AR670 not working in Repeater-Bridge with RT-N56U.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
crehder
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 15:40    Post subject: AR670 not working in Repeater-Bridge with RT-N56U. Reply with quote
my router:
Airlink101 AR670W
FCC ID: RRK-WRGN16
IC: 4833A-WRGN16
SN#:15050508289171

I bought an Airlink101 AR670W with the sole purpose of installing DD-WRT on it and using it as a repeater-bridge for my home audio/video system.

Firmware Versons I have tried: 14144, 14311, 16214, 14896. N-only and Open security on all. Version 14896 does not give accurate site survey anytime.

What I find so far:
Router in Repeater-bridge mode - No devices show in site survey. Client mode connects, repeater-bridge does not connect. When I "join", the router reverts back to the wireless setup page and client mode.
I've also tried WDS mode with no success. I can get the router to Client easily but I don't think Client will allow my devices to see LAN and internet so that doesn't help.

I have followed the instructions in these threads and many others to setup the router in Repeater-Bridge mode. I was not able to get the routers to associate or work
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=60458&highlight=wds
I also tried this method to get Repeater-Bridge mode to work as well.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

Can anybody walk me through getting my AR670 into a working Repeater-bridge? I've spent about 70 hours so far messing around with different settings/firmwares. I'm not a programmer but I will do whatever it takes including router commands if necessary.

I've seen several posts where people could not get this router to work in Repeater-Bridge mode so I'm hoping to figure it out and offer help with my solution. I'm willing to invest the time and effort necessary.
Sponsor
jorric
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jan 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:50    Post subject: Same problem Reply with quote
My airlink 101 ar670w only works in AP and Client Mode i've use build r13069 r15778
crehder
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I read in a post regarding DIR-615 repeater-bridge that somebody else had success in adding a bridge to fix their problem. It was in regards to setting up DIR-615s.

In Version 16454 and probably many other versions, It appears that the DD-WRT dashboard thinks it has the bridge set up and shows the bridge but its not really bridged. I performed the following step on both routers (WDS on 2ea. AR670W): Setup => Networking => Assign to Bridge => Add => Select "br0", Interface "ra0" => Apply Settings".

This alleviated the need for the any extra VAPs.

I will also add that I was able to get WDS to work with the RT-N56U -AR670 but security had to be disabled. Perhaps if I had known about the bridging problem I would have been more successful in getting the AR670 to work on my network. Now I have given it to a friend.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum