DD-WRT micro on the Belkin F5D7231-4 Version 1212UK. Success

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 23:35    Post subject: DD-WRT micro on the Belkin F5D7231-4 Version 1212UK. Success Reply with quote
I have managed to get DD-WRT micro working on the Belkin F5D7231-4 Version 1212UK with considerable success the only thing I cannot confirm is the WAN port as I don't use it. Wlan works, Lan ports working and most of the lights correlate as well. Of course there is a craveat as there is with any firmware that is not designed for a system to be wary of however other than that it's all fine and has been running for 7 days now.


How To Make It Work
NOTE!! This information is for reference only. Neither I or the owners / Admins or other members of this forum are responsible for any damage caused to your router.
This how to is specifically for the Belken F5D7231-4 Ver: 1212UK as that is what I have in front of me. It may work with other versions, but you're on you own with that... Have a JTAG handy if you are prepared to try just in case!

OK here we go....
1: Hard Reset your router to pull everything back to factory settings.
2: Plug in a Cat 5 Cable between you router and PC and set up a fixed IP address of 192.168.2.2 on your PC.
3: Use the linksys tftp utility to TFTP a dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin firmware to your router. (use the search to find the download link and how to use it) IP Address 192.168.2.1, no password. DO NOT RESET THE ROUTER!!!!
4: Now HTTP into the router on 192.168.2.1. If you can see the DD-WRT page the proceed to step 6.
5: If you get page canno be displayed the set a fixed IP on the PC of 192.168.1.2 and HTTP into 192.168.1.1 you should see the page then.
6: Now Telnet into the router using the IP address which works and copy and paste the following:
Code:
nvram set boardflags=0x398
nvram commit
reboot

This enables the Lan (and hopefully the WAN - unable to test at the mo.). - Big Thanks to McTedson in this thread for the information on how to enable the LAN.

On the lights side of things. The power LED will flash 5 or 6 times and then go out during boot up... Don't worry... It's working! The WLAN indicator is the "Connected" LED and the Lan and WAN LEDS are all correct. Dont know if the WLAN LED comes on when WAN is connected as I dont use the WAN port

WARNING!!! If you ever use the RESET BUTTON you will lose the Lan Ports - all lan and wan lights will go solid on. To rectify this connect in wirelessly to the router and perform Step 6 again.

Now enjoy DD-WRT on your Belken F5D7231.

Regards,
Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!


Last edited by Simon_Doc on Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:04; edited 5 times in total
Sponsor
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh well no one interested. Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad

Never mind. will keep on working with it anyway.

Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which model it is detected as?
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24 Beta (08/10/07) micro - build 7638

CPU Model Broadcom BCM5352 chip rev 0
CPU Clock 200 MHz

Listed as a default WRT54.

Si

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 4:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Simon_Doc wrote:
Router Model Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24 Beta (08/10/07) micro - build 7638

CPU Model Broadcom BCM5352 chip rev 0
CPU Clock 200 MHz

Listed as a default WRT54.

Si

OK, get me:
Code:
nvram show|grep board
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure Eko. Sorry was not sure what you wanted and am still on a learning curve with linux at the mo.

Ok here's what you wanted (have left the busybox version and build date in for reference)..

Code:

BusyBox v1.4.2 (2007-08-10 06:45:59 CEST) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

~ # nvram show|grep board
boardrev=25
boardtype=0x456
boardflags2=0
size: 22766 bytes (10002 left)
boardflags=0x398


Regards,

Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks,
but I need some more: cfe.bin and nvram.bin

Quote:
cat /dev/mtd/0 > /tmp/cfe.jpg
cat /dev/mtd/3 > /tmp/nvram.jpg


Then point your browser to http://routerip/user/cfe.jpg and save as cfe.bin (and same for nvran.bin)
You can pm me the files.
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 16:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry Eko, That just gives me 2 zero byte size files. Confused
Is there any other way we can extract?

Would it help if I mention that the Micro version is not modified in any way, and 1 entry is added to nvram in startup?

Regards,

Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
It works. Try with another browser.
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Worked it out Eko. You forgot the www in the middle of the save location lol. Laughing

You have PM as requested.

Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Edited with a how to in the 1st post.
Good luck.

Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:14    Post subject: Re: DD-WRT micro on the Belkin F5D7231-4 Version 1212UK. Suc Reply with quote
Simon_Doc wrote:

6: Now Telnet into the router using the IP address which works and copy and paste the following:
Code:
nvram set boardflags=0x398
nvram commit
reboot

This enables the Lan (and hopefully the WAN - unable to test at the mo.). - Big Thanks to McTedson in this thread for the information on how to enable the LAN.

But you have boardflags=0x398 already. Anyway, cfe sets this to 0x388, which indicate there is ADM switch onboard (wrong), but there is robo switch. 0x398 sets both robo and ADM bits on, but I guess 0x318 will be more appropriate to use (robo only).
I can set this automatically, when the detection of board will be proven to work.

reference:
Code:
/* boardflags */
#define   BFL_BTCOEXIST      0x0001   /* This board implements Bluetooth coexistance */
BFL_PACTRL      0x0002   /* This board has gpio 9 controlling the PA */
BFL_AIRLINEMODE      0x0004   /* This board implements gpio13 radio disable indication */
BFL_ENETROBO      0x0010   /* This board has robo switch or core */
BFL_CCKHIPWR      0x0040   /* Can do high-power CCK transmission */
BFL_ENETADM      0x0080   /* This board has ADMtek switch */
BFL_ENETVLAN      0x0100   /* This board has vlan capability */
BFL_AFTERBURNER      0x0200   /* This board supports Afterburner mode */
BFL_NOPCI      0x0400   /* This board leaves PCI floating */
BFL_FEM         0x0800  /* This board supports the Front End Module */
BFL_EXTLNA      0x1000   /* This board has an external LNA */
BFL_HGPA      0x2000   /* This board has a high gain PA */
BFL_BTCMOD      0x4000   /* This board' BTCOEXIST is in the alternate gpios */
Simon_Doc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Location: A Town Called Malice

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
The boardflags 0x398 you see from the "nvram show|grep board" command posted above are with them set in NVRAM using the boardflags=0x398 command. So I assume thats where that came from.
If you like I can erase the NVRAM reboot with no Lan and see what the grep board command says then? Also can also confirm the boardflags=0x318 as working or not at the same time.
Up to you mate.

Simon

_________________
To insanity... and Beyond!

WAP54G V3.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Repeater Bridge + WDS.
WRT54G V5.1 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Redundant.. For the mo!
WRT55AG Stock firmware - Piece of crap!
Belken F5D7231-4 DD-WRT Micro V24 - Working Nicely!
qoncept
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Holy cow. In Linux, I'm using tftp to try to transfer the file. I've rebooted the router over and over again (hard resets, unplugging, rebooting in the web based admin), tried every different timing I could think of to begin my transfer, set tftp to retry, everything I can think of. Transfer times out every single time. I can ping the address, I don't understand why tftp isn't working. Any tips?
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
When you are trying to TFTP, tap (not hold) the reset button to reboot the router instead of unplugging it.

Set up ping first:

ping 192.168.2.1 -W 10

Then tap reset button until it reboots

When you see ping reply with TTL 100, immediately start the TFTP transfer.

Also, it might help to use another router or switch in-between your PC and the Belkin.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum