WNDR3700v3 Supported?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
bausker1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 22:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
No I havent had any issues, but my router have just been up for half a day or something. Seems stable so far. Havent tried USB or printer support, but guess that works as well
Sponsor
baronmax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
bausker1 wrote:
No I havent had any issues, but my router have just been up for half a day or something. Seems stable so far. Havent tried USB or printer support, but guess that works as well


Awesome! Thanks to getting back to me so quickly, I'm going to give it a try in the morning, then I'll post back w/my results for others.
celamantia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 23:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
How did it go, Baronmax? Any success? I can't find anything about that router having a serial/console port at all.

--Chris
tathagata
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
You need to attached pins for UART console to WNDR3700v3. Connection is similar to WNDR4000 or WNDR4500 or WNDR3500Lv2.
BrianSr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Lost my previous account information for the forum here and had to register again. But, I wanted to post my results with flashing the WNDR3700v3.

First, flashed the obligatory mini.chk build from http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3700v3.chk

Second, flashed to big build from http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin

As, always 30/30/30 (I did it twice just to be certain) between each flash.

I have had zero trouble with 2.4 and 5 Ghz wireless. I am also using USB with Samba with no trouble. My router has been up for 6 days now. To be completely transparent, I only have two Android phones, one Android tablet and three laptops connected - none of which have had any issues.

YMMV.
jdc2389
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know how good that mini build by brainslayer is, but I flashed that big build and it's basically ruined my router. I have tried flashing back to stock firmware and even back to the first mini build by brainslayer with no success. Once the 30/30/30 hard reset is done before and after flashing it's still the same old big build. Any ideas on how I can revert back to the stock firmware? I think I am going to return this router and get this one instead http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/?categoryid=201 .
GerryD
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 14:13    Post subject: Works for me.. Reply with quote
I was successful with the same firmware as posted by BrianSr. There is a newer build (19519) but I was unable to flash it successfully.
Yuji Saeki
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
jdc2389 wrote:
I don't know how good that mini build by brainslayer is, but I flashed that big build and it's basically ruined my router. I have tried flashing back to stock firmware and even back to the first mini build by brainslayer with no success. Once the 30/30/30 hard reset is done before and after flashing it's still the same old big build. Any ideas on how I can revert back to the stock firmware? I think I am going to return this router and get this one instead http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/?categoryid=201 .


Ruined mine too now. Finally got it to take a build other than MOR's mega because I was hoping the new dd-wrt.v24-19519_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega would fix the 5ghz chip acting like a 2.4ghz fail (when set to 2.4 ghz it would decrease in signal like a bitch).


*Edit*

If you want to serial-uart it, see http://i1193.photobucket.com/albums/aa344/erincallie/HPIM0647-1.jpg

The pinout is (depending on your uart-pinout, may need to switch TX/RX): TX, RX, NA, GND top to bottom on JP1 silkscreen, located below main heatsink and clock generator. You don't need VCC, just hook up router, hold reset and flash as you would any DD-WRT, over TFTP.
honeypot_9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Sep 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you BrianSr.

My WNDR3700v3 router was flashed sucessfully.

Dual-band WiFi works fine.

_________________
WRT610Nv2 (Access Point + static route) <--5 GHz Band--> WRT610Nv2 (Client mode) + WL-500gPv2 (Access Point + OpenVPN Daemon + Optware the right way)
kwood
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:05    Post subject: NA or Europe Reply with quote
I know we've got to flash with this:

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3700v3.chk

Then with this:

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin

But I would like to know are these North America builds - or are they OK to use in UK?

Also, how come a generic broadcom_K26 build will work, is that just because any device using the chip is going to have the same hardware connected (e.g. USB)?

Thanks :-)
makaluch
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 23:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
So is the WNDR3700v3 officially supported yet?

Do we have a good flash method outlined for this?

Current build and its issues?

Someone with experience should start a thread just for this v3 Broadcom-based WNDR3700. Then again, there just might be nothing to say if it's still in alpha or shelved as a whenever-i-get-to-it project only. I'll go try to break mine, just for fun Smile
wschalle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Mar 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
makaluch wrote:
So is the WNDR3700v3 officially supported yet?

Do we have a good flash method outlined for this?

Current build and its issues?

Someone with experience should start a thread just for this v3 Broadcom-based WNDR3700. Then again, there just might be nothing to say if it's still in alpha or shelved as a whenever-i-get-to-it project only. I'll go try to break mine, just for fun Smile


To get dd-wrt on the WNDR3700v3, do this:

Step 1: Factory reset

Step 2: firmware upgrade using this:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3700v3.chk

Step 3: 30/30/30 reset

Step 4: flash this:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/06-08-12-r19342/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin

Step 5: 30/30/30 reset

At this point, either you followed the directions properly and your router is good to go, or you have a nice paperweight.

CAVEAT: This is the kernel 2.6 version which has a bug in the net code preventing any of the optware media servers from working... Really annoying, as they downright refuse to fix it. Supposedly you can rip minidlna from Kong's build and it will work, but I haven't tried it and I probably won't.
Mister_Magotchi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone gotten the PPTP server to work successfully with dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin?

A guy, I believe running this exact build, but on the WNDR4000, was having trouble with it, and I can't get it to work with that build either.
gesti
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:56    Post subject: 5Ghz chip Reply with quote
I have flashed my router successfully with the 19342 build. My only question is how could I get the 5Ghz chip to work, not just in the direct vicinity of the router?

-- EDIT --
Found the solution to my issue: In the menu Wireless -> Basic Settings in the second section (so for the 5Ghz chip's section) I had to set the Wireless Network Mode to N-Only (5Ghz).
makaluch
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've successfully flashed to the 19342 build. So far everything I need is reliable and working great! No more dropped sessions, choppy page loads, slow file transfers, or sketchy streaming.

Thanks for the support on an "unsupported" device. You guys rock! I should contribute and make a list of features that DD-WRT has over stock on this Netgear WNDR3700v3 home router.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum