wrt600n successful but...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 65, 66, 67  Next
Author Message
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
fine so far

thx

btw who told u that u can flash your router with this ddwrt version?

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Sponsor
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 19:39    Post subject: no one did Reply with quote
no one told me i can flash it, i just saw the rc6 release and i saw the wrt600n file. i said f**k it and flashed it, at first i thought i had bricked it because the power light would not stop flashing, i tried the recovery suggestions with wiki and after about three hard reboots it began to show me two networks. i logged in through 192.168.1.1 and voila there it was. i think i has 8 mb of flash because the linksys fw is about 6 mb. well anyway all in the name of pioneering for this project.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmm i cant find the the build in the download...can u give me the link?
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 23:15    Post subject: here you go... Reply with quote
[/url]http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/release candidates/DD-WRT v24 RC6.1/Broadcom/Linksys/WRT600N
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi

i cant find a special release for the 600N. only the standard builds and they are for 4mb flash devices.

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 20:04    Post subject: i posted the link Reply with quote
this is the link
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
then its a 4mb flash device not 8mb. there are only the ddwrt 4mb builds
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 21:11    Post subject: i think it is 8 mb flash Reply with quote
i think it is an 8 mb flash because the linksys fw is about 6-7mb flash. the dd-wrt does not include the usb support. i think the usb support take a couple mb mre adding the dd-wrt size. if the linksys fw is 6-7mb, i think the total would be about 8 mb flash just like the 350n which is the same thing as the 600n except the two radios.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
which amount of free flash is shown if u enable jffs?!
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
bigbambo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
i can provide nvram etc. tonight if you let me know which commands need to be run.

i flashed v24 rc 6.2 on a wrt600n over the lastest linksys firmware. It flashed fine.

as previously indicated, the power light blinks so i assume dd-wrt thinks the power light is the internet light. Also, it seems like the wireless/security lights are all shifted down.

in terms of operation, the wireless configuration screen shows both wireless radios but it seems like only the 5ghz radio actually works - i could not get anything to connect to the 2.4ghz radio. All status screens only show that radio. Also, on the wireless config screen there is an heading called undefined with an enable/disable option.

i ended up flashing back the linksys firmware so i could use both radios.
eduncan911
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks bigbambo. I've been waiting for someone to post an experience like this bfore deciding to purchase the wrt600n. I will now go ahead and purchase mine as it's good to know DD-WRT is making an effort to support it.

Since this is one of the first dual-radio routers using 802.11n (the last dual-radio routers were for 802.11a, many years ago - and pre-dates DD-WRT I believe), it will take some time for them to figure out how to support it.

A note to all: 802.11n's specs require all routers to default to the 2.4Ghz radio for 802.11n operation out-of-the-box, not the 5Ghz band. This is so it can be compatible with default SSID settings for 802.11b and g devices.

So if you obtain this router, or any other dual-radio draft-n router, remember that you will need to manually configure it to use the 5Ghz band for 802.11n.

bigbambo wrote:
(snip)
in terms of operation, the wireless configuration screen shows both wireless radios but it seems like only the 5ghz radio actually works - i could not get anything to connect to the 2.4ghz radio. All status screens only show that radio. Also, on the wireless config screen there is an heading called undefined with an enable/disable option.

i ended up flashing back the linksys firmware so i could use both radios.
bigbambo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
eduncan911 wrote:
Thanks bigbambo. I've been waiting for someone to post an experience like this bfore deciding to purchase the wrt600n. I will now go ahead and purchase mine as it's good to know DD-WRT is making an effort to support it.


glad to see someone else posting about getting one of these!

i will say, so far i am pleased with the router - even with it running the lame default linksys firmware. I get very good speed AND range using both the 5ghz band with my macbook and the 2.4ghz band with my old powerbook/xbox360 etc.
cramer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 52
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA, Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 0:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I saw an image someone got from Linksys's FCC filing. The one they had for review had the heat sink plates bonded in place, so they weren't removable. It's a real beast. DD-WRT shouldn't be able to fully control it -- it should need new wireless drivers to run both radios. Linksys uses v4.158.2.0, Jun 8 2007.
bigbambo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
cramer wrote:
I saw an image someone got from Linksys's FCC filing. The one they had for review had the heat sink plates bonded in place, so they weren't removable. It's a real beast. DD-WRT shouldn't be able to fully control it -- it should need new wireless drivers to run both radios. Linksys uses v4.158.2.0, Jun 8 2007.


hrm, do you know if any of the eko builds use the new driver?
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 21:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
i am axiously waiting for full support on the 600n. i had to revert back to the linksys fw beause of the 2.4ghz channel didn't work. i hope bs or eko are working on this router.
_________________
e3200 stock <- waiting for support
wrt400n v26 std with modded antennas
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 65, 66, 67  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 67
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum