E3276 on WZR-HP-G300NH2 ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
micke-fi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:07    Post subject: E3276 on WZR-HP-G300NH2 ? Reply with quote
Hi,

I'm trying to make a Huawei E3276 4G-dongle work with a Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2. I have upgraded the router FW to DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std (SVN revision 21061). But still no luck, seems like the router has problems talking to this dongle. (The router works fine otherwise after the FW upgrade.)

Is this combination supposed to work?


PS. The APN and connection strings are correct. The dongle works fine in other routers.
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7214

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 13:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Mobile_Broadband#Not_Supported_Modems_or_Not_Working_Modems
micke-fi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. Yes, the modem is missing, but that really tells us nothing as the list is said to be incomplete. That's why I asked if anybody has tried it. Apparently not.
Eneen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
How come?
It is listed:
E3276 LTE 12d1:14fe 12d1:1506 4 0 5 & 6 serial & ncm

Code:
T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=  2 Spd=480  MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=12d1 ProdID=14fe Rev= 1.02
S:  Manufacturer=HUAWEI Technology
S:  Product=HUAWEI Mobile
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=(none)
E:  Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
I:* If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=(none)
E:  Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=82(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms


... and it it listed on my 1043ND
But still I don't know how to run it.
Any help?
BlaY0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually E3276 on dd-wrt works just fine. In serial mode that is. All you have to do is a little trick to switch 2nd and 3rd serial port. You can do this by issueing:

AT^SETPORT="A1,A2;10,13,12"
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7214

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlaY0 wrote:
Actually E3276 on dd-wrt works just fine. In serial mode that is. All you have to do is a little trick to switch 2nd and 3rd serial port. You can do this by issueing:

AT^SETPORT="A1,A2;10,13,12"


I can't see why you would have to do that, the modem is on the 1st serial port

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
BlaY0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:

I can't see why you would have to do that, the modem is on the 1st serial port

Well, because as Eneen wrote, it is not a 12d1:156a E3276 but actually a 12d1:1506 E3276 (I also happen to have one of these). And what you have in lib3g.c under 12d1:1506 is a E367/E398 which has ttyUSB2 as controldevice. So our E3276 (which has ttyUSB1 as controldevice by default) is detected as E367/E398. What you have to do is switch ttyUSB1 with ttyUSB2 as I stated above and it should work with your lib3g.c otherwise it won't.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7214

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlaY0 wrote:
LOM wrote:

I can't see why you would have to do that, the modem is on the 1st serial port

Well, because as Eneen wrote, it is not a 12d1:156a E3276 but actually a 12d1:1506 E3276 (I also happen to have one of these). And what you have in lib3g.c under 12d1:1506 is a E367/E398 which has ttyUSB2 as controldevice. So our E3276 (which has ttyUSB1 as controldevice by default) is detected as E367/E398. What you have to do is switch ttyUSB1 with ttyUSB2 as I stated above and it should work with your lib3g.c otherwise it won't.


dd-wrt does currently not use the controldevice, it uses the datadevice (modem port) only and all 12d1:1506 which has a ppp modem interface has it as first interface (ttyUSB0 which equals tts/0).
The name string assigned to 12d1:1506 in lib3g.c has nothing to do with detection, it is just information for the user. Dongle type detection is only done by usb id.
There are at least 20 different E-models with 12d1:1506 as usb id, I wont waste flash space by making a longer name string including all model names.

Eneen's only problem is that his dongle has not switched from initial mode with usb id 12d1:14fe.
BlaY0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:

dd-wrt does currently not use the controldevice...

You're right about dialing... it is definitely done via modem port. But setting COMGTPIN, COMGNMVARIANT and COMGTAPN is done via controldevice:
Code:
5957 root       840 S    comgt PIN -d /dev/usb/tts/2
5967 root       840 S    comgt -d /dev/usb/tts/2 -s /etc/comgt/netmode.comgt
5976 root       840 S    comgt APN -d /dev/usb/tts/2

...and failure to do so means you can't establish ppp connection either.

But if you have problem just with switching your dongle into modem mode, you can set it like this:
Code:
AT^SETPORT="FF;10,13,12"

...and your dongle when plugged should start in modem mode.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7214

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlaY0 wrote:
LOM wrote:

dd-wrt does currently not use the controldevice...

You're right about dialing... it is definitely done via modem port. But setting COMGTPIN, COMGNMVARIANT and COMGTAPN is done via controldevice:


ok, looks like the use of the controldevice is back..
The datadevice (the modem interface) will accept all AT cmds, the controldevice is mainly intended for cmds after a ppp connection is made in order to not disturb the ppp connection.
That would be for cell info which dd-wrt has not implemented because there are way too many differences between mfgrs custom AT cmds and also differences between dongles from one and same mfgr.
BlaY0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
How do you mean "back"? Using controldevice for setting SIM pin and APN context is there since i started using 3G dongles and that was in 2009.

I know I can send all AT commands to datadevice, but dd-wrt backend obviously doesn't Wink
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum