Sitecom WLR-4000 support

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17473
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 15:51    Post subject: Sitecom WLR-4000 support Reply with quote
tkteun wrote:
Hi,

I recently acquired a Sitecom WLR4000 Gigabit N Router.
Since this router (series) is quite popular in the Netherlands after one of the big warehouses made a discount deal after it, I want to get DD-WRT running on it.

I've made some pictures of the insides:
https://picasaweb.google.com/110405287173420917405/SitecomWLR4000?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCKTgv4XfzLGqeg&feat=directlink

As you can see it's a pretty basic layout: Gbit switch, processor, 2x WiFi etcetera...

I tried to pry of the CPU cooler, but unfortunately it's glued on quite well and I didn't want to break anything.

As I'm a complete beginner in this field of hacking, I wanted to call in your help to try to see if you've got some pointers not to unnecessarily brick the device.

I assume a logical start would be to solder in a header in the UART port labeled CN1 and connect it with a 3.3V modulator to my PC, right?

Can you tell me anything about the other header, labeled CN102? I assume it's some JTAG connection, but it could be anything of course.

I've got access to all kinds of tools including digital scopes and analyzers. I'd like the opportunity to give something back to the community, while broadening my knowledge, that's why I don't want to donate the device to science, but dissect it myself.

Thanks in advance,
Teun


do
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-detection

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Sponsor
tkteun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 18:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahh, thanks...

Too bad there's no FCC ID on the device itself and I didn't get a box with it (salvaged it from the trash, broken PSU).
tkteun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 20:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
On the UART (baud: 57600)

Quote:
U-boot Ver:1.0.1.157 2010/05/17


Board: Ralink APSoC DRAM: 32 MB 2*16 MB
============================================
ASIC 3052_MP2 (Port5<->GigaSW)
Product Name: ESR9850
SDRAM CAS = 3(d1835272)
============================================

Please choose the operation:
1: Load system code to SDRAM via TFTP.

LINUX started...

THIS IS ASIC
init started: BusyBox v1.7.5 (2011-04-22 17:09:57 CST)
starting pid 131, tty '/dev/console': '/sbin/config_init'
Config Init version: 2.1.0.1 date: 2011/04/22
Could not find Watchdog driver (/apps/lib/modules/2.6.21/kernel/arch/mips/rt2880/rt_timer.ko)
starting pid 178, tty '/dev/ttyS1': '/sbin/config_term'
************************************************************************
* WL-351 *
************************************************************************

KernelApp/Ramdisk Ver:2.1.0.1 Date:2011/04/22
console> cat: can't open '/apps/lib/modules/2.6.21/modulesApp.dep': No such file or directory
ln: /sbin/./apps_init: File exists


Seems rebranding keeps paying off:

WLR-4000 = WL-351 = Senao ESR9850 ??
tkteun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Another clue I just noticed:

Apparently the casing of this router is shared with a couple of other Sitecom products:

WL-6000
WL-4001
WL-328
WL-351SW
WLR-5000

Maybe they used the same circuitry on all these devices Smile

PS. Maybe one of the moderators could move this topic to the Ralink forum?



2012-04-16_22-43-14_312.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  567.99 KB
 Viewed:  6817 Time(s)

2012-04-16_22-43-14_312.png


foxgiggle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try to type "sn2450" to activate console.
At least it works for my Engenius ECB7510:
Quote:

************************************************************************
* ECB7510 *
************************************************************************

KernelApp/Ramdisk Ver:1.1.0.306 Date:2011/11/30
console> sn2450


BusyBox v1.7.5 (2011-11-30 18:09:26 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

#
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum