Rosewill RNX-N150RT and success

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
jberger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 20:29    Post subject: Rosewill RNX-N150RT and success Reply with quote
Desired and Achieved Result
[Modem]-[Primary Wireless router] ~ [Repeater Bridge Wireless router]-[XBOX 360]
in another room, ~50ft (~15m) away, same floor

Specs
PC, connected via wired LAN to Primary router
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, x64
Primary router is Edimax BR-6228nS (150Mbps Wireless 802.11b/g/n Broadband Router)
(note that I'm not recommending the router, just FYI. in fact, it's actually a bit of a pain. using almost all factory presets (including the SSID), because had trouble connecting to WiFi otherwise)

Key
Primary = Primary router (Edimax)
Rosewill = Secondary router/Repeater Bridge
->Primary = address of Primary or same as Primary
[Setting 1] -> [Setting 2] = changed from [Setting 1] to [Setting 2]
meta steps in italics

my steps...
insert standard "don't come to me if you FUBAR anything"

Preparation
read and start Installation instructions
checked all my current (including unused) routers (none were supported and one was listed incompatible)
bought Rosewill RNX-N150RT from ramazon (mods feel free to edit link to accept refs)
arrived Dec 5, 2012 (in the evening)
opened and started reading next morning
Peacock Thread said "THIS IS BROADCOM ONLY!" (N/A as Rosewill is Atheros)
read Hardware-specific page (nothing for Rosewill, nor TP)
searched the Router Database for: "Ros" "Rose" Rosewill" "RNX" "N150" and no results

Pre Installation
downloaded BrainSlayer V24 preSP2 2012-06-06 r19327 rosewill rnx-150rt files (factory to ddwrt and webflash)
(nothing for "rosewill" in hashes and checksums)
read Hard reset or 30/30/30
Compound TCP (CTCP) "Add-On Congestion Control Provider" showed value of "none"
(no wireless adapter)
enabled TFTP client
DHCP enabled (not using static IP)
turned OFF Windows Firewall
turned OFF User Account Control
Internet Options -> Security tab
-Internet
--Medium-high -> Medium
--[ ] Enable Proteced Mode (UNchecked)
-Local Intranet
--Medium-low -> Low
turned OFF Microsoft Security Essentials "Real-time protection"
restart PC (don't be lazy)
open Firefox (w/ instructions)

Installation
connect PC to Rosewill port 3
Hard Reset 30/30/30 (on the long side of 30's)
open Internet Explorer (IE) (No Add-ons)
192.168.1.1
(no username, no password) didn't work
admin, admin worked (defaults from Rosewill user manual)
upgrade to "rosewill-RNX-N150RT-webflash" did NOT start because Rosewill software recognized incorrect versioning
initialized upgrade to "factory-to-ddwrt"
"Software Upgrade Completed Successfully"
IE auto navigated to dd-wrt "control panel" "Router Management" "Router Password" page
observation: Power, WLAN, 3, WPS lights all solid green with no blinking on router
performed successful ping 192.168.1.1

changed username and password to admin, admin
nav to Administration tab
hard reset 30/30/30
(only 1 light still on) ping response: destination host unreachable
(lights on or blinking) ping response : [good]
(lights on or blinking) ping response : [good]

auto-nav to password screen again
changed username and password to admin, admin (note: did NOT allow empty strings)
upgrade firmware to "rosewill-RNX-N150RT-webflash"
(wait)
changed username and password to admin, admin
hard reset 30/30/30
observation: power light on, followed by standard reset blinks
changed username and password to admin, admin

Repeater Bridge Instructions
*note for next line: REMEMBER TO SUBSTITUTE Step 6 for Atheros which is shown lower on the page. I initially didn't, but after adjusting, success.
followed Repeater Bridge instructions
observation: no internet

(Debugging)
set PC to static IP (note: Default Gateway: ->Rosewill; DNS Servers: ->Rosewill, ->Primary (don't remember the exact order))
*adjusted settings for Atheros
observation: internet

Testing
disconnect PC from Rosewill
moved Rosewill to other room, connected to XBOX 360 and setup static IP on XBOX 360 (IP: 2.192; Gateway: ->Primary; PDNS: ->Primary; SDNS: ->Rosewill)
observation: XBOX connects to network, internet, XBOX Live
connect PC back to Primary
observation: PC no internet
set PC to (DHCP) auto IP
observation: PC internet
observation: turn on Win7 x64 laptop, connects to internet with NO adjustments


Cleanup
re-enable Internet Options security
re-enable Windows Firewall
re-enable MSE "Real-time protection"
re-enable Windows User Account Control

Settings Image
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17508
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 0:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
upgrade and read the stickies
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Rcc147
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:07    Post subject: Client Mode Reply with quote
Does client mode work with this set up?
rbronosky
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Dec 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 14:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
upgrade and read the stickies


I dont see how this is constructive. The OP posted a very thoughtful writeup on a piece of hardware that otherwise had no documentation. I have read the stickies here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=28 and the peacock thread. While I do think that http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=729459#729459 is a more concise post, I appreciate the OP's effort.

I see that you, Sash, are a fundamental member and contributor and I appreciate that. If there was something specific that you expect the OP and subsequent visitors to take away from seeing your post above, you need to make it more clear. I don't know what we are supposed to upgrade to and what sticky you believe we have failed to read.

Thank you, sir.
pegol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:49    Post subject: won´t upgrade Reply with quote
Error code 18005
Upgrade unsuccessfully because the version of the upgraded file was incorrect. Please check the name.

any sugestions?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum