Netgear WNR3500 v2.0 Brick (solved)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12748
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
How dor you remove the header from an image? Is it delete everything before HDR0?


yep.. however you are doing (attempting) flashing via the cfe. Typically, the data before HDR0 is needed so the cfe knows it is the right bin.

I know this is true for linksys devices. I don't have a lot of experience with netgear but I would be pretty sure it is the same.

It won't hurt to try. The data before HDR0 should be 32 bytes in length.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Sponsor
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Found out how. Tryed that and -writechecksum

Code:
CFE> flash -noheader -writechksum : flash1.trx
Reading :: Done. 3444736 bytes read
Programming...done. 3444736 bytes written
Write len/chksum offset @ 0x0034FFF8...done.
*** command status = 0
CFE> go
Checksum mismatch:
Image chksum: 0x8074EE40
Calc  chksum: 0x02C0010E
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:flash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: . 0 bytes read
Failed.
Could not load flash0.os:: Error
Start TFTP server
Reading ::

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's a long shot but have you tried to flash a dd-wrt trailed build just for kicks? I think it wouldn't hurt either..
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok, used dd-wrt.v24-17084_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR3500v2.chk, cut ou the header and used the previous flash command

Code:
CFE> flash -noheader -writechksum : flash1.trx
Reading :: Done. 3420160 bytes read
Programming...done. 3420160 bytes written
Write len/chksum offset @ 0x0034FFF8...done.
*** command status = 0
CFE> go
Checksum mismatch:
Image chksum: 0x8074EE40
Calc  chksum: 0x02C0010E
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:flash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: .. 3916 bytes read
Entry at 0x80001000
Closing network.
Starting program at 0x80001000
Linux version 2.6.24.111 (eko@dd-wrt) (gcc version 4.1.2) #3041 Tue May 17 16:40:36 CEST 2011
CPU revision is: 00019740


Am now running, dd-wrt. YEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Next issue

MAC Address are not correct, looking into that now. Would like any insight anybody can offer.



macs.png
 Description:
Incorrect mac address'
 Filesize:  7.17 KB
 Viewed:  2753 Time(s)

macs.png



_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki


Last edited by Dark_Shadow on Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:48; edited 1 time in total
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7020

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Stock firmware, don't strip the header and use the -writechecksum switch
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12748
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
instead'a cfe> go, use cfe> reboot, or just do a power cycle.

I have had problems with "go" from time to time. I quit using "go" a long time ago.

Just a suggestion..

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
CFE shows the correct mac

Code:
Device eth0:  hwaddr C0-3F-0E-AB-EC-84, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12748
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
CFE shows the correct mac

Code:
Device eth0:  hwaddr C0-3F-0E-AB-EC-84, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set


the macs are not in the cfe, well they (it) is but it doesn't do anything.. they are in one of the 15+ partitions.

This is very exciting! Smile

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
also tryed upgrading to 18024, GUI sayed failed. Seial output

Code:
upgrade_ver[v0.64.8] upgrade_ver[6408] intel_ver[14108] 4712_ver[15000]
function stop_snmp not found
function stop_pppoeserver not found
function stop_olsrd not found
function stop_openvpn not found
function stop_openvpnserver not found
function stop_freeradius not found
/tmp/uploadEWf72F: Bad trx header
uploading [3448940]
erase[65536]
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
gethostbyname: Network is unreachable

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Dark_Shadow wrote:
CFE shows the correct mac

Code:
Device eth0:  hwaddr C0-3F-0E-AB-EC-84, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set


the macs are not in the cfe, well they (it) is but it doesn't do anything.. they are in one of the 15+ partitions.

This is very exciting! Smile
macs are correct in the board_data as well, me and LOM checked
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Attempt to reload oem firmware through GUI failed
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2429
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Stock firmware, don't strip the header and use the -writechecksum switch
Using nonstripped oem firmware, back in the same spot

Code:
CFE> flash -noheader -writechksum : flash1.trx
Reading :: Done. 3444794 bytes read
Programming...done. 3444794 bytes written
Write len/chksum offset @ 0x0034FFF8...done.
*** command status = 0
CFE> go
Checksum mismatch:
Image chksum: 0x8074EE40
Calc  chksum: 0x01B700CF
Invalid boot block on disk
Start TFTP server
Reading ::

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seems that CFE is getting the checksum in the wrong place..

I don't know how the --writechecksum look for it..
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7020

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
LOM wrote:
Stock firmware, don't strip the header and use the -writechecksum switch
Using nonstripped oem firmware, back in the same spot

Code:
CFE> flash -noheader -writechksum : flash1.trx
Reading :: Done. 3444794 bytes read
Programming...done. 3444794 bytes written
Write len/chksum offset @ 0x0034FFF8...done.
*** command status = 0
CFE> go
Checksum mismatch:
Image chksum: 0x8074EE40
Calc  chksum: 0x01B700CF
Invalid boot block on disk
Start TFTP server
Reading ::


You can't use -noheader switch if the firmware has a header. Wink

Your wrong MAC addresses are caused by loading dd-wrt onto a virgin flash. dd-wrt doesn't read the boarddata but stock firmware does and then stores those MAC's in nvram. dd-wrt expects them to be in nvram, ie you have to load a stock firmware before loading dd-wrt.
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
My suggestion, my mistake, sorry Dark..
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum