HOWTO: Flashing WHR-G300N

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12
Author Message
bason
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just have to say, the WHR-G300N is really a much better router when its running dd-wrt. It has been three days now and it has not freeze or auto reboot yet. Its not even dropping wifi connection. Worlds apart when compared with the original firmware in terms of stability.
Sponsor
mbelsky
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 0:34    Post subject: Newest firmware for WHR-G300N - build 15407 Reply with quote
Hello,

I just installed the newest build from BrainSlayer from here:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fothers%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F10-09-10-r15407%2FWHR-G300N/

Was this a mistake? I realized after that the recommended build from the Wiki is build 14896 from here:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fothers%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F08-07-10-r14896%2FWHR-G300N/

Where are these new, in between builds tested and discussed? I mean, there must be somewhere where feedback and issues are reported so the mods know when its time to recommend a newer build. Is that this thread? Noone has discussed the last few builds.
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1250
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:39    Post subject: Re: Newest firmware for WHR-G300N - build 15407 Reply with quote
mbelsky wrote:
Where are these new, in between builds tested and discussed? I mean, there must be somewhere where feedback and issues are reported so the mods know when its time to recommend a newer build. Is that this thread? Noone has discussed the last few builds.

You will find most of the discussion on these builds in the Broadcom SoC based Hardware forum.

_________________
(12/24/13) mega - 23204
4x WRT54G-TM

(12/24/13) std - 23204
1x WHR-G300N

(04/15/13) nokaid - 14929
1x WRT54GL v1.1

(07/24/13) micro - 22118
1x WG602v3

Got OpenDNS?
vr6dude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Dec 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Rikh wrote:
@BS:
Is the Hardware Switch (Router/AP/Auto) on the backside somehow supported?


Never saw an answer for this one. Anyone know if the switch does anything at all?
vr6dude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Dec 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone had a problem with intermittent internet connection outages when connecting the WAN to another router whose IP is 192.168.11.1 ?

I get disconnects every 10-30 minutes that self-resolve in 5 minutes. During disconnect, pinging the DHCP host gets a response, release/renew works, but traceroute does not. Simply unplugging and plugging back in the cable on the WAN gets immediate satisfaction with ping & trace, without any release/renew.

During all this time, WLAN and LAN works perfectly fine.


(yes, I am effectively asking the same question from another posting, but that was in response to the OP's question about DHCP. Since mine is not apparently a DHCP question and might be more generally applicable, I am asking slightly differently in this thread)


v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
vr6dude wrote:
Rikh wrote:
@BS:
Is the Hardware Switch (Router/AP/Auto) on the backside somehow supported?


Never saw an answer for this one. Anyone know if the switch does anything at all?


The switch has no functionality with DD-WRT firmware.

That switch is ONLY used with original Buffalo firmware.

Even with Buffalo firmware - it was usually best to leave it on 'Router'

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42345 / Gargoyle 1.6.2
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42345
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2.23 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42345
vgare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 0:54    Post subject: whr-g300n continuous diag light on, router inaccessible Reply with quote
I tried flashing with every possible version of the firmware with tftp. the router starts flashing slowly like it's applying the firmware and then restarts and again the diag is on steady. this started after a few days of loosing wireless, which i would fix by restarting the device. btw i have been running dd-wrt on this router for 4-5 months without a problem. i went for dd-wrt because the original firmware got messed up, so i was able to put the dd-wrt firmware on it.
one thing i remember changing a few days ago is i enabled the syslogd.
how can i bring it back to life?
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
You are going to have to do serial recovery if TFTP won't catch.

You can also see what's going on in the serial console as well.

The wiki has the serial recovery info for the WHR-G300N.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42345 / Gargoyle 1.6.2
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42345
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2.23 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42345
fallengt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dang... I didn't do research carefully and bought WCR-GN instead of WHR-300n Crying or Very sad

By any chance that someone is willing to port this router over DD-WRT?

FCCID is fdi-09101676-0
CPU is Ralink RT3350F P1R1630CB 1003ST
The flash chip MX25L3206E
Kallisti
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 11:47    Post subject: Not routing... Reply with quote
I don't know if this is where to ask about this...

Until yesterday I had a home network plugged into a mixture of my Buffalo WHR-G300N directly and a gigabit switch which then plugged into one of the other LAN ports. This worked fine, though it's possible I had an accidental DMZ on the hardware connected via the switch.

I decided to move everything to the switch to improve LAN performance (which worked very well), but I then lost WAN access (the Internet).

My setup is

Broadband Modem/Router (that doesn't support bridging) on 192.168.169.254.
|
Buffalo WHR-G300N / dd-wrt WAN on 192.168.169.1
|
Buffalo WHR-G300N / dd-wrt LAN on 192.168.168.254
|
The LAN - A gigabit switch with other switches and devices hanging off it, all on 192.168.168.0/24.

From the LAN I can ping other computers on the LAN and the LAN and WAN side of the Buffalo. I can't ping the Internet.

From the Buffalo I can ping everything, including the Internet through the WAN.

From the Internet I can ping the Buffalo. Although I've got a port forward on SSH, it's being ignored and the Buffalo is picking it up and responding with it's own SSHD. (this wasn't previously the case).

Not sure what else to list. What config do I need to get the router routing from LAN to WAN? Are any of the 4 LAN ports "special" ?

I've tried putting this back to how they were (I'm not exactly sure what that is though, but can't even restore the old setup (with a slow LAN!)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 Display posts from previous:    Page 12 of 12
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum