DIR-615 loses connection

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
chopstxnrice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:32    Post subject: DIR-615 loses connection Reply with quote
Hey all,

I currently have a d-link DIR-615E3 with the latest firmware (v24 from 2010-12-13). Everything seems to be ok when I boot up the router - with factory settings and unsecured wireless, I have an internet connection. When I enter the GUI, create a router username/password, everything is still fine. Then, when I create a wireless security password (WPA2 personal) I lose internet connection, and the only way to get it back is to do a hard reset of the router. This also happens if I change any setting within the ddwrt interface, not just the wireless settings. Anyone have any ideas as to why this is happening? (I also have a linksys WRT54GL with ddwrt with absolutely no problems)

My cable modem is a motorola surfboard SB5101U, ISP is comcast cable, running windows 7. Thanks in advance
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17473
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
upgrade 1st
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
chopstxnrice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
upgrade 1st


sorry, do you mean upgrade the firmware? I am running the latest ddwrt firmware for my router
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 2669

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the latest. ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/01-01-2013-r20453/dlink-dir615e3/
chopstxnrice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
This is the latest. ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/01-01-2013-r20453/dlink-dir615e3/


thanks, will try now
chopstxnrice
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 0:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
This is the latest. ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/01-01-2013-r20453/dlink-dir615e3/




Thanks, it fixed it! Not sure why it was acting so crazy before the upgrade. I downloaded the firmware by searching the router database here http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database , didn't realize there was another. For future reference, how did you get to this page?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 2669

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 0:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just back up from the link I gave you.
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2
Jubiaba
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 21:48    Post subject: DIR-615 version E5 Reply with quote
Can I use this latest version to flash my new dLInk DIR-615 version E5, purchased today (29 Jan 13) in Brasil? Chipset is Atheros AR 7240-AH1E.

No DD-WRT firmware is available in the database for this version, but I see the E3 applies to the E4, so how about the E5?javascript:emoticon('Very Happy')
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum