Cisco Linksys EA6500 AC ROUTER *Test Bin Page 5*

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 45, 46, 47  Next
Author Message
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 22:00    Post subject: EA6500 Test BIN Reply with quote
Ok,

Here it is, the EA6500 is now working with DD-WRT, it has both 2.4ghz and 5.8ghz bands working and this bin works going from stock to dd-wrt firmware.

IMPORTANT!!!: READ BELOW CAREFULLY!

1. Make sure your router is not connected to the internet and that you are logged into it hardwired.

2. Login in locally with a webbrowser to http://192.168.1.1
the default password is admin

3. Update firmware from the connectivity /administration/connection tab and choose the file linked below.

4. A status bar will go across your screen in red, let it finish, GIVE IT 5 minutes, this is a 21mb file.

5.... After 5 minutes you should be able to get to a web browser in a NEW TAB!!!!

The bin is available here:

ftp://ftp.basmaf.com/Fractal_Builds/22524/Linksys-EA6500/dd-wrt-K3x-22524-ea6500.trx

DO NOT MAKE TRAC TICKETS, post your info here!.. enough said.

Enjoy,

-Fractal

Sponsor
bedwards311
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thx for the download link.

I disconnected my ea6500 from the Internet and tried flashing the dd wrt firmware but I'm encountering issues. The dd wrt firmware isn't flashed after the reboot it stays on stock firmware. I'm on stock firmware version 1.1.28.147876

I tried resetting the ea6500 to factory defaults then attempting to flash again with no luck.
Lightsword
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
bedwards311 wrote:
Thx for the download link.

I disconnected my ea6500 from the Internet and tried flashing the dd wrt firmware but I'm encountering issues. The dd wrt firmware isn't flashed after the reboot it stays on stock firmware. I'm on stock firmware version 1.1.28.147876

I tried resetting the ea6500 to factory defaults then attempting to flash again with no luck.

Is it uploading correctly? I know stock linksys firmware does not play well with certain browsers. Try using IE or chrome.
bedwards311
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tried safari, chrome on OSX 10.8 and my win8 virtual with ie and chrome as well. Ill keep trying and post back. Thanks!
bedwards311
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Booyah! I downgraded stock firmware to 1.1.28.146856 and now it takes the dd wrt firmware. Dunno if it was the newer stock firmware of something funky with my browser! Wahoo finally dd wrt action!!!!!
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
bedwards311 wrote:
Booyah! I downgraded stock firmware to 1.1.28.146856 and now it takes the dd wrt firmware. Dunno if it was the newer stock firmware of something funky with my browser! Wahoo finally dd wrt action!!!!!


Glad to hear you got it working.. what version did you have on it before you downgrade to stock? I didnt check my oem firmware version before flashing...

But I agree this router performs well so far with dd-wrt.

-Fractal
hunterson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:27    Post subject: Re: EA6500 Test BIN Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:


3. Update firmware from the connectivity /administration/connection tab and choose the file linked below.


-Fractal



Thx for the download link.
But where the connection tab option is? I downloaded the bin,login into the ea6500 , check the connectivity / administration ,there is no connection tab. I'm on stock firmware version 1.1.28.146856
CM000n
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2013
Posts: 25
Location: DE, Karlsruhe

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Updatet from Firmware 1.1.28.147876 to DD-WRT.
Without any problems so far!

Thank you so much!
It's like christmas Very Happy
zhark
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 13:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
bedwards311 wrote:
Booyah! I downgraded stock firmware to 1.1.28.146856 and now it takes the dd wrt firmware. Dunno if it was the newer stock firmware of something funky with my browser! Wahoo finally dd wrt action!!!!!


Could you please send me a link to the 1.1.28.146856 firmware?
I'm on 1.1.28.147876, and I can't seem to upgrade to dd-wrt.
I have tried Safari and Firefox on Mac, and Chrome on Windows without success.
I cannot seem to find the old firmware anywhere.

EDIT: Found it in the dd-wrt linksys firmware thread: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=24303
grillovillegas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi I just enabled the JFFS2 Support
and the router went to a like brick state for over 10 minutes no answering pings nothing, I was already packing it up and I tried one more time and now I am able to connect to it.
zhark
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great work!

I was able to flash dd-wrt successfully after downgrading the Linksys firmware (see previous post).

The only issues I've found so far is that 2,4GHz doesn't seem to support 802.11N. And 5GHz doesn't seem to support 802.11N and 802.11AC. I'm not able to get above 54mbps.
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
zhark wrote:
Great work!

I was able to flash dd-wrt successfully after downgrading the Linksys firmware (see previous post).

The only issues I've found so far is that 2,4GHz doesn't seem to support 802.11N. And 5GHz doesn't seem to support 802.11N and 802.11AC. I'm not able to get above 54mbps.


That is odd if you see my post in the screen shot I was getting wireless N @ 288mb/s on the 5ghz side

-Fractal
zhark
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Got it working with 802.11ac!

Disabling WMM (Wireless->WLX-Advanced) caused the respective interface to misbehave (bug?), had to leave it enabled.

I now have better range and speed than the official Linksys firmware (585mbps)!

I used the nvram tool to change to the appropriate regulatory domain, the default (EU/Germany) had only the lowest block of channels available (5.3GHz)

I'm wondering if the options in the "Extension Channel" dropdown is swapped? lower<->upper

Thanks again for making dd-wrt on the ea6500 happen Very Happy
Lightsword
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 19:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
zhark wrote:
Got it working with 802.11ac!

Disabling WMM (Wireless->WLX-Advanced) caused the respective interface to misbehave (bug?), had to leave it enabled.

I now have better range and speed than the official Linksys firmware (585mbps)!

I used the nvram tool to change to the appropriate regulatory domain, the default (EU/Germany) had only the lowest block of channels available (5.3GHz)

I'm wondering if the options in the "Extension Channel" dropdown is swapped? lower<->upper

Thanks again for making dd-wrt on the ea6500 happen Very Happy

Never disable wmm on anything newer than wireless g, it is a required protocol and will cause the device to revert to g speeds.
1clue
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 23:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you have a way to test if VLANs work? I really want this, but it's just about the worst possible time for me, I'm very busy with work. I NEED vlan support.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 45, 46, 47  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 47
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum