DDWRT OpenVPN client... selective local clients routing

lolcatz
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:28    Post subject: DDWRT OpenVPN client... selective local clients routing Reply with quote
Hello everyone!....

Today I would like to ask for some greatly appreciated help on how to do the following setup.

First of all, i would like to note that my technical knowledge is very limited. I always do my best to figure out most of the crazy stuff I'm trying to do.. but at this time, i realize this goes way out of my skills and network understanding.

Well, i have a VPN provider that works with the OpenVPN protocol, and this service provides me with several benefits while surfing the web. I'm used to connect to my VPN server using a software client in my PC... but the other day i was playing with the DDWRT GUI and found that this awesome firmware has a built-in vpn client!. I was completely curious about it, so i started playing around with this feature... don't ask me how i did it, but i finally got it to work using my certificates and keys... and... and stuff i don't even know how actually works.

The point is my router connects to the VPN server, and it re-routes ALL my Internet traffic through this openvpn connection. It's GREAT!!!... all my local clients, including the wifi ones (like my ipad) use the same VPN connection!!!

Now, here's the tricky part!.. and I'm pretty excited to learn a lot out of this setup. I don't even know if it's possible, but well... what i want to do is tell my router to route all the Internet traffic of one given, specific, local client through the OpenVPN connection... but not the other clients!!... I want some local clients to access the Internet through my IPS's nasty internet network, and other clients to use the OpenVPN link to the internet.