DDNS and freedns.afraid.org

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
kromega
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, had it wrong in the host name, works now... thanks all.
F
Sponsor
ciorik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi , I need your help.

I have a linksys 160nl router. I have updated firmware to dd-wrt and i enabled via bios WOL option for my home pc. Then I've created an account on freedns.afraid.org in order to be able to access my home router then to be able to wake my pc via router interface and to connect remotely to it. Seems that dyndns no longer has free accounts which I knew they worked so I've created via this dnd updater account. All work fine on host(router), Ip updates itself but I am not able to access my router via http://xxx.mooo.com:8080. I have ping reply on my remote location from router/home Ip but still I am not able to access it. Below are print screens taken remotely from home via teamviewer from router. Any ideas?


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
lansharked
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Mar 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Somehow, the first time I had gotten a truncated hash from the freedns page. I got the full one and now the login errors are gone.

When logged in, make sure you check the 'Direct URL' link next to your hostname on the Dynamic DNS page. (It starts with: http://freedns.afraid.org/dynamic/update.php?)

What follows after '.php?' is your full hash.
drizar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Apr 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
What I can do if the full hash is too long for the box?

The Host name box only accept 48 chars and just the hash are 45, too long to place the domainname.com + ,

wrt54gs v6 v1.52.8
Dolbie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 19:45    Post subject: Re: DDNS and freedns.afraid.org Reply with quote
flyingtrapeze wrote:
in the hostname field, put in both the hostname and the hash value from freedns.afraid.org

e.g.
hostname: mydomainname.com,ABC12345OkUbq1

the hash value is available from the Dynamic DNS screen on freedns.afraid.org

Thank you!! Reading and acting on this marked the end of much wailing and gnashing of teeth!
rogerhu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:48    Post subject: Afraid.org and hash truncation issue Reply with quote
The issue with Afraid.org and truncating hashes is caused by bug in the DD-WRT code assuming the fixed length of 36 characters: http://hustoknow.blogspot.com/2013/12/dd-wrt-and-truncating-hashes.html

I've submitted a patch at https://github.com/mirror/dd-wrt/pull/5.
dhighway
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2014 13:43    Post subject: Manual Edit of Hash fixes this error for freedns.afraid.org Reply with quote
I had this issue running V24-sp2 on a Cisco E3000. Based on the info found on this thread, here are the detailed steps I used to ultimately fix it:
1. log into your freedns.afraid.org account
2. click on "Dynamic DNS" (left-side navigation)
3. on the line corresponding to the domain alias in question, get the hash value by hovering over "Direct URL" link (or click through it):
http://freedns.afraid.org/dynamic/update.php?VHJmOQdxMzFVMVtBQUxET0dsSToxMTYwNzE1Ng==
4. once you obtain the full/correct hash, manually enter it into DD-WRT into the "Host Name" field, as in:
myname.afraid.org,VHJmOQdxMzFVMVtBQUxET0dsSToxMTYwNzE1Ng==
5. click "Apply Settings" button at bottom
6. the response dialog should now reflect a successful DDNS update
(n.b. hash above is a dummy, shown merely as an example)

Hope this helps someone!
celem
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 14:02    Post subject: freedns.afraid.org with dd-wrt Reply with quote
I was only successful getting freedns.afraid.org working with dd-wrt with the following entry:

DD-WRT Setup for freedns.afraid.org
----------------
DDNS Service: Custom
DYNDNS Server: freedns.afraid.org
Username: myloginname
Password: mypassword
Hostname: @
URL: http://freedns.afraid.org/dynamic/update.php?djQJSmswQ1FiMXlxOUtJNTJBYUc6MTMzOBMxMQ==

--------NOTE-------
The URL was obtained from the address bar by clicking Direct Link in my page on freedns.afraid.org
carloher
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:57    Post subject: Re: freedns.afraid.org with dd-wrt Reply with quote
celem wrote:
I was only successful getting freedns.afraid.org working with dd-wrt with the following entry:

DD-WRT Setup for freedns.afraid.org
----------------
DDNS Service: Custom
DYNDNS Server: freedns.afraid.org
Username: myloginname
Password: mypassword
Hostname: @
URL: http://freedns.afraid.org/dynamic/update.php?djQJSmswQ1FiMXlxOUtJNTJBYUc6MTMzOBMxMQ==

--------NOTE-------
The URL was obtained from the address bar by clicking Direct Link in my page on freedns.afraid.org


I had the same problem in my TP-Link WDR3600 while trying to update my freedns.afraid.org ddns domain.
Problem was solved by configuring custom ddns service as you described.

Edit: I have DD-WRT build 24118. This is configuration I use:
Quote:

DDNS Service: custom
DYNDNS Server: freedns.afraid.org
Username: guest
Password: guest
Hostname: yourhostname
URL: http://freedns.afraid.org/dynamic/update.php?[HASHFORYOURDOMAIN]

Actually, this service does not require username, password, or hostname for updates.


Last edited by carloher on Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:29; edited 2 times in total
derchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 13:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry to post to this very old thread.
But does anyone know how I would go an update several entries at the same time.

In my case I have an A and AAAA record which would need to be updated with current values from Router.
carloher
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
derchris wrote:
Sorry to post to this very old thread.
But does anyone know how I would go an update several entries at the same time.

In my case I have an A and AAAA record which would need to be updated with current values from Router.


with dns-o-matic ( https://www.dnsomatic.com/ ) you can do that. You configure your domains in dns-o-matic. In your router you set your dns-o-matic account to update all your domains.

Help to configure:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Dynamic_DNS#DNS-O-Matic
https://www.dnsomatic.com/wiki/dd-wrt
derchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is a little bit overkill to use another service with another account, to update 2x single entries with freedns.afraid.org.
Looks like I have to check their HTTP update procedure, and get a script ready.
carloher
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 16:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
derchris wrote:
It is a little bit overkill to use another service with another account, to update 2x single entries with freedns.afraid.org.
Looks like I have to check their HTTP update procedure, and get a script ready.


Do you want to update 2 different domains from freedns.afraid.org? so, it is easier. You just have to activate option "Link updates of the same IP together?" under "dynamic dns" menu in freedns panel.
derchris
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nope, same DNS.
Just 2 Records, A and AAAA.
But I got it working now.
carloher
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 21:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
derchris wrote:
Nope, same DNS.
Just 2 Records, A and AAAA.
But I got it working now.


You could share your solution to help other users having same issue
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum