Asus RT-AC68U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
sadpanda
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:23    Post subject: Asus RT-AC68U Reply with quote
I just bought a AC68U router and tried flashing it with ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/04-24-2017-r31899/asus-rt-ac68u/ which is a link I got from the wiki https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-AC68U

I waited until the message "Firmware upgrade is done. Please reboot RT-AC68U manually".

I did that, only to get a minor heart attack thinking I bricked the router. It didn't respond at all or give me an ipaddress after rebooting, I set my ipaddress manually to 192.168.1.10 and still there was no ping response. Now I was previously using an ipaddress of 192.168.100.254 on the router, so I tried switching to that network and found out that I was in Asustek CFE miniWEB, which let me re-upload firmware from Asus, thank god.

Now I understand that this is called soft-bricking, but can anyone tell me what went wrong? Is this really the wrong firmware that I tried to upgrade to? I read that I should follow the information on the WIKI page, which I did, and used the Brainslayer build first.

I really don't want to risk bricking my new router so any suggestions or information would be well appreciated.


H/W Ver: E1
F/W Ver: 3.0.0.4.380_3264 however I updated it to 3.0.0.4.380_7743
Sponsor
leadboots5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
I waited until the message "Firmware upgrade is done. Please reboot RT-AC68U manually".


How long did you give it? Always give it a solid 5 minutes. Even if it says its complete it may still be building variables in the background and a restart will brick your router. Your router file choice seems correct.

_________________
Linksys E3000
ASUS RT-AC68U
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5875
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
If it has recent asus firmware you are prevented from flashing third party firmware.
You will need to use the cfe mini web server to flash it.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1374
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malaki is correct about Asus locking it down.
I'm not sure but I believe there is a chance you can also flash an older ver of the Asus code onto the router and from there go 3rd party.
I believe I found that info on slickdeals.net because people were buying the T-Mobile branded 68u and flashing it to full Asus firmware.
Smile

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7000 - AP mode
1st gen i7 pc running pfSense as WAN firewall/IPS.

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5875
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
You'd still need to use the mini cfe browser or restoration tool to flash an older version of asus.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1374
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 17:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
This page has a fairly straight forward step by step.
Assuming your comfortable with the items it walks you through.
I bought one about a year ago, flashed it over to AsusMerlin firmware for a friend and he has been happy with it since.
The one I did, came at 800Mhz but I modified the CFE to 1000Mhz & it runs just fine.
YMMV!!!
http://www.bayareatechpros.com/ac1900-to-ac68u/

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7000 - AP mode
1st gen i7 pc running pfSense as WAN firewall/IPS.

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5875
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
He already has an rt-ac68u. He doesn't need to convert it. Btw, I've converted a few using the rt-ac68p cfe and overclocked them to 1.2ghz.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum