Bridged vs unbridged mode?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
tom34
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 20:27    Post subject: Bridged vs unbridged mode? Reply with quote
hi,

what is the difference between running the router in Bridged vs unbridged mode?
I'm using my router to connect to the internet and it is set to 'bridged'. WHat does that mean? The help file doesn't cover this topic.

thanks


Last edited by tom34 on Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:35; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3742
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
What screen do you see this on ?
_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
tom34
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
What screen do you see this on ?

It's under Wireless -> Basic Settings (Network Configuration)
and I made a mistake. It is set to "bridged" and not unbridged.
Wireless Mode = AP

thank you
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3742
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
tom34 wrote:
It's under Wireless -> Basic Settings (Network Configuration)
and I made a mistake. It is set to "bridged" and not unbridged.
Wireless Mode = AP
I cannot seem to find what you refer to. Sorry ! All I can offer is general advice. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. If you are curious, try different options to see if anything changes. If all else fails, try Google.


basic.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  54.88 KB
 Viewed:  72800 Time(s)

basic.jpg



_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
Mastec
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 399
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think he is referring to this


_________________
    WL-500gP v2 / Tomato v1.23.8506 ND USB FTP / WDS MAIN
    WHR-HP-G54 / Tomato 1.21.8005 / WDS CLIENT
    WRT54G v3 / Tomato 1.21.1515 / WDS CLIENT
tom34
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ Mastec

that's right. Thanks for uploading the screenshot Smile
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3742
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does the help file say anything about what this bridge applies to ? The wireless radio would seem to be one half of the bridge since it is in the wireless section. Is the other half the LAN ports, the WAN port, Vlan port or virtual SSID channel ? Maybe it is AP isolation that would keep wireless clients from seeing each other ? Even if I flashed 24 to see, there are so many possabilites that I might not ever figure it out. Good question. I hope that somebody gives the answer.
_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
wo-fo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is suposedly for bridging two different subnets, but as you say, there is no documentation on it...

Without any documentation at all on these types of things, they are basically useless.. I don't see how the function could be written without understanding it.. To release a function without a description is a waste of everybody's time, including the person who wrote the code..

No-one knows how to use it, so why have it there?

wo-fo
tom34
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm glad that I'm not the only one. I agree, it would be nice if there was proper documentation for all the functions. I know, it's is beta, so maybe once it hits gold. But then again, how are we supposed to test it, if we don't know what it is supposed to be doing?

Well, maybe someone knows what it does Smile
tom34
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyone?
Howie69
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Dec 2006
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am pretty sure it means that it bridges the WLAN and the LAN in interface br0

Which means that the WLAN is just like another port on the LAN....

Need examples? Here you go! :

Your LAN (wired ports 1-4 ) are setup to give addresses via DHCP ( automatic adressing ) in the range of 192.168.1.x. Let's say 192.168.1.100 thought 192.168.1.150 ( default ). Bridging means that the wireless ports are also part of this network, and will also recieve addresses in this range.

Now, if you choose 'Unbridged', then you get the option to give your wireless network a different subnet than your wired one. Which is why it then asks you for subnet addresses and masks ( I THINK this is required when using certain hotspot services, but that's a conversation for another time. ).

For most basic use, it will be best to have it in 'bridged' mode, as you have one local network sharing a pool or addresses and all attempting to go the same place. The unbridged option is for more advanced use and services ( like trying to keep your WiFI users from sniffing around your back office PCs that are wired, etc. )

I hope this clears things up for some of you, although I'll be willing to bet it confuses more than it helps.
LiFE1688
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Bridging is for WLAN to LAN.

Disabling the bridge puts the WLAN on a separate VLAN. So WLAN computers won't see the Wireed computers. It does not put it on a separate subnet, more like put it in a separate VLAN.
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 6:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
LiFE1688 wrote:
The Bridging is for WLAN to LAN.

Disabling the bridge puts the WLAN on a separate VLAN. So WLAN computers won't see the Wireed computers. It does not put it on a separate subnet, more like put it in a separate VLAN.
I tried turning off the bridge on my AP to see this effect and it did not work. My WLAN computer could still see a LAN computer. Also, when I disabled the bridge, two new fields appeared under the Wireless Physical Interface - IP Address and Subnet Mask. What should I put in these? I had left them at zeroes.
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
bump
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 13:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
bump
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum