x86 install problem

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
milo2491
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 17:55    Post subject: x86 install problem Reply with quote
ok i am having problems installing the dd-wrt_public_vga.image to my hdd
i use the command

Code:
dd if=dd-wrt_public_vga.image of=/dev/sda


it copies the files to the hdd i reboot and nothing
it just ties to boot from ip.

pc hard wear

intel motherboard
intel core 2 extream
2 gb ddr2 ram
2 broadcom nix cards
1 intel 10/100/1000 nix card

Thank You
mILo
Sponsor
milo2491
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 7:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you are talking about formating it and mounting it i did that already
if i missed something let me know whatthe command is so i can get this running

Thank You
mILo
milo2491
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
well ubuntu live has it to where you can make the hdd bootable is that the same


Thank You
mILo
milo2491
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 8:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok i made it bootable and now i get

Code:

GRUB Loading stage 1.5.


GRUB Loading, please wait...
Error 22


so now i will try it with windows from that link

thank You
mILo
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
in general this MUST work. did it many times. so u must have done something wrong or u have a hw failure
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
MoneyNutz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried unetbootin program to do it for you onto hd or usb ?

or gentoo.org -> handbook -> x86 -> preparing the disk to do it old school.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
the hdd MUST be unmounted before flashing!
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
PhoenixOrion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jun 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:11    Post subject: Please helped purchased need to get running!!! Reply with quote
I just built a mini itx comp with jetway board intel atom dual nic, with cf. I am having this same issue. I have looked and the partition is not active. I used kill disk to delete partition cf came with and wiped with 0's used physdiskwrite to place the image. I have looked and I have no active partition. I am using windows how do I activate the partition since windows doesn't see these particular partitions to activate what program can I use for window to activate I only have one and a half days to get to work so I can activate e-mail said. Secretagentman2012@yahoo.com I have purchased please help. Kill disk see's them and shows them not active. but that program has no option to activate them only delete. It appears physdiskwrite made 3 partitions from the dd-wrt image 3megs,9megs and 15 megs and then there is the unallocated space of 1.83 gigs should I partition that area with windows?
kos1nus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 16:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have this problem too

i try to write dd-wrt_public_vga.image file on usb flash, but i can't boot from this usb.

i used physdiskwrite on windows and "dd if=dd-wrt_public_vga.image of=/dev/sdg" on linux

what I'm doing wrong?
Gadget85
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am having the same issue. I tried booting from usb and it wont work. i will trya HD but woud like to know if i should ony have 1 HD. and wwill any PC work?
switch
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 967
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same here - using USB stick to boot results in a no-go.

Read one of Sash's posts a few threads down and according to him, booting from USB is not supported. Which is a real shame IMO.

_________________
Q: How do I do ...? A: Read the tutorials or Search forums
Khugga
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:22    Post subject: usb boot Reply with quote
If the hardware supports usb boot you should be able to use grub to mount the partion you may need to build from source and add modules for jffs or smthng and the fstab should point to hardware address of the drive that dnt change.. instead of hd1 waiting on my activation key again but this is a little trick that can be pulled off... however why usb flash if its bound to the hardware anyways. Could also try building a ram dribe too.
mnour.tamer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:

GRUB Loading stage 1.5.


GRUB Loading, please wait...



Same Problem here , I used a PC with 2 SATA hard drives , put physdiskwrite.exe and the dd-wrt image in the same C root , used CMD as described in wiki .

removed the primary SATA hard drive , kept the other one that was flashed with ddwrt image and got the same error .

If I tried it to flashed it with only one SATA hard drive showed me System halted
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
use a differnt image, different date. the latest build will work!
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
mnour.tamer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
use a differnt image, different date. the latest build will work!


It worked now , I can access it using web browser , let me check it and see whether I will get any problems.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum