/mnt now on /tmp/mnt?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
facsi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Nov 2010
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:05    Post subject: /mnt now on /tmp/mnt? Reply with quote
This change appeared on newer builds after 17201. It breaks the usb mounting. Also, dd-wrt is mounting my 2 partitions on /opt. Cant mount on /mnt. Its making a mess on the files and folders and can only access 1 partition (the last mounted)
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11564
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 14:35    Post subject: Re: /mnt now on /tmp/mnt? Reply with quote
facsi wrote:
This change appeared on newer builds after 17201. It breaks the usb mounting. Also, dd-wrt is mounting my 2 partitions on /opt. Cant mount on /mnt. Its making a mess on the files and folders and can only access 1 partition (the last mounted)


Yeah...its a problem for sure....but this is what I created as a startup script....it now mounts correctly and I can access my \mnt data just fine.

redhawk


Code:

sleep 15
umount /opt
umount /opt
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part1 /opt
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part4 /mnt

_________________
The only stupid question....is the unasked one.
facsi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Nov 2010
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here it still mounts as /tmp/mnt. If im on root and do cd /mnt, it takes me to /tmp/mnt. And it only mounts if that folder exists.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11564
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
facsi wrote:
Here it still mounts as /tmp/mnt. If im on root and do cd /mnt, it takes me to /tmp/mnt. And it only mounts if that folder exists.


Well...that's true...my unit has /mnt linked directly to /tmp/mnt.

I did alter my startup script since I posted here. I am currently running....no issues on my RT-N16 with 18007 K26 mega build.

redhawk

Code:

sleep 15
umount /opt
umount /opt
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part1 /opt
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part3 /tmp/c
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part4 /mnt

_________________
The only stupid question....is the unasked one.
facsi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Nov 2010
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the help.
I manage to fix it. I had to include a mkdir /tmp/mnt before mounting on startup. I also disabled automount so i dont need to umount the /opt first.

Why do you mount a partition on tmp/c? I wish i could increase ram with the usb drive.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11564
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
facsi wrote:
Thanks for the help.
I manage to fix it. I had to include a mkdir /tmp/mnt before mounting on startup. I also disabled automount so i dont need to umount the /opt first.

Why do you mount a partition on tmp/c? I wish i could increase ram with the usb drive.


Its been awhile since I looked at it...but I'm pretty sure the /tmp/c is used by OTRW for swap space.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware%2C_the_Right_Way

redhawk

_________________
The only stupid question....is the unasked one.
jrussell88
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Setting up optware with a 16Gb USB flash drive on my Asus RT-N16 running R18024 following Frater's Optware The Right Way I had the same problem.

The two ext3 partitions for optware and data were mounted on /opt. Optware works, but I couldn't access the data partition. After a little trial and error, Redhawk's solution corrected the problem.

A couple of points:
    I had to leave the USB automount running;
    For some reason the data partition was in /dev/discs/disc0/part1 and the optware partition in part 3;
    The swap partition was in part2, but once optware was correctly mounted, the swapfile took care of itself.


So my startup command reads:
Code:
sleep 15
umount /opt
umount /opt
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part1 /mnt
mount /dev/discs/disc0/part3 /opt


Thanks!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum