Users for Samba auth??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
misguided
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 21:15    Post subject: Users for Samba auth?? Reply with quote
You'll have to forgive me as I'm relatively new at this...
Having been pleased with DD-WRT performance on my WRT54G, and having been thrilled when I added a GL as a wireless bridge, I decided to take it to the next level... I invested in an Asus WL-500W and a couple of hard drives and external cases. The idea was to combine the ssh tunneling and dyndns and all the features I enjoy now, with 1 TB of attached network storage and openvpn, as well as on-router torrent access, without having to leave a computer running. The golden age, if you will.
Having gotten v24 RC3 running on the 500W and gotten the startup script just right, mounting the drives and partitions, I'm doing the optware thing on one of them, running samba2, and trying to set up shares.
At this point, samba is running pretty much out of the box. From windows machines on the network I'm able to read from shares configured with public = yes, but they're currently read-only even though as far as samba is concerned they're set up to be writable...
More importantly, I want to restrict access based on username and password. I would like some shares to be read-only to all users but myself, and some shares to be invisible to anyone but myself... I'd also like all shares to be invisible to anyone who's not a user at all.
As far as I know, though, when you do that you're authenticating against the unix users and groups.
DD-WRT's linux system files are read-only, and no useradd or adduser or direct access to the files in question is supplied.
(I also can't access samba's cgi web interface for some reason, that just doesn't work. So I can't even see if I can set up the restrictions I want using it.)