Vizio XWR100

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
nordberg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 20:51    Post subject: Vizio XWR100 Reply with quote
Does anyone know the specs on this router? Just saw one at Walmart for C$78. I know it claims to be dual band and has a USB port for connecting storage devices. Would like to know more about it though.

I am planning on getting an Asus rtn16, but it would be nice to know the story on the Vizio.
Sponsor
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here's a little more info:

Tech Specs

* • Wi-Fi: 802.11n, Dual-Band
* • Wi-Fi Frequency: 2.4GHz and 5GHz
* • Internet Ports: 1-10/100
* • Ethernet Ports: 4-10/100
* • USB Port: 1-USB 2.0
* • Operating System Report: Windows OS, MAC OS and Linux
* • Compliance: IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n Wi-Fi compliant, WPS
* • Certifications: FCC, CE, UL (Power Adapter)

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17528
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
do
http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-detection

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
dhc014
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
The FCC ID of the device is MXF-CXWR100, manufactured by Gemtek.

It contains all Atheros chips. All I can see are the AR9227 and the AR8236 10/100 fast ethernet switch.
mikeyman2171
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 29
Location: Jacksonville NC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 23:22    Post subject: I got one of these puppies out of curriosity and... Reply with quote
I just got one of the Vizio XWR100's out of curiosity, and its pretty good so far. It can set up 3 separate networks 1 5ghz 1 2.4 ghz and a legacy network also at 2.4 ghz so im pretty impressed. I am sure putting DD-WRT on this thing would make it INCREDIBLE, but I really dont feel like taking it apart to see how much ram is inside since it would take down my whole network right now. As it stands its still pretty good for a 60 buck device.
_________________
Semper Gumby
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17528
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
looks nice so far but without donated hw we wont have a port
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
craiggers14
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 0:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I bought this router the other day in Sam's Club for $69. Having issues with wireless dropping out (3x in less than a week). Specs are good and when it's up and running it's great.

I googled a bit and am pretty sure the RAM chip is Samsung part # K4H561638J-LCCC.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7272

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the router Gemtek made for Linksys and which was intended to become the WRT420 until Cisco drastically reduced the Cisco/Linksys router models.

I would guess based on the WRT400N and the bus type of the AR9227 that the 2nd radio chip is an AR9220.
A matching cpu for this bus type and without integrated switch and radios is AR7161, the same cpu as being used in WRT400N.

The Ram is indeed a Samsung K4H561638 of 32MB, flash is hopefully 8MB and not reduced in size.

Better photos anyone?

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
DoomPlague
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was going to set one of these up at an office and the thing desperately needs new firmware. It refused to work as a router without actually getting a valid internet address instead of a local one (this office's modem is in router mode and they cant get into it to change it. Probably have to have TWC change it). I couldn't connect to the web interface at all with a cable, even though it works fine as a switch. There are very few options on the thing and it seemed to me like the 4 ports and wireless are not even bridged.

Anyway, enough rambling. The newest firmware for it is about 4.6 MB, so I'm guessing its 8 MB of flash. It might be a great router with dd-wrt but until then...
evox2008
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sam's club is offering this router for $50

http://www.samsclub.com/sams/shop/product.jsp?productId=prod1580067&dblclick=true&pid=_DoubleClick_Affiliates
dbauhaus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:21    Post subject: Vizio XWR100 Reply with quote
Bought recently for $50 at Costco. Setup easy, works great with default settings. Setting to HTTPS killed performance, and prevented me from logging into router over wireless. Firmware update needed is my guess; none available now. Another note, my Linksys wrt54gs v1 or v3 with dual antennas and dd-wrt way outperforms the xwr100, but has no N. USB disk nice, works on Mac, but does not seem to work on PC's.
kingroach
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
does it has usb printer sharing?.. I have looked in the spec. sheet and cant find anything regarding printer sharing.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17528
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
no port without a hw donation
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
AWal_
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 22:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I now have this router in my possesion mainly as a WAP device, since it likes to drop connections at random when operating as the main router...anyways I have some selective board shots the people here might enjoy. Sorry about the quality, my scanners only stay in focus for paper (my older, better scanners went kaput ages ago).

AR7161:


AR8236:


AR9220:


AR9227:


Front (Top):


Back (Bottom):
AWal_
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 23:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
This Double Post is for seperation/clarity of contents

The firmware underneath all the ooh shiny is mips-linux-2.6.15 with the usual apps (busybox, iptables, etc.)

Current firmware vesion is 1.01.02 (built 9th Jun 2010)

Available here under the support tab

Direct Link

Mediafire Mirror


I have also discovered that Vizio has provided GPL code for this Router. I myself have not tried to build it, but it appears to be all in order, with some object files here-and-there (then again, what else what you'd expect these days).

Current build is also 1.01.02

Available here

Direct Link

Mediafire Mirror
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum