DDNS Updater problem

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 17:00    Post subject: DDNS Updater problem Reply with quote
Hi,

I tried such everything but can't run the updater.
I have a DLINK DIR-320
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896
Chip: Broadcom BCM5354 chip rev 3

DDNS:
Service: Custom
Server: updates.dnsomatic.com
User name: ****
Password ****
Host name: all.dnsomatic.com
URL: /nic/update?

Do not use external ip check: NO
Force Update Interval: 1

I got always this error (which means for me, that INADYN can't retrieve my IP from the checkip.dyndns.org service):
Code:

INADYN: Started 'INADYN Advanced version 1.96-ADV' - dynamic DNS updater.
INADYN:IP: Error '0x2' resolving host name 'checkip.dyndns.org'
W: DYNDNS: Error 'RC_IP_INVALID_REMOTE_ADDR' (0x12) when talking to IP server
W:'RC_IP_INVALID_REMOTE_ADDR' (0x12) updating the IPs. (it 0)


If I switch the don't use external ip check to 'YES', updater try update with IP 0.0.0.0 to which I get "invalid IP" what I think is correct but I need to get my IP from checkip.dyndns.org so I switched it back to 'NO' as is by default.

Then I tried edit resolv.conf as:
Code:

domain dyndns.org
nameserver 204.13.248.116


But still not working. Please help


Last edited by autocar on Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:55; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
okay, I does some nslookup via telnet and got this result:
Code:

nslookup checkip.dyndns.org
Server: 0.0.0.0
Adress 1: 0.0.0.0
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 23:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
ping > not working
wget data from url > not working too...

is there an serious problem with working with network??
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
...

Last edited by autocar on Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:55; edited 1 time in total
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2019
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your first problem is that you did not post enough information. It is likely that you have a build in which the DDNS client is broken. Please post your firmware build number for further help.

Second, your four posts in one day is not enough time for someone to actually try to help you. If you want quick answers, check the "Peacock" thread (see signature) and the other announcements at the top of this forum (Broadcom forum).

Just chill for a bit. That always helps.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
thank you. I updated FW version in first post, pleas check it.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7041

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
It will help you if you configure normal DNS settings.
checkip.dyndns.org resolves fine on my router but I do of course configure Basic settings before trying to configure other settings.
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I’m using 21676 giga on a RT-AC66U with all the same settings except the host name. I do not use all.dnsomatic.com, but rather only the host name and not the fully qualified URL host.domain. It is working correctly for me.

My guess is there is something else wrong with your setup which is affecting DDNS.

_________________
Asus ac68r - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_OLDD (06/13/14) kongac - build 24345
Asus ac66u - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_OLDD (06/07/14) kongac - build 24200
Repeater Bridge(s)
Linksys e4200 rm - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys e2000 v1 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys WRT610N v2 >> e3000 - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
my router is configured as switch and the DHCP server is disabled (the primary router is the DHCP server on my network).

I tried turning off all firewalls on primary router but without any changes. Are there used any special ports for retrieving hostnames, IPs, etc. that can be blocked?

Here is a shot of my basic settings:
http://s17.postimg.org/dsjaikk7z/router_1.jpg
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have your WAN setting disabled.

It needs to be enabled for DDNS to work.

_________________
Asus ac68r - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_OLDD (06/13/14) kongac - build 24345
Asus ac66u - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_OLDD (06/07/14) kongac - build 24200
Repeater Bridge(s)
Linksys e4200 rm - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys e2000 v1 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys WRT610N v2 >> e3000 - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
autocar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 17:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
tried enabling WAN and setup first as "static IP" and next as "Auto config - DHCP" but no setting was working.

Isn't there some problem with network? I can ping all computers on my local area network but cannot ping anything outside.
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
what are your trying to accomplish?

in order for DDNS to work in DD-WRT on the router, I believe the router needs to be facing the internet-which doesn;t sound likely if you had WAN disabled or did not even have a network cable plugged into the WAN port.

Could you draw a picture of your network?

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
In order to mount a drive greater than 2 TB, you need to use a 3.x Kernel build.

In order to get a 3.x kernel build onto the Asus RT-N16, you need to go from a 2.6 kernel build to 3.x 21530 then to the latest. NVRAM gets expanded to 64K.

Don;t try to flash a build bigger than the Flash Ram on your router or you will have a bricked router.

Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24-K26/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K26/
ftp://ftp.basmaf.com/Fractal_Builds/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x KongAC 24200 w/ 2.7 TB USB Drive(NTFS)
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is the basic setup I use:

{Internet}
|
[ISP Router/DSL]
---Ethernet cable from ISP Router connected to WAN Port on DD-WRT Router---
|
[DD-WRT Router]
WAN port enabled (possible to use either static IP or Automatic Configuration DHCP)
Make sure you have internet access before trying to configure DDNS

_________________
Asus ac68r - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_OLDD (06/13/14) kongac - build 24345
Asus ac66u - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_OLDD (06/07/14) kongac - build 24200
Repeater Bridge(s)
Linksys e4200 rm - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys e2000 v1 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys WRT610N v2 >> e3000 - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
so it looks like you have a ISP router connected to a DD-WRT router. I think the ddns service needs to run on the ISP Router/DSL unit and you won;t be able to use the DDNS client on DD-WRT Router. Someone correct meif I am wrong but I don;t think the DD-WRT DDNS client works this way.

if the ISP Router doesn't have a DDNS client, you might have to use one installed on a PC. All the DDNS client does is report back your routers ISP assigned ip address to their service so you can have an easy to use "friendly name".

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
In order to mount a drive greater than 2 TB, you need to use a 3.x Kernel build.

In order to get a 3.x kernel build onto the Asus RT-N16, you need to go from a 2.6 kernel build to 3.x 21530 then to the latest. NVRAM gets expanded to 64K.

Don;t try to flash a build bigger than the Flash Ram on your router or you will have a bricked router.

Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24-K26/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K26/
ftp://ftp.basmaf.com/Fractal_Builds/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x KongAC 24200 w/ 2.7 TB USB Drive(NTFS)
jrscs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
madman999 wrote:
so it looks like you have a ISP router connected to a DD-WRT router. I think the ddns service needs to run on the ISP Router/DSL unit and you won;t be able to use the DDNS client on DD-WRT Router. Someone correct meif I am wrong but I don;t think the DD-WRT DDNS client works this way.


I have it connected that way and it's been working that way for over 3 years.

_________________
Asus ac68r - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_OLDD (06/13/14) kongac - build 24345
Asus ac66u - DD-WRT v24-K3_AC_OLDD (06/07/14) kongac - build 24200
Repeater Bridge(s)
Linksys e4200 rm - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys e2000 v1 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Linksys WRT610N v2 >> e3000 - DD-WRT v24 (4/18/14) NEWD-2_K3.x_mega - build 23919
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum