NV60 / NV64 upgrade thread - List of routers

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11198

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 22:50    Post subject: NV60 / NV64 upgrade thread - List of routers Reply with quote
I need a thread that lists which routers need to use nv60 in post 167xx builds, and which routers need to use nv64 builds. I know that the e2000 and e3000 routers use nv60 to UPGRADE (after flashing the proper initial trailed build, following the wiki instructions!).

Which other routers use nv60. Which use nv64?

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
(RT-N66U 32KB nvram)

E900 64KB nvram
E1200v1 64KB nvram
E1200v2 64KB nvram
E1500 64KB nvram
E1550 60KB nvram
E2500 60KB nvram
E3200 60KB nvram
E4200 60KB nvram



RT-N66U should not be included yet, a nvram size change is pending.

Netgear WNDR3400 nv64k
Netgear WNDR3700v3 nv64k
Netgear WNDR4000 nv64k
Netgear WNDR4500 nv64k


Last edited by LOM on Sun Sep 08, 2013 23:56; edited 2 times in total
Antilycus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:19    Post subject: RE: RT-N66U Reply with quote
Don't hold your breath on the RT-N66U. Looks like the devs aren't going to change the size issue.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/ticket/2640#ticket
davidkennedy85
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry if this is a noob question, but does this mean that I must always use a build with nv64k in the bin file name when upgrading from one version of DD-WRT to the next on my Cisco Linksys E1200 V1?
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1231
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
davidkennedy85 wrote:
Sorry if this is a noob question, but does this mean that I must always use a build with nv64k in the bin file name when upgrading from one version of DD-WRT to the next on my Cisco Linksys E1200 V1?

nv64k should only be flashed with nv64k (or stock firmware). Take care not to flash a too old build, since your router is supported only after a certain build.

_________________
Asus RT-N16 running Merlin (latest), formerly used Kong 22000++ kingkong-nv32k-broadcom with OTRW2

E4200 V1 running Kong 22000++ kingkong-nv60k-broadcom with OTRW2

2 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 running Kong 22000++ usb-ftp-samba3-dlna-nv60k-broadcom with OTRW2 (bridged with LAN cable)


Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Now with the updated cfe to the N66U router would it be OK to flash the nv64k-build or does it need further development to support N66U?
benito11
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
+1
benito11
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is a CFE update available for RT-N66U:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=163479&start=210
darussiaman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 41
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
slobodan wrote:

nv64k should only be flashed with nv64k (or stock firmware).


Sorry if I'm being thick, but can I get a clarification on this?

Does ANY router that has 64k NVRAM necessarily REQUIRE a build with nv64 in its name? Is that what you're saying?

(I posed this question in the thread I started about the Netgear WNDR3700v3 but got no replies yet.)

_________________
Not all those who wander are lost
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1231
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 21:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
darussiaman wrote:
Sorry if I'm being thick, but can I get a clarification on this?

Does ANY router that has 64k NVRAM necessarily REQUIRE a build with nv64 in its name? Is that what you're saying?

(I posed this question in the thread I started about the Netgear WNDR3700v3 but got no replies yet.)

First, check if your router is supported. If it isn't, you could brick it.

Second, before flashing the router, read the Peacock announcement.

Third, for initial flashing follow the wiki.

_________________
Asus RT-N16 running Merlin (latest), formerly used Kong 22000++ kingkong-nv32k-broadcom with OTRW2

E4200 V1 running Kong 22000++ kingkong-nv60k-broadcom with OTRW2

2 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 running Kong 22000++ usb-ftp-samba3-dlna-nv60k-broadcom with OTRW2 (bridged with LAN cable)


darussiaman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 41
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
slobodan wrote:

First, check if your router is supported. If it isn't, you could brick it.

Second, before flashing the router, read the Peacock announcement.

Third, for initial flashing follow the wiki.


*sigh*

I have done all of that. It's initially flashed already. But you're not exactly addressing my question.

I'm asking if any router that has 64k nvram requires a build with nv64k in the name. In other words, is it a consistent rule? Or can there be routers that have 64k nvram but do NOT require a build with nv64k in the name?


Thanks.

_________________
Not all those who wander are lost
darussiaman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 41
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 21:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf, other people have used nv64k builds with the Netgear WNDR3700v3. So I guess this router should be added to the list?
_________________
Not all those who wander are lost
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1231
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 13:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
darussiaman wrote:
I'm asking if any router that has 64k nvram requires a build with nv64k in the name. In other words, is it a consistent rule? Or can there be routers that have 64k nvram but do NOT require a build with nv64k in the name?

It it has 64 kB NVRAM, then it has to use nv64k builds or specific trailed builds (with the name of the router in their name). Some routers can only cope with trailed builds.

_________________
Asus RT-N16 running Merlin (latest), formerly used Kong 22000++ kingkong-nv32k-broadcom with OTRW2

E4200 V1 running Kong 22000++ kingkong-nv60k-broadcom with OTRW2

2 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 running Kong 22000++ usb-ftp-samba3-dlna-nv60k-broadcom with OTRW2 (bridged with LAN cable)


darussiaman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 41
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
slobodan wrote:
It it has 64 kB NVRAM, then it has to use nv64k builds or specific trailed builds (with the name of the router in their name). Some routers can only cope with trailed builds.


Great, thank you for confirming/clarifying that. Much appreciated! Very Happy

_________________
Not all those who wander are lost
siloan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why special builds for 64kb of nvram? On my wrt320n(BS r21676) it shows 30.41KB/64KB and if i remember correctly the router has only 32kb.. bug?

Last edited by siloan on Sat Aug 10, 2013 18:03; edited 1 time in total
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum