How do I move a paid license key?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
jarek7714
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 20:14    Post subject: How do I move a paid license key? Reply with quote
I have purchased license DD-WRT Professional + Superchannel Activation for x86 hardware I fell and I would like to transfer it to another product, can I make such a maneuver? (Air-live WL-9000AP >RSPro Ubiquiti) Question
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
you cant. the licence is bound to the hw.
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
slybunda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
what hardware is it bound to? the compact flash card or the ethernet mac address or something?
jarek7714
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 13:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad
jarek7714
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
you cant. the licence is bound to the hw.
In this case, I spent 25 euros senselessly senselessly installing DD-WRT licenses for the equipment in which the software was totally kicked from the beginning and who has never worked reliably, despite many updates. It is a pity that the shop is not so unambiguous information about this product. Yours! Jareq Evil or Very Mad
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
slybunda wrote:
what hardware is it bound to? the compact flash card or the ethernet mac address or something?


it bound to the ethernet mac address

jarek7714 wrote:
Sash wrote:
you cant. the licence is bound to the hw.
In this case, I spent 25 euros senselessly senselessly installing DD-WRT licenses for the equipment in which the software was totally kicked from the beginning and who has never worked reliably, despite many updates. It is a pity that the shop is not so unambiguous information about this product. Yours! Jareq Evil or Very Mad


dont blame us for your useless posts on your problem. i never saw needed information even when i gave u the links to read 1st. other useres have this unit up and running...

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
deweyhewson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 20:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash, why are you always a colossal prick in these forums?

Here we have paying customers asking for support on an issue, and you are nothing but rude and dismissive to them.

I just purchased three Superchannel licenses myself - a feature which is broken on every build for the last 6 months it should be pointed out - but knowing it is non-transferable if my hardware were to fail, and that support here is so horrid, I will be sure to take my business elsewhere next time around. I hear Ubiquiti devices work nicely, and they don't even make you pay to enable features...
mcmadpete
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 13:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
deweyhewson wrote:
Here we have paying customers asking for support on an issue, and you are nothing but rude and dismissive to them.

I just purchased three Superchannel licenses myself - a feature which is broken on every build for the last 6 months it should be pointed out...


We did do a lot of work integrating ath9k into dd-wrt. Because ath9k is not supporting SuperChannel we had to develop this feature. I'm not sure which builds you were using, in case these have been ath9k based it's likely that not everything was working.

The matter of moving a license is technically not trivial - especially when somebody claims that a device is broken. How to prove? We have been discussing several options but did not find something yet that's really working... In case of a broken device that falls under warranty we provide a new license when we get some RMA proof...
j911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could you not add some code into pro builds that dials home to check with a server if the key is already in use. If it hasnt been for lets say over 48 hours then a new key is issued.

If the old router does come back online same time as new key is being used then. Send command to old router to disable pro features and display license violation instead of trial message.

This should tie in to rma proof requirements if under warranty but most of us use old systems no longer under warranty...
j911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could you not add some code into pro builds that dials home to check with a server if the key is already in use. If it hasnt been for lets say over 48 hours then a new key is issued.

If the old router does come back online same time as new key is being used then. Send command to old router to disable pro features and display license violation instead of trial message.

This should tie in to rma proof requirements if under warranty but most of us use old systems no longer under warranty...
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
this would be easily hacked by blocking the device calling home. this is no option
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum