Asus RT-AC56U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Snoopo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:31    Post subject: Asus RT-AC56U Reply with quote
Hi,
I just ordered the
Asus RT-AC56U as it will fit my home needs (I don't really need external antennas and so usb3.0 won by the decision : ))
As BS recommended that one and there are builds for this device I like to ask you if there are people around this forum to share experience with this device.

Well, this device will be my first asus one (sticked with a tplink for a while, but it is such unstable...). What flashing method is recommended? Can the dd-wrt image (trx file) simply get flashed by stock asus FW-UI?
Sponsor
jackykoning
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 May 2013
Posts: 136
Location: The Nederlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
wiki recommends putting asus in recovery mode and then flash... I did not care, web flash. done

the trx file can be used.
it can be downloaded here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/05-27-2013-r21676/asus-rt-ac56u/

_________________
Hi Smile
Asus RT-AC56U build 24865M kong
Asus RT-AC66U build tomatoUSB shibby
Linksys E3000 permabrick
Linksys E900 build tomatoUSB shibby
Linksys wrt160nv3 tomatoUSB shibby
Sitecom wl-309 stock firmware
Snoopo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 13:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cool, thanks.
I've read around the net - very cool that it will be that easy.
Well, does someone know where to get the original firmware from asus? Currently they don't provide any. In case of "emergency" it would be nice t have a recovery image.

edit: I got the original by cat-ing it into a usb drive yay.


Last edited by Snoopo on Wed Jul 10, 2013 22:15; edited 1 time in total
Snoopo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well. it seems with the 21676 build I cannot print. usually I was used using hp jetdirect socket printing to 192.168.1.1:9100 also having service - usb - usb core and usb printing support activated, the device listens on port 9100.

But as the device has 2 USB ports I guess there is possibly a difficulty choosing the correct plug..!?
Well, if I send a printing document it seems not to work. nothing is printing...

Can we handle this. which more information do you need?

edit:
got the log:
Code:

Jul 11 05:25:41 tackaman lpr.err p9100d[2313]: /dev/lp0: No such device
Jul 11 05:25:41 tackaman lpr.err p9100d[2313]: /dev/lp0: No such device, will try opening later


Hmm ok. it seems it really does not detect the printer connected:
$ cat /proc/bus/usb/devices
Code:

T:  Bus=03 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=5000 MxCh= 1
B:  Alloc=  0/800 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 3.00 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=03 MxPS= 9 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0003 Rev= 3.09
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 3.9.4 xhci_hcd
S:  Product=xHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:0b.0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   4 Ivl=256ms

T:  Bus=02 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=480  MxCh= 0
B:  Alloc=  0/800 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=01 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0002 Rev= 3.09
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 3.9.4 xhci_hcd
S:  Product=xHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:0b.0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   4 Ivl=256ms

T:  Bus=01 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=480  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  0/800 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0002 Rev= 3.09
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 3.9.4 ehci_hcd
S:  Product=EHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:0a.1
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   4 Ivl=256ms


(its on Bus=01 connected)
Snoopo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I found out that my (old) printer only speaks usb 1.1. Is it possible, that the Router asuswrt rt-ac56u does not speak usb 1.1 anymore?
If I connect USB storage sticks

the log looks like:
Code:
Jul 11 18:23:37 tackaman kern.info kernel: usb 1-2: new high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-pci


If I connect the printer: nothing happens, nada. As well: after unplugging the printer device, the usb port seems to be blocked: connecting the usb stick again also fails. only reboot of the router solves to get back.
unplugging/plugging the usb stick works well...

Hopefully this doesn't keep a monologue Smile
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 840

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
this may sound unintuitive but maybe you need to try an older build. i recall some of the older builds had a check box in USB support for USB 1.1 devices. May have been removed in later builds? not certain as I don;t use the printing.

also, I don;t believe the USB ports in DD-WRT are meant to be plug and play. so in order for it work correctly, you need to have it plugged in and powered on before powering on the router. again not certain because all my experience has been with USB hard drives.

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
In order to mount a drive greater than 2 TB, you need to use a 3.x Kernel build.

In order to get a 3.x kernel build onto the Asus RT-N16, you need to go from a 2.6 kernel build to 3.x 21530 then to the latest. NVRAM gets expanded to 64K.

Don;t try to flash a build bigger than the Flash Ram on your router or you will have a bricked router.

Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24-K26/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K26/
ftp://ftp.basmaf.com/Fractal_Builds/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x KongAC 24200 w/ 2.7 TB USB Drive(NTFS)
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 2387

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 20:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know how much older of a build he can try. That router model is new.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 840

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 21:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
i guess that was an older compatible build existed. Maybe the OP needs to consider trying a newer printer then....
_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
In order to mount a drive greater than 2 TB, you need to use a 3.x Kernel build.

In order to get a 3.x kernel build onto the Asus RT-N16, you need to go from a 2.6 kernel build to 3.x 21530 then to the latest. NVRAM gets expanded to 64K.

Don;t try to flash a build bigger than the Flash Ram on your router or you will have a bricked router.

Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24-K26/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K26/
ftp://ftp.basmaf.com/Fractal_Builds/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x KongAC 24200 w/ 2.7 TB USB Drive(NTFS)
Snoopo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks guys.
I went the way testing with another printer having usb 2.0... that worked well.
It obviously seems to be an usb 1.1 issue.
Well, the printer is old, does not print well... I just ordered a little newer one that can usb 2.0 Smile
chrizz-at
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 14:42    Post subject: optware on rt-ac56u? Reply with quote
Hi is there anything like optware on asus rt-ac56u?

I need to run nfs and mysql on my router..

Any ideas?

Thanks a lot
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 18:54    Post subject: Re: optware on rt-ac56u? Reply with quote
chrizz-at wrote:
Hi is there anything like optware on asus rt-ac56u?

I need to run nfs and mysql on my router..

Any ideas?

Thanks a lot


Yes, look for mbwe-bluering. This is what Asus is using for that router.
chrizz-at
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi RMerlin,

i have found ists implemented in your build

But i have some troubles with that.
I cant auto start mysql on boot.. ?
Script in /opt/etc/init.d/S70mysqld isnt started on boot..

And the xbmc running on rasberry pi doesnt find nfs..
exports are made via webinterface..

When i do showmount on rasperry

pi@raspbmc:~$ showmount -e 192.168.1.1
Export list for 192.168.1.1:
/tmp/mnt/WD 192.168.1.0/24

but in xmbc i cant select it.. its doing nothing.. Sad

EDIT: ok, now i got it - i put sh /opt/etc/init.d/S70mysqld start in /jffs/scripts/post-mount and now it works - mysql is started automatically.

But i got Problems with nfs - after reboot it isnt running - but wenn i go to webinterface - Servers Center - NFS Exports and only click accept/OK then it works with the exports..
I dont know why - how can i get this in my post-mount script to restart nfs service?
messerchmidt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jan 2012
Posts: 114
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
the rt56u working with ddwrt yet?
Snoopo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 13:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
messerchmidt wrote:
the rt56u working with ddwrt yet?


I am running build 22118 on this router nearly without problems. But I must say I run it with a basic set up and only run dd-wrt as I am used to it since v24sp1 although I do not really have a need for it Smile

well... there is sometimes a Problem that the router reboots itself after about 2-4 days. until that it takes about 1 hour where it seems to have a "100% cpu" problem and the router cannot be accessed. As I am not always at home when this happens (i only see in uptime that it must have rebooted...) I currently was not able to analyze it properly. Maybe I am going to nfs-mount some logs and statistics next time to see what happens.
currently I prepare to upgrade to 23204
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum