[SOLVED] Trouble going from Tomato to DD-WRT on E1000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 20:11    Post subject: [SOLVED] Trouble going from Tomato to DD-WRT on E1000 Reply with quote
I have 3 firmwares saved - Cisco, TomatoUSB, and DD-WRT. I installed each for the purpose of benchmarking. TomatoUSB was the last one I installed and all things considered, I liked DD-WRT the best. Tomato will not let me load either of the others though. It says "file contains invalid header"

Any idea what the problem may be?


Last edited by rfinley on Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:56; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10943
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 20:27    Post subject: Re: Trouble migrating from TomatoUSB to DD-WRT on Linksys E1 Reply with quote
rfinley wrote:
I have 3 firmwares saved - Cisco, TomatoUSB, and DD-WRT. I installed each for the purpose of benchmarking. TomatoUSB was the last one I installed and all things considered, I liked DD-WRT the best. Tomato will not let me load either of the others though. It says "file contains invalid header"

Any idea what the problem may be?


You must load a trailed build first...here is the current build list...it lists one for a v1 and another for a v2 of the e1000 unit....you must select the correct one for your device.

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2011/12-14-11-r18007/broadcom_K26/

BTW...you might want to go back to Linksys firmware before reflashing to dd-wrt....it is never wise to flash third party to another third party directly.


redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried flashing the file downloaded from the link above and it did not work. Sad
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10943
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
rfinley wrote:
I tried flashing the file downloaded from the link above and it did not work. Sad


How...by what method? tftp?

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tomato webUI/Administration/Upgrade/

Is the only way I know. Is that what I am doing wrong?
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10943
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would do it using the tftp.exe utility.

hard reset the router...then power cycle one last time...right when you plug it in...launch the firmware to the unit using tftp....read the peacock announcement regarding the use of tftp.exe utility.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm on a win7 box that cannot boot linux, which apparently won't work for tftp flash Sad
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7109

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Load original stock firmware onto the router, don't jump directly from one 3rd party firmware to another 3rd party firmware.

Get back for help here if you still have problem loading dd-wrt onto the router when it has stock firmware.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I redownloaded the original firmware and once again I got a message that said "File contains an invalid header" when I tried to load it.

This is the result everytime I try to flash any firmware since I installed Tomato.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
upload both the tomato build you flashed as well as the stock firmware to my ftp site.

I will modify the stock builds header so it will flash. Put both firmware's in the new uploads folder.

url = ftp://ftp.barryware.net

user name = dd-wrt
password = router

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Done.

Thank you for your continued help!
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
rfinley wrote:
Done.

Thank you for your continued help!


The modified stock linksys bin is in the same folder. It is called:

FW_E1000_2.1.02.005_US_MOD.bin

Reset the router to defaults, then flash via the tomato upgrade gui.

Are you in the US incase things go wrong? Razz

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
rfinley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Location: Earth mostly..

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Are you in the US incase things go wrong? Razz
Creepy..

You ARE the man though! Worked like a charm thank you! For the record, having compared everything today you technical support guys is what made DD-WRT the standout. You rock!

Thanks again.
lyrebird
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have exact the same issue. Have a e1000 v1 version. Flashed to tomato, but found repeater bridge mode is important to my home network. Want to flash to dd-wrt. But tomato web gui reports "File contains an invalid header". Please help.

My current tomato version is Tomato USB 1.27. Thanks.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 21:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
lyrebird wrote:
I have exact the same issue. Have a e1000 v1 version. Flashed to tomato, but found repeater bridge mode is important to my home network. Want to flash to dd-wrt. But tomato web gui reports "File contains an invalid header". Please help.

My current tomato version is Tomato USB 1.27. Thanks.


you need to flash back to stock firmware. Then install dd-wrt.

I put the modded stock linksys build back on my ftp site in the "new uploads" folder. Not really the right place but it is there for now.

as I explained in this thread, reset your router to defailts, then flash the modded stock build via the tomato upgrade gui.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum