TP-Link TL-WA730RE v1

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Author Message
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 14:40    Post subject: TP-Link TL-WA730RE v1 Reply with quote
Test file of r19342 while waiting for Brainslayers official support.

Use WA801NDv1 files for updates until the router gets its own build.

Use WA730RE v1 revert files from the sticky Revert Files thread if you want to revert to stock firmware.


Last edited by LOM on Fri Jan 11, 2013 18:51; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
ranjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually use or would you prefer WA801NDv1 WA701NDv1 files for updates, thank you for reply.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
ranjo wrote:
Actually use or would you prefer WA801NDv1 WA701NDv1 files for updates, thank you for reply.


It doesn't really matter that much because it is only the radio chip that differs between them and dd-wrt support both and will automatically detect if it is a single stream or dual stream radio.

There is currently no official dd-wrt WA701ND build so that is why you have to use a WA801ND build for update.
The WA730RE may be supported at the same time as WA701ND in which case you of course use the WA730RE build for update.
R0peE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
the firmware is working great 4 days non-stop now and counting Smile, no freezes, only bug is that there is no 150mbps n connection it goes only up till 72mbps, thank you for the upload, the original firmware is instable and crappy, i talked to the TP-link support about it, but they ignored my 10th e-mail
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
wiki: atheros wifi settings
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 13:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
The firmware is based on WR841ND which has a dual stream radio (2T2R) and 2 antennas while the 7xx series has a single stream and 1 antenna.
Check if antenna chain setting is correct, it should be 1 for both rx and tx chains, not 1+2 or 1+3.
R0peE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
wiki: atheros wifi settings


that and the chains did the trick Smile thanks for the help!!
ludoo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I stumbled upon this thread by accident while trying to find a firmware for my WA730RE, which did not want to work properly. I installed dd-wrt and it's flying, thanks *a lot*!
The-Crackin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a TL-WA730RE. I tried to update the firmware using factory-to-ddwrt.bin & tl-wa801nd-webflash.bin as mentioned above in this forum. It said that the file was too large and wouldn't complete the update. I got the files from Brainslayer. Can anyone help me with this issue? Also, if someone has a link to provide to a file that will work I would appreciate it.

Thanks
R0peE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
The-Crackin wrote:
I have a TL-WA730RE. I tried to update the firmware using factory-to-ddwrt.bin & tl-wa801nd-webflash.bin as mentioned above in this forum. It said that the file was too large and wouldn't complete the update. I got the files from Brainslayer. Can anyone help me with this issue? Also, if someone has a link to provide to a file that will work I would appreciate it.

Thanks


You just need to flash the one that is uploaded into this post, nothing more, and your AP will fly high
The-Crackin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 22:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply. Yet, I don't see any links in this forum to the file I need for my tp-link wa730re v1. I'm new to forums so maybe I'm missing something. Can someone provide the link? I tried brainslayer and my ap won't accept it. It says the file is too big.

Thanks.
The-Crackin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see the file now. It wasn't showing up earlier. I will try to update it tomorrow.

Thanks.
fernandovictor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
It works perfect! Thanks for your job.
ewac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 16:59    Post subject: Re: TP-Link TL-WA730RE Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Test file of r19342 while waiting for Brainslayers official support.

Use WA801NDv1 files for updates until the router gets its own build.

Use WA730RE v1 revert files from the sticky Revert Files thread if you want to revert to stock firmware.


downloaded sw on 730 AP and works ok expect one problem....anyone know how i can use it as openVPN as i am wanting to use it to simulate a UK ip address.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 17:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is no OpenVPN in Atheros based routers with 4MB flash, there is no space for it.

Get yourself a decent router with min 8MB flash, OpenVPN is a big package and it needs good cpu speed for doing software crypto.
The 730 RE is just a very cheap and simple acesspoint and is not suitable for OpenVPN.
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 13
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum