HOWTO: overclock a Fonera/MR3202a/LS2/NS2/PS2/DIR300A etc.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12
Author Message
dark_skeleton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice. I'm quite surprised though, I bricked mine DIR-300 the moment I o/c'd it to 240... gratz Wink
Sponsor
LouisQ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi BS. After clocking it to 240 MHz for about 10 minutes, the router gets abit cranky. And i need to restart to get it working again. And it keeps on like that. Is it because the router needs more voltage and current? (Can't be it is too hot to operate cause i opened up and feel the heatsink with my hand.)
LouisQ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Finally i get it to run at 240 MHz and no more hangup. I will let it run for another 1 to 2 days and see.
felixXJ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 17:26    Post subject: long term Reply with quote
I've done the easy 200 overclock with no problem just now on my AR430. Does anyone have any long term review/eval of this mod?
pradap
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes it works on both. simply it will work on any unit. just check the "before" values with your hexeditor to see if it fits.since all these units are different and since i dont know all the redboot versions around, i cannot provide a single file. the bootloader is different for both units. so you have todo it by yourself. all next dd-wrt versions will contain a secret commandline command which does the patch automaticly. but it will not be included in the gui. or its not planned yet...Very Happy Laughing Rolling Eyes Smile
_________________________________
Kanyakumari tour packages | Kanyakumari tourist spots | Kanyakumari tours and travels
fyi2000
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Apr 2010
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
jignur wrote:
Hi all, tasted the overclock and it works well, now I want to see if we can underclok may dir 300, try putting nvram set cpuclk = 100; but apparently only works with 184, 200 and 220, help me please

Since AR430W is clone of DIR-300-A1
BrainSlayer wrote:
the offsets for the ar430w are 0x17 and 0x23

DD-WRT Forum :: View topic - HOWTO: overclock a Fonera/MR3202a/LS2/NS2/PS2/DIR300A etc.
ksc91u wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
change offset 0x1e3 from 0x03 to 0x01 (divisor 2 instead of 5)
change offset 0x1ef from 0x5c to 0x28 (multiplicator 10 instead of 9 = 200 mhz)

I don't understand this.
0x01 = 2 and 0x03 = 5?
and also 0x5c=92,0x28=40

anyway, I change 0x5c to 0x3c=60.
and my fon runs at 120Mhz.

Hope this can save more energy and makes it cooler. :D seems it works.

Actually, I guess
Quote:
Offset 0x1e3 = 0x03 (divisor 5)
Offset 0x1ef:
    60/5*10 = 120?
    92/5*10 = 184 (that's why BrainSlayer said "nvram set cpuclk=184", not 183)

Offset 0x1e3 = 0x01 (divisor 2)
Offset 0x1ef:
    40/2*10 = 200
    44/2*10 = 220
    48/2*10 = 240

so
Quote:
Offset 0x1e3 = 0x01 (divisor 2)
Offset 0x1ef:
    32/2*10 = 160

should work but why not
Quote:
Offset 0x1e3 = 0x03 (divisor 5)
Offset 0x1ef:
    100/5*10 = 200?
    110/5*10 = 220?
    120/5*10 = 240?

Thanks to BrainSlayer. Just study "overclock_atheros.c" to accommodate cpu clock below 184MHz and fix up baud rate (amba clock) of the serial console. Make sure that you can access RedBoot through ethernet in case not being fully bricked.

Remember to backup original /dev/mtdblock/0 before continuing.

Original RedBoot of FON2100E/FON2100F by courtesy of darthboy
Original RedBoot of FON2100A/B/C(?) by courtesy of Simon

Attachment:
For people who want to underclock their FON2100 from 184MHz to 160/166MHz.

RedBoot-FON2100E&F-160MHz.zip: modified RedBoot of FON2100E/FON2100F
    Offset 0x1e3: 0x03 -> 0x01 (divisor 2)
    Offset 0x1ef: 0x5c -> 0x20
    Offset 0xda14: 0x3c02057b -> 0x3c0204c4
    Offset 0xda1c: 0x3442cf00 -> 0x3442b400
    While
    0x057bcf00 = 184000000 / 2
    0x04c4b400 = 160000000 / 2

RedBoot-FON2100E&F-166MHz.zip: modified RedBoot of FON2100E/FON2100F
    Offset 0x1e3: 0x03 -> 0x03 (divisor 5)
    Offset 0x1ef: 0x5c -> 0x53
    Offset 0xda14: 0x3c02057b -> 0x3c0204f2
    Offset 0xda1c: 0x3442cf00 -> 0x34427ac0
    While 0x04f27ac0 = 166000000 / 2

Flashing instruction:
    Follow Simon's instruction if you can access RedBoot directly, or
    Install DD-WRT v24 pre-SP2 build 13505 and later.
    Scp (or WinSCP) "RedBoot-FON2100E&F-160MHz.bin" to "/tmp/RedBoot.bin".
    Run "mtd -f write /tmp/RedBoot.bin RedBoot".

Updating RedBoot instructions by Simon
brunolopes446 claimed that RedBoot-FON2100F worked for his FON2100A/B/C. Use it at your own rick.
darkside40
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 16:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi there,
could anybody please tell me the correct Values for the Hexeditor if i want to OC my fon to 220MHz?
darkside40
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I answer myself, maybe this info could alos be useful for someone else:

To overclock the fonera:
change offset 0x1e3 from 0x03 to 0x01

change offset 0x1ef from 0x5c to:

0x28 = 200MHz
0x2C = 220MHz
0x30 = 240MHz (not tried it, two much reports that it doesn't work)
Drake008
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
On the DIR300 the SSH option in DD-WRT is grayed out qand I cyannot connect via Putty or scp. Is there some trick to get it to work or do I need to do the same thing as when I flash a new factorysealed DIR300 Rev. A?
kelleci
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 18:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi
Once ago my fonera s flash was broken.I ordered a new flash M25P64 for it.Now i am confused about which adress is for redboot.bin.
Does anyone have fonera 2100 wholeflash.bin?
I will write it by spi programmer.
Best regards.
kay188
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I underclocked and got my Fon2100 A/B/C to run at 120Mhz by just changing 0x5c to 0x3c=60.

Offset 0x1e3 = 0x03 (divisor 5)
Offset 0x1ef: 60/5*10 = 120
According the post above.

I wanted to push 100Mhz for less heat because I'm going to just use the Fon as a client bridge for my ethernet printer.

Modified the redboot.bin to reflect 100Mhz speed by changing 0x5c to 0x32=50.
So having it changed to 50, it would equal 100.

I think I bricked it because I don't think it boots at 100mhz.
Only the power light is on. The ethernet light does not light up.

Any ideas to flash it back? Would a serial jtag help?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 Display posts from previous:    Page 12 of 12
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum