Buffalo WHR-HP-GN wireless problems with builds 14998, 17135

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 14:52    Post subject: Buffalo WHR-HP-GN wireless problems with builds 14998, 17135 Reply with quote
I am testing this unit with the Buffalo's dd-wrt builds.

I first found that if I use Wiviz survey, the router WLAN TX power drops to something like -95dBm (ie, drops connection). Reset or re-apply wireless setting restores the service.
It happened with build 14998 as well as 17135.
Tried 30/30/30 reset. Not success.

Then I read somewhere it could be a problem related with using BGN mixed (i.e. madwifi driver) (I had it set at N, 20MHz, channel 2, WPA2-PSK), so I changed to BG mixed. But it showed an additional second issue: the channel is auto (11<->6) regardless I set it to be #2.

Any ideas on how to fix this two issues?

PS. Other than that, the non-wireless aspects of build 17135 seems stable (at least for 8 days).

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54GL, WRT150N, WL-520gU, DIR-600 B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3302...
Working with: F7D3301 among others.


Last edited by feliciano on Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:30; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I made some progress on the Wi-viz issue.

I found is somehow related with the encryption choosed:
a) If I set wpa2-psk (TKIP+AES), the signal drops after a few seconds after opening Wiviz survey.
b) If I set wpa-psk, the signal levels goes up and down, and hopping between channels, but without dropping connections inmediately. However, Windows 7 N clients gets disconnected after a while, and Windows XP G clients keeps associated but unable to even ping the router. It remains that way after closing Wiviz survey.

To restore the unit to its right state either one have to power cycle it, or re-apply wireless settings.

Note1: I opened ticket 0004147 at mantis.

Note2: I found the Wi-viz GUI is a little buggy with chrome: the objets tend to get stuck at the edges of the window.

EDIT: With wpa2-personal+AES, both clients remains connected, but the client running the Wiviz window stop communicating. Windows 7 IE8 resumes connection after a few seconds, Windows 7 chrome12 resumes connection after a minute or two, Windows XP FF5 keeps isolated. In any case the connection is unstable after that. Have to re-apply wireless settings to normalize.

Ideas, anyone?

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54GL, WRT150N, WL-520gU, DIR-600 B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3302...
Working with: F7D3301 among others.
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Made more tests.

I've found that wpa2-personal+AES gives me the more stable scenario so far.

Seen different behaviors with different combinations of OS/browser, this time I tried with ubuntu/ff3.6. In this case, when I open Wiviz, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. On the other hand, sometimes I get disconnected until I close Wiviz, while the other times keep connected, but with packet loss and/or ping replies as high as 5s (right, 5000ms), average 4s. Then the router's cpu load is around 0.16,0.14,0.10. If I re-aplly wireless settings, the ping response time backs to it's normal 1.4ms or so. Other times the router appears to normalize itself after a couple of minutes.

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54GL, WRT150N, WL-520gU, DIR-600 B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3302...
Working with: F7D3301 among others.
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 3:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Keep testing. Ubuntu with firefox3.6

Taking appart the fact that some security settings makes the problem worst than others, it seems a slowdown when I open Wiviz, at the point of not being capable of showing the expected results and/or dropping packets and/or connections. And some time is required to recover afterwards (or reset the wl0).

In fact, the cpu load start to climb as soon as I hit Wiviz survey. I made the following measurements (wired) with approx. 10 seconds separation:

Code:

root@router:~# cat /proc/loadavg
0.00 0.02 0.05 1/31 13323
*rem I started Wiviz here, then:
0.23 0.07 0.06 5/35 13361
0.43 0.12 0.08 2/35 13382
0.56 0.16 0.09 2/35 13397
0.62 0.19 0.10 2/35 13414
0.68 0.21 0.11 2/35 13429
0.73 0.24 0.12 2/35 13470
*rem My connection dropped around here, then:
0.79 0.28 0.13 4/35 13485
0.82 0.30 0.14 4/35 13500
0.85 0.32 0.15 2/35 13517
*rem Tried to reconnect around here, several times. No success
0.87 0.34 0.16 4/35 13532
0.89 0.37 0.16 2/35 13553
1.15 0.45 0.19 2/35 13568
1.36 0.51 0.22 2/35 13583
1.38 0.54 0.23 2/35 13600
1.32 0.56 0.24 2/35 13615
1.35 0.59 0.25 2/35 13632
*rem forgot about reconnecting, then:
1.27 0.61 0.26 2/35 13671
1.23 0.62 0.27 2/35 13688
1.20 0.63 0.28 4/35 13705
1.35 0.70 0.31 2/35 13726
1.27 0.71 0.32 1/32 13745
*rem close Wiviz window
1.07 0.69 0.31 1/31 13754
0.91 0.66 0.31 1/31 13763
0.77 0.64 0.30 1/31 13770
0.60 0.61 0.30 1/31 13779
0.50 0.59 0.29 1/31 13788
0.39 0.56 0.29 1/31 13817
0.33 0.54 0.28 1/31 13824
0.28 0.52 0.28 1/31 13833
0.24 0.50 0.28 1/31 13840
0.20 0.49 0.27 1/31 13847
0.17 0.47 0.27 1/31 13854
0.14 0.45 0.27 1/31 13863
0.12 0.44 0.26 1/31 13870
0.10 0.42 0.26 1/31 13879
0.08 0.41 0.26 1/31 13886
*rem and so on to 0.00


So: is it possible a fix or a workaround to this?
c'mmon! is a 400MHz processor! (Atheros, I know, but anyways...).

And for the other issue? (the channel auto even if I set manually, within BG network mode)

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54GL, WRT150N, WL-520gU, DIR-600 B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3302...
Working with: F7D3301 among others.
95salo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 17:05    Post subject: redes vecinas abiertas Reply with quote
feliciano como debería configurar el dd-wrt para acceder a Internet , a travez de una red vecina abierta , en que modo debo configurar, teniendo en cuenta que cuento con una antena wifi hechiza
gracias
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
@95salo
No hay problema. Te puedo ayudar. Pero por favor plantéame la pregunta en el foro en español (preguntas generales), cosa de no desvirtuar el problema que estoy planteando en este thread. (De hecho, puedes editar la categoría de tu pregunta, o puedes eliminarla y replantearla por allá). Gracias.


For the english readers: I'm telling this guy please don't hijack this thread.

Going back to the problems stated here,
I made another test: Another router with almost the same hardware: TL-WR740N v3. Same behavior too, this time with build 16754 std, even without encription.

WHR-HP-GN cpuinfo
system type : Atheros AR7240 rev 1.2 (0x00c2)
processor : 0
cpu model : MIPS 24Kc V7.4
BogoMIPS : 266.24
CPUClock : 400
wait instruction : yes
microsecond timers : yes
tlb_entries : 16
extra interrupt vector : yes
hardware watchpoint : yes, count: 4, address/irw mask: [0x0000, 0x0ff8, 0x0ff8, 0x0ff8]
ASEs implemented : mips16
shadow register sets : 1
core : 0
VCED exceptions : not available
VCEI exceptions : not available

WR740N v3 cpuinfo
system type : Atheros AR7241 rev 1.1 (0x0101)
processor : 0
cpu model : MIPS 24Kc V7.4
BogoMIPS : 266.24
CPUClock : 400
wait instruction : yes
microsecond timers : yes
tlb_entries : 16
extra interrupt vector : yes
hardware watchpoint : yes, count: 4, address/irw mask: [0x0ffc, 0x0ffc, 0x0ffb, 0x0ffb]
ASEs implemented : mips16
shadow register sets : 1
core : 0
VCED exceptions : not available
VCEI exceptions : not available

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54GL, WRT150N, WL-520gU, DIR-600 B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3302...
Working with: F7D3301 among others.
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 703
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Man, this Atheros Carrier driver sucks!

No matter what settings I choose, even not running Wiviz survey, I had wireless connection drops every few hours (as long as N-mode is involved).

I will test with G-mode only, to see if Madwifi handles it better.

EDIT (dec-2011): Don´t want to make a new post to testify that the new build v.24SP2-MULTI-17798-std has allowed me to user N features of the router, and the WiViz seems to be partially working (ie heavy load to the cpu, but without crashing). 12 days up and counting. Thanks to the guy(s) who made this last build!

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54GL, WRT150N, WL-520gU, DIR-600 B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3302...
Working with: F7D3301 among others.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum