DNSMasq fails to start - Asus RT-N16

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
FourFoot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 9:06    Post subject: DNSMasq fails to start - Asus RT-N16 Reply with quote
I flashed an Asus RT-N16 to DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega build 14929 which all works fine apart from DNSMasq won't start, therefore clients are unable to get addresses via DHCP.

DNSMasq indicates it's a configuration fault (configuration below) with an exit code of "1".

Exit code 1 wrote:
# dnsmasq -t --config-file=/tmp/dnsmasq

root@gw0-1-eth:~# echo $?
1
root@gw0-1-eth:~#


Any help to get this running would be appreciated.

This is the configuration when DNSMasq is disabled:
# cat /tmp/dnsmasq.conf wrote:
interface=br0
resolv-file=/tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
domain=london.lan
stop-dns-rebind


This is the configuration when DNSMasq is enabled via the web GUI (seems dd-wrt adds a load to it):
# cat /tmp/dnsmasq.conf wrote:
interface=br0
resolv-file=/tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
domain=london.lan
leasefile-ro
dhcp-script=/etc/lease_update.sh
dhcp-lease-max=59
dhcp-option=lan,3,10.0.1.1
dhcp-authoritative
dhcp-range=lan,10.0.1.100,10.0.1.149,255.255.255.0,1440m
dhcp-host=00:1F:D0:AE:14:C6,htpc-mgmt,10.0.1.19,1440m
dhcp-host=7A:B4:F7:00:03:78,nas1,10.0.1.10,1440m
dhcp-host=00:1F:D0:AE:14:C7,htpc,10.0.1.12,1440m
dhcp-host=00:04:20:12:67:83,sbkitchen.av,10.0.1.15,1440m
dhcp-host=00:04:20:06:80:19,sblounge.av,10.0.1.13,1440m
dhcp-host=00:1D:BA:93:8E:D4,bd1.av,10.0.1.18,1440m
dhcp-host=00:12:5A:B7:AA:75,xbox360.console,10.0.1.14,1440m
dhcp-host=00:23:31:DF:0A:C5,wii.console,10.0.1.17,1440m
dhcp-host=00:12:17:6B:29:52,sbrptr.av,10.0.1.16,1440m
stop-dns-rebind
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7040

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 9:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your range is 100-149 then all those computers which you have defined as static leases will not get a lease since they are outside the DHCP range.

Using dots in host names is likely to cause DNSMasq to treat the text after the dot as a domain name..
FourFoot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, I'll try those changes and let you know.

I should point out, this configuration worked perfectly on my last dd-wrt router.
FourFoot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 10:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dots in the hostnames seems to be the issue. Removed them and life is good again.

Thanks LOM.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum