Airmax tdma support

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices
Author Message
blue-yu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 May 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 10:45    Post subject: Airmax tdma support Reply with quote
Does ddwrt support ubiquity proprietary AIRMAX (TDMA) standard. My whole network is based on airmax, but i have plan to upgrade base stations to ddwrt.
Thanks...
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 12:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
we do not and nerver will be afaik
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!


Last edited by Sash on Mon May 28, 2012 19:58; edited 1 time in total
blue-yu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 May 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 18:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, but i didn't understand you Sad
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 19:54    Post subject: Re: Airmax tdma support Reply with quote
blue-yu wrote:
Does ddwrt support ubiquity proprietary AIRMAX (TDMA) standard. ..

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
blue-yu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 May 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, "afaik" acronym was confusing me Embarassed

To bad Crying or Very sad

We have around 80 base stations. Calculate that with licence+ super-channel...
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyway.
as u can read in the ubnt forums the airmax feature is not always the fastest option.
we do also have vlumes licences.
u should buy some test licences and test it by yourself

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
sarvani
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:53    Post subject: AIRMAX equvivalent on DD-WRT Reply with quote
we also have a similar requirement.

OK, "afaik" acronym was confusing me Embarassed


A simple and straight forward answer will help the new and junior users rather than using the terms like the one above.

Now the question is: In UBNT devices, for some extra features DD-WRT is preferred over AIR-OS. But in such cases we have to loose AIRMAX protocol which is said to be giving Extra throughput. What is the alternative to AIRMAX in DD-WRT ?? Or any ideas by DD-WRT to provide such feature as DD-wrt proprietary protocol to increase throughput??


Regards

AMARENDRA AV
SARVANI TELECOM
sarvani
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:41    Post subject: AIRMAX equvivalent protocol on DD-WRT Reply with quote
ANY REPLY ON MY QUESTION Mr.SASH? Wink
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 10:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
show me that airmax increases thoughput
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!


Last edited by Sash on Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:56; edited 1 time in total
sarvani
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please refer to my earlier word.

we have to loose AIRMAX protocol which is said to be giving Extra throughput.

Higher throughput by AIRMAX is the claim from UBNT. But not from me.

My question is Any such feature in DD-WRT for better throughput and interference mitigation.

Like NV2 in Mtik, OK? Smile

Regards
dannysk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Airmax does NOT give you any extra throughput in the way you think...

In normal wireless clients on an acces point can see each others packets and that way implent ways to stop clients from transmitting simultaniously....

In long range wifi, clients can NOT see each other, only the AP, thats where Airmax gets handy, it assigns time slots for each station, so they won't transmit simultaniously.......

This is really only good for PtmP, and will give better throughput for each client, if multiple clients is transmitting....

For dd-wrt with airmax, you should be able to get the ubnt sdk, and dd-wrt svn, and then copy over the driver from ubnt sdk and compile dd-wrt.
Not sure if this is posible, I have done it with openwrt but dd-wrt is somewhat more closed source...

You can read what tdma exactly is here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_division_multiple_access
andreiqc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 20:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
show me that airmax increases thoughput


Why ?
andreiqc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 20:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
we do not and nerver will be afaik


"afaik" stand for As Far As I Know.

How come ?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum