so correct me if im wrong...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
abispac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 21:13    Post subject: so correct me if im wrong... Reply with quote
So anyone here, cant say for sure who it is, has ddwrt firmware for free for lots of device,right?
But for certain powerfull devices like ubiquiti brand, you guys decide to sell the firmware via activation maybe because they are used in a comercial enviroment, right?
But when a problem comes up, such as the new problem we get if we update to airos 5.5 (due to sash advice)
you guys ask for help from the users or customers in this case, to provide logs or data about the boot process or anything ealse, that sometimes its hard for us (regular users) to provide. Therefore no solution its ofered at the moment, but at the same time you guys dont ofer an advice either or a timeframe on when the problem its going to be solved, remember (whoever gets the money from the licencing of ddwrt) you guys are selling a product, you should offer a solution to your bugs or to your firmware roblems, otherwise you should offer your firmware for free as well.
Whoever wrote the firmware for all of the devices , evenubiquiti devices, should have a way to fix the present problem. Even mods of this forum such as SASH wish always advices to uppdate without having the correct knoledge, should be able to fix the problem in wish he got me into.
So i dont want to sound rude, mi first lenguage its sppanish, so maybe my english can sound diferent, but im asking to whoever sold me the license for ddwrt, if it can help me get ddwrt back on my ubiquiti loco m2 device, thanks for any help.
Sponsor
dotvibe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey man, i don't mind paying the 20 bucks to activate the licence for my router. I get that for "commercial" class devices its only fair to charge a couple of bucks for all the hard work done, even if i only use my router for personal purposes. How would the guys at dd-wrt know what i'm using it for?

I do kinda mind that's been more than a week since i posted the issue with the new bootloader on the latest v5.5 airos update not allowing us to flash the dd-wrt firmware, and no ETA has been given on a fix. Actually no indication has been given that a fix is being worked on at all. Apparently you guys "don't have an AirOs device". hmmmmmmmmmm.........

do i wait until hell freezes over, or just send this router back to the shop?
abispac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 15:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Like i say, dont get me wrong, im not mad or pistedof,
im just saying that one of the mods here (SASH) gave me the advice to uppdate, wich screw me over, so that means he did not knew about the problem of uppdating, hi just thouth that updating would solve my problem. now that the problem is here he dosnt have the balls to come up front with one of his several devices he claims to have, to fix the godamn problem, i wonder if he so samrt has he claim's. read this my ass....
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

i am taking a look into that today. Please give me some time to find out what the problem is.

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

i updated a locoM2 to airos 5.5 and flashed dd-wrt from the gui and also over tftp without issues.

The builds need to be greater than 17592, since that was the change we made to the version number that is in the header (ubnt firmwares refused to flash firmwares with no version information).

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/changeset/17592

The bootloader of my locoM2 was not changed, it reamains as:
U-Boot 1.1.4.2 (Apr 1 2010 - 10:24:23)

If there are still problems, i think then there might be hardware out with a newer bootloader. Hopefully somebody can send me that newer bootloader, we haven't seen hardware with newer bootloader here yet.

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7045

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
chris, did you download the XM-v5.5.build12536.bin from Ubiquiti?

It contains a boot loader.

ROM:9F024D30 55 2D 42 6F 6F 74 20 31+ version_string: .ascii "U-Boot 1.1.4.2-s550 (Feb 9 2012 - 17:16:25)"<0>
ROM:9F024D30 2E 31 2E 34 2E 32 2D 73+
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 17:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

yes

MD5 (XM-v5.5.build12536.bin) = a4f66ad8719637bb5647c0930d9f5d45

but my log (using tftp) show this:

Receiving file from 192.168.1.99:53374
Received 512 bytesReceived 967168 bytesReceived 1943552 bytesReceived 2939904 bytesReceived 3921920 bytesReceived 4905984 bytesReceived 5888512 bytesReceived 6472831 bytes
Firmware Version: XM.ar7240.v5.5.12536.120406.1455
Setting U-Boot environment variables
Un-Protected 1 sectors
Erasing Flash.... done
Erased 1 sectors
Writing to Flash... done
Protected 1 sectors

Will not overwrite u-boot partition! Skipped.

Copying partition 'kernel' to flash memory:
erasing range 0x9F050000..0x9F14FFFF: ................ done
Erased 16 sectors
writing to address 0x9f050000, length 0x00100000 ...
Copying partition 'rootfs' to flash memory:
erasing range 0x9F150000..0x9F64FFFF: ................................................................................ done
Erased 80 sectors
writing to address 0x9f150000, length 0x00500000 ...

Firmware update complete.

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

you need to go from 5.3.5 to 5.5 via webupgrade, then you get a new bootloader:

Going to firmware update mode
Writing 'u-boot ' to /dev/mtd0(u-boot ) ... [%100]
Writing 'kernel ' to /dev/mtd2(kernel ) ... [%100]
Writing 'rootfs ' to /dev/mtd3(rootfs ) ... [%61 ]

U-Boot 1.1.4.2-s550 (Feb 9 2012 - 17:16:25)

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
HI,

Uploaded Firmware Version: XM.v6.0.0.
WARNING: Uploaded firmware is third-party, make sure you're familiar with recovery procedure!

... then i updated to dd-wrt (today build) via gui:

Going to firmware update mode
Current ver: 328960
New version: 393216
No need to fix.
Writing 'kernel ' to /dev/mtd2(kernel ) ... [%100]
Writing 'kernel ' to /dev/mtd3(rootfs ) ... [%100]
Done


[ 136.617000] Restarting system.


U-Boot 1.1.4.2-s550 (Feb 9 2012 - 17:16:25)

Board: Ubiquiti Networks XM board (rev 0.2 e0a2)
DRAM: 32 MB
Flash: 8 MB
Net: eth0, eth1
Hit any key to stop autoboot: 0
## Booting image at 9f050000 ...
Image Name: MIPS Linux Kernel Image
Created: 2012-06-11 3:31:55 UTC
Image Type: MIPS Linux Kernel Image (lzma compressed)
Data Size: 1126547 Bytes = 1.1 MB
Load Address: 80002000
Entry Point: 802547b0
Verifying Checksum ... OK
Uncompressing Kernel Image ... OK

Starting kernel ...

[ 0.000000] Linux version 3.3.8-svn19343 (root@dd-wrt) (gcc version 4.6.3 20120201 (prerelease) (Linaro GCC 4.6-2012.02) ) #479 Mon Jun 11 05:28:25 CEST2
[ 0.000000] flash_size passed from bootloader = 0
[ 0.000000] bootconsole [early0] enabled
[ 0.000000] CPU revision is: 00019374 (MIPS 24Kc)
Booting AR7240(Python)...
[ 0.000000] Determined physical RAM map:
[ 0.000000] memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)
[ 0.000000] Zone PFN ranges:
[ 0.000000] Normal 0x00000000 -> 0x00002000
[ 0.000000] Movable zone start PFN for each node
[ 0.000000] Early memory PFN ranges
[ 0.000000] 0: 0x00000000 -> 0x00002000
[ 0.000000] Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on. Total pages: 8128
[ 0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 root=1f02 rootfstype=squashfs noinitrd init=/sbin/init
[ 0.000000] PID hash table entries: 128 (order: -3, 512 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Primary instruction cache 64kB, VIPT, 4-way, linesize 32 bytes.
[ 0.000000] Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes
[ 0.000000] Writing ErrCtl register=00000000
[ 0.000000] Readback ErrCtl register=00000000
[ 0.000000] Memory: 28924k/32768k available (2411k kernel code, 3844k reserved, 660k data, 172k init, 0k highmem)
[ 0.000000] NR_IRQS:80
[ 0.000000] Calibrating delay loop... 259.27 BogoMIPS (lpj=1296384)
[ 0.070000] pid_max: default: 32768 minimum: 301
[ 0.070000] Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
[ 0.080000] NET: Registered protocol family 16
[ 0.110000] found calibration data for slot 0 on 0xBF7F1000
[ 0.320000] registering PCI controller with io_map_base unset
[ 0.340000] bio: create slab <bio-0> at 0
[ 0.350000] SCSI subsystem initialized
[ 0.350000] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
[ 0.360000] usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
[ 0.360000] usbcore: registered new device driver usb
[ 0.370000] PCI host bridge to bus 0000:00
[ 0.370000] pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [mem 0x10000000-0x17ffffff]
[ 0.380000] pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [io 0x0000]
[ 0.380000] pci 0000:00:00.0: fixup device configuration
[ 0.390000] bootstrap returns device 168C:2E
[ 0.390000] pci 0000:00:00.0: BAR 0: assigned [mem 0x10000000-0x1000ffff 64bit]
[ 0.400000] PCI: mapping irq 72 to pin1@0000:00:00.0
[ 0.400000] Switching to clocksource MIPS
[ 0.410000] NET: Registered protocol family 2
[ 0.410000] IP route cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[ 0.420000] TCP established hash table entries: 1024 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
[ 0.430000] TCP bind hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[ 0.430000] TCP: Hash tables configured (established 1024 bind 1024)
[ 0.440000] TCP reno registered
[ 0.440000] UDP hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[ 0.450000] UDP-Lite hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
[ 0.460000] NET: Registered protocol family 1
[ 0.460000] gpio_proc: module loaded and /proc/gpio/ created
[ 0.470000] gpiochip_add: registered GPIOs 0 to 47 on device: ar71xx
[ 0.470000] wl0gpio_proc: module loaded and /proc/wl0gpio/ created
[ 0.480000] squashfs: version 3.0 (2006/03/15) Phillip Lougher
[ 0.490000] msgmni has been set to 56
[ 0.490000] io scheduler noop registered
[ 0.500000] io scheduler deadline registered (default)
[ 0.500000] Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 1 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
[ 0.530000] serial8250.0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x18020000 (irq = 11) is a 16550A
[ 0.530000] console [ttyS0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
[ 0.530000] console [ttyS0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
[ 0.550000] guessed flashsize = 8M
[ 0.550000] scanning for root partition
[ 0.560000] uboot detected
[ 0.560000] guessed bootloader size = 50000
[...]

root@DD-WRT:~# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

br0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 no wireless extensions.

mon.ath0 IEEE 802.11bgn Mode:Monitor Frequency:2.437 GHz Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:on

eth0 no wireless extensions.

ath0 IEEE 802.11bgn Mode:Master Frequency:2.437 GHz Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off

dd-wrt 00:15:6d:3c:bc:c2 -24 6 Y -- NONE

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
abispac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
so cris, can you share that v6 firmware you used so we can test it, i cant seem to find it anywhere..thanks
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

ftp://www.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/

I haven't received the bullets yet, so i can't verify that on these devices too.

It's not really a "v6" firmware, we just put that into the header, that it gets accepted.

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
dotvibe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 18:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
works like a charm on my PowerAP-N

thanks guys, my router is finally working the way its supposed to!
abispac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
mine its working with ddwrt now, a bit slow and wep encription on repeater mode does not work still....
chris
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 99
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 21:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
HI,

please define "slow". These version give full ethernet througput if configured as wds-ap / wds-station bridge.

We'll have a look into the wep repeater problem. Can you please describe me your setup?

_________________
NewMedia-NET GmbH
Christian Scheele (CEO)
http://www.dd-wrt.com
abispac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
chris wrote:
HI,

please define "slow". These version give full ethernet througput if configured as wds-ap / wds-station bridge.

We'll have a look into the wep repeater problem. Can you please describe me your setup?
i meant slow , when you change from page to page to set the setup, it kinda takes like 2 to 4 seconds to load the page, once its setup everything works ok. but the repeater mode does not work with wep encryption. Heres my set up. My uncle lives 2 blocks away, he shares the internet with me, i then recieve the signal and try to repeat the signal wirelessly to the rest of my family, since this is an atheros device the way i doit its as advice in the athero forum, i set up a client, enter the name and in the security settings i enter the wep key wich its the kind of encryption my uncle uses, i then create a virtual accespointo to share that conection, at the security tab i disable evrything, and then apply.now i have tested the same setup on other devices such as wrt610n or wrt54g and they work good no problem, but this loco m2 just wont give me an ip adress, at all, if i change my uncle encryption to wpa or better, and change the encryption as well in the loco m2, everything works just fine.roblem its that my uncle likes to reset his modem once or twice a week and the modem goes back to wep wich is the default. i have tested the loco m2 on several modems and it does not seem to conect if the modem has wepp encryption. thanks for any help.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum