Asus RT-N66U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 94, 95, 96 ... 151, 152, 153  Next
Author Message
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hm, I have been noticing an interesting issue with the latest build of Fractal's. Seems to either be dropping packets, or something is restricting packet flow, as I can no longer watch a 1080p youtube video in full length without it buffering every ~30 seconds.

If I plug directly into the modem this issue does not happen, so it is definitely the router. :/
Sponsor
c0mmand3r
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
geokilla wrote:
I'm trying to connect my TV to my router, but due to the insanely high bit password (63 char), I can never get it to connect because I mistype one or two letters. I tried to do it via WPS but after pressing WPS on my router, the TV said it couldn't find any WPS enabled routers in the vicinity. Does WPS work? I don't see WPS button in Administration > Management either.


Instead of trying to connect your tv wirelessly to your main router try getting another dd-wrt router and connect your tv to it and bridge to your main router. I have successfully done this and I have all of my video devices hardwired into this one bridged router. (TV, Blu-Ray, Xbox, Roku, AV Receiver) it works awesome and I never have to worry about the passwords on any of my other devices only the one bridged router.
Otto
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
Otto wrote:
Anyone tried installing Optware on FAT formatted sdcard? Will it work?


Optware requires a native Linux filesystem as it uses some Linux-specific features.


What are my options to get optware enabled Dark Knight?
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Otto wrote:
RMerlin wrote:
Otto wrote:
Anyone tried installing Optware on FAT formatted sdcard? Will it work?


Optware requires a native Linux filesystem as it uses some Linux-specific features.


What are my options to get optware enabled Dark Knight?


Under DD-WRT? Probably quite limited, since it will crash when using ext2/ext3 - unless that has been fixed since last time I saw that mentioned on the forums.
Otto
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
Otto wrote:
RMerlin wrote:
Otto wrote:
Anyone tried installing Optware on FAT formatted sdcard? Will it work?


Optware requires a native Linux filesystem as it uses some Linux-specific features.


What are my options to get optware enabled Dark Knight?


Under DD-WRT? Probably quite limited, since it will crash when using ext2/ext3 - unless that has been fixed since last time I saw that mentioned on the forums.


Under any firmware.
dampee6
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I flashed my router with Merlin and my CFE is 1.0.1.4. Next I downloaded version 20979 of Fractal's DD-WRT, which the link was supplied here: http://charleswilkinson.co.uk/2012/12/22/dd-wrt-on-the-asus-rt-n66u-with-64k-cfe/.

But when I flash this, I get "Firmware upgrade fail. It may result from incorrect image or error transmission. Please check the version of firmware and try again."

I followed all the steps and I don't think I did anything wrong? Is there something I'm missing?

Please help!
mchaney
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just wanted to say I got this router yesterday and out of the box, the stock firmware didn't even work. I have many security cameras and other wireless devices and when I set up the WiFi properly, none of them would even connect.

Followed the proper procedures for dd-WRT: the unit came with 1.0.1.3 so I flashed Merlin first and then 20979. Worked perfectly and as soon as I booted dd-wrt and set up my Wireless, everything worked flawlessly.

I guess my question at this point is, is the stock firmware just junk? I've had a half dozen routers, the Netgear WNDR3700 (running dd-wrt) and the WNDR4500 (running stock firmware) being my previous two, both of which crapped out after less than a year. I've never had a problem where the wireless, when setup properly and double/triple checked, wouldn't work.

Mike
zoo7suit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 0:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just put fractal 20979 on my router and have a problem. All of my windows laptops connect at 72Mb despite setting channel widths to 40Mhz (only 2.4Ghz enabled on the router). All three laptop NICs tried have dual channel capability (and are different manufacturers and models).

Thinking this might be an issue in this build restricting it to a single channel, I decided to go back to Merlin. However, despite various combinations of clearing NVRAM, and using ddwrt or the built in bootloader to flash, I cannot get off this firmware. Invariably after a flash is complete and the router rebooted, I just get put straight back to the mini-web bootloader. The only flashing that works is ddwrt.

Has anyone successfully migrated off ddwrt and back to Merlin or stock? What's the magic sequence? Alternatively, is there a ddwrt build I could try that is known to not have a 72Mb connection restriction?

Many thanks.
zoo7suit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
zoo7suit wrote:
I just put fractal 20979 on my router and have a problem. All of my windows laptops connect at 72Mb despite setting channel widths to 40Mhz (only 2.4Ghz enabled on the router). All three laptop NICs tried have dual channel capability (and are different manufacturers and models).


I managed to get onto build 20801 and presto, 150Mb connections. Seems 20979 might have a channel width restriction. Still wouldn't mind finding out the magic sequence to go back to Merlin though.

Transfer speeds on all wireless devices (phones, laptops, playstation, client bridge router) all looking good, except....

One laptop, which shows the connection at 150Mb on the laptop and thereabouts on the RTN66U, downloads a test file at 700Kbs! It will upload at about 6Mb (which is around half what I'd expect but OK), but the download speed is not going to fly. Its a Windows7 machine with a Realtek8191SE integrated NIC. I guess my question is; does anyone know if this card/OS doesn't like the hardware or the firmware. If the hardware, I'll have to suck it up, but if the firmware, I'm back to my first question about trying to go back to something else.
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
zoo7suit wrote:
I managed to get onto build 20801 and presto, 150Mb connections. Seems 20979 might have a channel width restriction. Still wouldn't mind finding out the magic sequence to go back to Merlin though.


I see no reason for the Firmware Recovery tool to not work. Try the procedure I posted in this thread.
bcmalloy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jul 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:15    Post subject: Fractal build issues Reply with quote
I tried Fractals latest build

Had all sorts of weird issues, freezing web interface, constant long pauses ect

After upgrading My CFE to 1.0.1.3 using these instructions
http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=8259

So I tried KingKong Build 20575 64k as posted
on BasCom's description

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/kingkong-nv64k-broadcom.bin

Works awesome, Been running for two days smooth
web interface does what it should.

Anyone tried the latest KingKong Build?
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/


Last edited by bcmalloy on Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:59; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 3387
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:15    Post subject: Re: Fractal build issues Reply with quote
bcmalloy wrote:
I tried Fractals latest build

Had all sorts of weird issues, freezing web interface, constant long pauses ect

After upgrading My CFE to 1.0.1.3 using these instructions
http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=8259

So I tried KingKong Build 20575 64k as posted
on BasCom's description

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r20575/kingkong-nv60k-broadcom.bin

Works awesome, Been running for two days smooth
web interface does what it should.


Anyone tried the latest KingKong Build?
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/


You linked to an nv60k build that you are using on your 64k nvram router?
lillypad_33
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey Guys...
I've got a question....

I've set the N66u up as a wireless repeater, but it will only repeat on the 5Ghz channel after setting up a virtual interface.

Is there any way to repeat the 2.4Ghz?
bcmalloy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jul 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:00    Post subject: Re: Fractal build issues Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
bcmalloy wrote:
I tried Fractals latest build

Had all sorts of weird issues, freezing web interface, constant long pauses ect

After upgrading My CFE to 1.0.1.3 using these instructions
http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=8259

So I tried KingKong Build 20575 64k as posted
on BasCom's description

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r20575/kingkong-nv60k-broadcom.bin

Works awesome, Been running for two days smooth
web interface does what it should.


Anyone tried the latest KingKong Build?
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/


You linked to an nv60k build that you are using on your 64k nvram router?


Well spotted, link updated, I used this one
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/kingkong-nv64k-broadcom.bin

working great
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/13/13) kingkong
Time: 17:01:37 up 2 days, 3:33, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7389
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:57    Post subject: Re: Fractal build issues Reply with quote
bcmalloy wrote:
Malachi wrote:
bcmalloy wrote:
I tried Fractals latest build

Had all sorts of weird issues, freezing web interface, constant long pauses ect

After upgrading My CFE to 1.0.1.3 using these instructions
http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=8259

So I tried KingKong Build 20575 64k as posted
on BasCom's description

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r20575/kingkong-nv60k-broadcom.bin

Works awesome, Been running for two days smooth
web interface does what it should.


Anyone tried the latest KingKong Build?
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/


You linked to an nv60k build that you are using on your 64k nvram router?


Well spotted, link updated, I used this one
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/r21395/kingkong-nv64k-broadcom.bin

working great
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/13/13) kingkong
Time: 17:01:37 up 2 days, 3:33, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00


Must be a fluke then with the build you linked, the RT-N66U's 64k nvram hasn't been added to dd-wrt's main branch for nv64k build support, that is why if you look in the dir where the build you linked is, there are RT-N66U specific builds in there to reflect the change... Those are the builds specially patched to reflect the CFE upgrade to 64k nvram, and must be used on the RT-N66U until native 64k nvram is added to the main dd-wrt branch for compiling.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 94, 95, 96 ... 151, 152, 153  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 95 of 153
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum