I need help with my DD WRT Control Panel Settings!!!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Da G33k
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 3:22    Post subject: I need help with my DD WRT Control Panel Settings!!!! Reply with quote
Okay here is the story. I am very new to DDWRT as I recently got the DDWRT firmware installed on my linksys router. I need it to do two things, and i don't have a clue what to put for the settings. My main computer router is upstairs, and my new DDWRT router is downstairs. The signal isn't that great, so I would like to boost the signal by making it a repeater. Also downstairs, is my Xbox. I would also like to make the router be able to connect to xbox live by plugging in a ethernet cable into one of the ports. If one of you smart people could help me, that would be great!
Sponsor
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 5:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Serch wiki for client or client-bridge mode.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I assume you need to connect the 2 routers as wireless....if you can run a cable things will be much faster...but...if you can't.....

Check the wiki for WLAN_Repeater. This will set up one unit as a repeater to talk to the other.

Just keep in mind that you get only half the bandwidth when using repeater mode....so the max you would really get is 27Mbit as opposed to 54Mbit (It will display that you are connected 54Mbit...but don't be fooled.)

You would just plug your XBox into a LAN port of the repeater and it would repeat the signal to the main router.

Any questions...just ask.

redhawk

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 14:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I believe this is what Eko was refering to. This will also work in your case and not limit your BW.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode_Wireless

redhawk