Bullet 2 FCC-ID SWX-B2 Enabling WAN -Semi Bricks Device

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 13:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
192.168.180.1
is sputnik IP i think so try another range.

Code:
brctl show br0
?
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Sponsor
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1191

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
Code:
192.168.180.1
is sputnik IP i think so try another range.

Code:
brctl show br0
?



doing that shows:
Code:

root@DD-WRT:~# brctl show br0
bridge name     bridge id               STP enabled     interfaces
br0             8000.3e18e2890e60       no              ath0
root@DD-WRT:~#


and I have used IP space 192.168.5.x 192.168.10.x .
Same problem. The wifi gets IP cant connect to 192.168.10.1 and no internet.. However wan gets IP and is able to be managed remote.

-Fractal
[/code]
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1191

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 18:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I noticed on the ones that are working... br0 is showing ath0 and eth1, I will try manually adding eth1 to br0 and see if that fix's the problem..
Code:

brctl show br0
bridge name   bridge id      STP enabled   interfaces
br0      8000.00156d9dfd04   no      eth1
                             ath0
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1191

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
added eth0 to br0 then rebooted device.... was locked out totally... had to hard reset the device.. when I do ifconfig

br0: 192.168.5.1
br0:0 169.x.x.x.x
eth0: LIVE IP

-Fractal
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
eth0 is wan!

what is iptables telling u?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1191

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
eth0 is wan!

what is iptables telling u?


you are correct eth0 is wan, and it works. Once I telnet in I can ping the internet.

ok found the problem..... It is missing eth1 interface..

Edit: I am convinced now this is a bullet 2 problem not bulletm2, as I tried 2 new nsm2's today @ 19342 and all worked fine. I have 2 of the wifi b/g bullets both do the same thing.

ifconfig @ 19342 shows:

eth0
ath0
br0
br0:0

-Fractal
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6109
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 0:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
i see no problem here. enabling wan will turn the one and only ethernet interface into a wan port. so it can only be reached by ethernet if remote administration is enabled and for sure a wan ip is assigned.

wifi works anyway here. if the device is used as wifi client the device and wireless is set to client ,the wireless interface will be used as wan port instead of the ethernet port. but in any way it will not semi brick the device. if your ethernet port is the wan device, use wifi to access the device. if wireless is used as wan, use ethernet to connect

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
kuruczfarm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can comfirm that any build after 13064 has a problem on Bullet2.

After enabling WAN port in GUI, the device can be connected via wireless, client gets IP adress, but can not ping the router itself.

From wan side, it is possible to connect, if you configured remote management before enabling wan.

Update: I am not a firewall expert, but it seems packets are dropped. See the results of ifconfig (build 20119)

ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:6D:FC:22:6D
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 4E:B4:87:E6:6F:5C
inet addr:10.0.0.1 Bcast:10.255.255.255 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:291 errors:0 dropped:74 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:32060 (31.3 KiB) TX bytes:4158 (4.0 KiB)

br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 4E:B4:87:E6:6F:5C
inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:6D:FD:22:6E
inet addr:192.168.84.2 Bcast:192.168.84.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:8733 errors:0 dropped:531 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9390 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:911639 (890.2 KiB) TX bytes:8713864 (8.3 MiB)
Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:441 (441.0 B) TX bytes:441 (441.0 B)

wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-15-6D-FC-22-6D-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:796 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:17
TX packets:431 errors:12 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:295
RX bytes:98576 (96.2 KiB) TX bytes:57165 (55.8 KiB)
Interrupt:3 Memory:b0000000-b000ffff
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
just disable icmp blocking
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
kuruczfarm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ping problem is just a secondary problem.

My experiencies:
- Wireless clients get IP from built-in DHCP.
- Unable to ping the router's LAN or WAN address from wireless clients.
- Ping or any other traffic/service (HTTP, SSH, etc) is not going through the router
- If I connect the router from WAN via SSH, I can ping hosts on the internet from the session.

I do not think it is a "icmp blocking" problem.
kuruczfarm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have somebody tried the new 20453 build?
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum