partition. It's not seen at all from putty and when I check with "mount" command I see this

Code:
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
devpts on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /opt type ext2 (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part3 on /opt type ext2 (rw,noatime)


and this in the dd-wrt web interface:

Code:
--- /dev/discs/disc0/disc
Block device, size 232.9 GiB (250059350016 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 231.5 GiB (248526143488 bytes, 485402624 sectors from 2992128)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext3 file system
Volume name "Data"
UUID 6581F6B7-D0C4-97E5-DCE9-6A2C5AE0E8E6 (MS GUID)
Volume size 231.5 GiB (248526143488 bytes, 60675328 blocks of 4 KiB)
Partition 2: 256 MiB (268435456 bytes, 524288 sectors from 2467840)
Type 0x82 (Linux swap / Solaris)
Linux swap, version 2, subversion 1, 4 KiB pages, little-endian
Swap size 256.0 MiB (268427264 bytes, 65534 pages of 4 KiB)
Partition 3: 1.176 GiB (1262485504 bytes, 2465792 sectors from 2048, bootable)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext3 file system
Volume name "Optware"
UUID 3F85FBDA-9DFD-179E-602B-0DBAE95AD6C4 (NCS)
Volume size 1.176 GiB (1262485504 bytes, 308224 blocks of 4 KiB)
Status: Mounted on /opt
Status: Mounted on /opt


Where is my mistake now ?


This question is already answered across the forum elsewhere. I had the exact same thing, but spent my time reading the forum and relevant threads to prepare for issues before I jumped the gun to install optware, so I didn't keep troubling people with repetitive questions.
In fact just some basic Linux/unix knowledge can answer this one.

I have previously stated that this site is it's own worst enemy because of how messy the info is, but it is there.
Personally I would say that if you have to rely on posting a question about every stage of the journey, you should question whether you should even be flashing your router.

I'm not trying to be mean, but I'm just trying to get you to do something for yourself. I spent ages reading this site and forums and guides before taking any action. One clear message came from almost every post and guide, "Read all instructions BEFORE doing anything or posting questions that are already answered". I try to keep in the spirit of the site.
Good hunting Very Happy
wifi-wire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 10:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the E3200 a good choice for a total noob? The router is on discount and has good specs.
As I live in a small town with only 1 network in the neighborhood, i dont need 5 GhZ frequency. I just need a router with USB support, N-protocol and easy-to-install DD-WRT


I actually wanted to get a FritzBox but then I was recommended to have a look into DD-WRT. Could save me a lot of money^^
kinderjoy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 16:36    Post subject: managed to soft brick it Reply with quote
Hi everyone,
I bought recently this e3200 router.
I've flashed with the mini version of it following the tutorial at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E3200 and then tried to flash it again with dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k. Somehow it failed and now after reading and rereading everything I have no ideea what to do.
I've tryed the 30/30/30 and tftp the original firmware with no luck (router keeps rebooting every 15-20 seconds). I've tryed both dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e3200 and dd-wrt.v24-17064_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e3200 but that didn't do any good.
Right now the router is answering to 1-2 pings then timeout and reboots itself. Over and over.
Any change to fix it ?
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think you have to "hit" those 2-3 replays at the right moment to start uploading your firmware (the stock is the best I believe). It's not easy but you still have a chance to do it without serial (RS 232) interface.

Try the next method: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hard_reset_or_30/30/30

After that try: downloading "tftp2" program, make static IP configuration to your LAN card 192.168.1.2, connect your PC on some of the LAN ports of the router, plug out the power supply, then plug it in back and at the same moment (it's very important) hit the upgrade button on the "tftp2" program with stock firmware specified. Hope this help you. Wish you luck. Btw I by my e3200 before few days and flash it with 18946 mini firmware and then go to 18946 mega 60k firmware without any issues following steps here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
kinderjoy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi ka4o,
Thanks for the sugestion, I've already did that using both tftp2 and tftp from windows 7 (lan set to 1 case at 10 mbps half and the back to 100 mbps). No use.
It uploads it sucessfully then the router reply with ttl 100 forever. I've even let it for 30 minutes without any luck. Still going into reboot routing.
Powering, power led is blinking(I have ping reply ttl 100), then stops blinking (no ping reply) and 10 seconds later is reboots (all leds on the back blink at the same time)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 29, 30, 31  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 11 of 31
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum