Wake on WAN not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
Epidural
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 22:03    Post subject: Wake on WAN not working Reply with quote
I've managed to get Wake on LAN working within the network (hence LAN) but I can't get WOW to work.

I've tried just about everything, but here is my current setup:

- DD-WRT v24 sp2 mini on an Asus RT-N10
- Port 9 forwarded to 192.168.1.254
- Static DHCP lease to 192.168.1.254 using intended WOL computer's MAC
- Startup command:
ip neigh change 192.168.1.254 lladdr ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff nud permanent dev br0
ip neigh add 192.168.1.254 lladdr ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff nud permanent dev br0
(ff:.. is replaced by real mac in same format)
- Using an Android app to send the magic packet to my network via 3G.

Now: the application sends fine when the phone is connected to the LAN and is sending to the broadcast address (192.168.1.255) and the computer awakens.

However: when sending over 3G, the router logs the incoming UDP request as follows:
Source IP Protocol Destination Port Number Rule
184.151.127.128 UDP discard Accepted

Why isn't it getting the magic packet to the LAN? The computer does not wake up when receiving the packet through WAN.

Not sure if it's of any consequence, but due to some other troubleshooting earlier, the firewall is turned off.


Any ideas?
Sponsor
mail2vrp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
checkout my solution in this forum : http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=702741#702741

its the 4th entry form the top. hope it works for you too..
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 2016

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
You used 3G as your example, which from experience w/ other users, seems to be a special case/problem (not sure why). So tell me first, does it work correctly from outside the WAN when using cable, dsl, fios, etc., iow, anything other than 3G.

I just don't want to waste time diagnosing a problem w/ the router setup only to find it's a problem unique to 3G (cellular).

FWIW, I have that same setup and it works fine here. But then I’m not using 3G either.
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 2016

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
P.S. I don’t know if it’s practical from the phone, but I also use SSH as an alternative to that method. It works just fine. The router should have a program called ether-wake (I assume it does, I’m using tomato and it does, and the firmware is similar enough I would think dd-wrt does to, or else install it as optware). Once I SSH into the router, I just use ether-wake and pass the MAC address of the machine I want to wake (I’ve even created and installed scripts for each machine as a convenience). You could do the same thing w/ a PPTP server on the router as well. Basically, you just need something that can get you on your router (hopefully in a secure fashion). From that point, it’s just a normal broadcast (x.x.x.255), and we know that always works.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum