Linksys WRT1900AC/Marvell support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 60, 61, 62 ... 152, 153, 154  Next
Author Message
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 3:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Those are the old instructions, for Kong's builds, pre-BS builds. Look back in this thread to see how this is done for BS's newer builds. The commands are different now, but the idea is the same. Here's an example:

Used these commands to reset the boot partition number and reboot back into Linksys stock firmware:

ubootenv get boot_part
ubootenv set boot_part 1
ubootenv get boot_part
reboot

The first command gets the current boot partition (which was 2 for me). Second command sets the boot partition to 1. Third command verifies that the boot partition was reset to 1. Last one reboots into Linksys stock firmware on partition 1. Finally found this above, posted by BrainSlayer.


Hope this helps.

Cosmic_phil wrote:
This was cut and pasted from an earlier post.

There's a command that you can use by telneting into your router to find out what your current boot partiion is. I believe that it's something like "fw_printenv boot_part", but I'm not sure at this point.

Once you find that out, if you're that you have stock Linksys firmware in the other boot partition, you can switch the boot partition to that one. Like if your dd-wrt is using boot partition 1, then you would do this:

fw_setenv boot_part 2
reboot

which will boot from the stock Linksys firmware in boot partion 2.
Sponsor
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
MrDoh wrote:

ubootenv get boot_part
ubootenv set boot_part 1
ubootenv get boot_part
reboot

Standard uboot commands

easy peasy

Thanks for the note Smile

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
re: betas/2015/09-11-2015-r27805

Whats the wifi driver ver (not the F/W)

Whats the F/W ver also.

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
Cosmic_phil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Sep 2015
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
@gufus

The output of uname -a
Linux DD-WRT 3.18.21 #31 SMP Sun Sep 6 23:20:22 CEST 2015 armv7l GNU/Linux.
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice!

Kernel Version 3.18.21

The image was built on Sun Sep 6 23:20:22 CEST 2015

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
tonyca
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
with latest Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 (09/11/15

what is the synced speed with your wifi 5g and 2.4g?
at 2.4g I only got 144M
and 5g I got 300M synced with 6205 and 400M with 7625.
loceposec
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 15:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like internal nslookup utility doesn't query DNS server from the commandline. I have deliberately specified an invalid IP for DNS server and the query result is still definitely valid.
DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 std (09/11/15)
Code:

root@myrouter:~# nslookup dd-wrt.com 255.255.255.255
Server:    255.255.255.255
Address 1: 255.255.255.255

Name:      dd-wrt.com
Address 1: 83.141.4.210 mail.dd-wrt.com
viking2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 20:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
MrDoh wrote:
Those are the old instructions, for Kong's builds, pre-BS builds. Look back in this thread to see how this is done for BS's newer builds. The commands are different now, but the idea is the same. Here's an example:

Used these commands to reset the boot partition number and reboot back into Linksys stock firmware:

ubootenv get boot_part
ubootenv set boot_part 1
ubootenv get boot_part
reboot

The first command gets the current boot partition (which was 2 for me). Second command sets the boot partition to 1. Third command verifies that the boot partition was reset to 1. Last one reboots into Linksys stock firmware on partition 1. Finally found this above, posted by BrainSlayer.


Hope this helps.

Cosmic_phil wrote:
This was cut and pasted from an earlier post.

There's a command that you can use by telneting into your router to find out what your current boot partiion is. I believe that it's something like "fw_printenv boot_part", but I'm not sure at this point.

Once you find that out, if you're that you have stock Linksys firmware in the other boot partition, you can switch the boot partition to that one. Like if your dd-wrt is using boot partition 1, then you would do this:

fw_setenv boot_part 2
reboot

which will boot from the stock Linksys firmware in boot partion 2.

Sorry for being a novice at this. I went to http://192.168.2.1/sysinfo.cgi and it showed:
fw_printenv boot_part: boot_part=2

Do I need to change this to boot_part=1 before applying the DD-WRT firmware?
If so, how do I Telnet into the router?
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
viking2 wrote:
MrDoh wrote:
Those are the old instructions, for Kong's builds, pre-BS builds. Look back in this thread to see how this is done for BS's newer builds. The commands are different now, but the idea is the same. Here's an example:

Used these commands to reset the boot partition number and reboot back into Linksys stock firmware:

ubootenv get boot_part
ubootenv set boot_part 1
ubootenv get boot_part
reboot

The first command gets the current boot partition (which was 2 for me). Second command sets the boot partition to 1. Third command verifies that the boot partition was reset to 1. Last one reboots into Linksys stock firmware on partition 1. Finally found this above, posted by BrainSlayer.


Hope this helps.

Cosmic_phil wrote:
This was cut and pasted from an earlier post.

There's a command that you can use by telneting into your router to find out what your current boot partiion is. I believe that it's something like "fw_printenv boot_part", but I'm not sure at this point.

Once you find that out, if you're that you have stock Linksys firmware in the other boot partition, you can switch the boot partition to that one. Like if your dd-wrt is using boot partition 1, then you would do this:

fw_setenv boot_part 2
reboot

which will boot from the stock Linksys firmware in boot partion 2.

Sorry for being a novice at this. I went to http://192.168.2.1/sysinfo.cgi and it showed:
fw_printenv boot_part: boot_part=2

Do I need to change this to boot_part=1 before applying the DD-WRT firmware?
If so, how do I Telnet into the router?


Current dd-wrt releases can be flashed no matter what partition is currently active. If you are on linksys firmware, just flash dd-wrt and you are good to go.
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
viking2 wrote:

Sorry for being a novice at this. I went to http://192.168.2.1/sysinfo.cgi and it showed:
fw_printenv boot_part: boot_part=2

Do I need to change this to boot_part=1 before applying the DD-WRT firmware?
If so, how do I Telnet into the router?


Sorry, the example I gave above was that way simply because I had Linksys stock firmware in boot partition 1. If your Linksys stock firmware is in boot partition 2, that's fine. When you flash dd-wrt when running your stock Linksys firmware, the dd-wrt firmware will go into boot partition 1. So if you need or want to boot Linksys stock firmware, you'll just need to switch the boot partition back to 2, where the Linksys stock firmware is, and reboot.

To telnet into the router, just use a terminal emulator like putty (there are others, of course). Set it to telnet, and use the address to telnet to as the IP address of your router. For example, if your router's IP address was 192.168.1.1, then you would set the IP address to telnet into as 192.168.1.1. Simple. I suggest trying telnet before you actually need to, so that you have it set up, but that part's totally up to you *smile*.


Last edited by MrDoh on Fri Sep 25, 2015 21:07; edited 2 times in total
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
viking2 wrote:

Sorry for being a novice at this. I went to http://192.168.2.1/sysinfo.cgi and it showed:
fw_printenv boot_part: boot_part=2

Do I need to change this to boot_part=1 before applying the DD-WRT firmware?


If it says boot_part=2 for whatever reason, goto

Troubleshooting->Diagnostics->Restore previous firmware

reboot and check again if sysinfo.cgi displays boot_part=1

I'm not sure what boot_part you have to be on before flashing dd-wrt

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
gufus
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Posts: 612
Location: behind the screen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 21:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
MrDoh wrote:

partition 1. If your Linksys stock firmware is in boot partition 2, that's fine.

So you can be on either boot_part before flashing dd-wrt (both work)?

_________________
WRT3200ACM openwrt 18.06.5
WRT3200ACM dd-wrt r41791
WRT54GL dd-wrt r21676
viking2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 23:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
MrDoh wrote:
viking2 wrote:

Sorry for being a novice at this. I went to http://192.168.2.1/sysinfo.cgi and it showed:
fw_printenv boot_part: boot_part=2

Do I need to change this to boot_part=1 before applying the DD-WRT firmware?
If so, how do I Telnet into the router?


Sorry, the example I gave above was that way simply because I had Linksys stock firmware in boot partition 1. If your Linksys stock firmware is in boot partition 2, that's fine. When you flash dd-wrt when running your stock Linksys firmware, the dd-wrt firmware will go into boot partition 1. So if you need or want to boot Linksys stock firmware, you'll just need to switch the boot partition back to 2, where the Linksys stock firmware is, and reboot.

To telnet into the router, just use a terminal emulator like putty (there are others, of course). Set it to telnet, and use the address to telnet to as the IP address of your router. For example, if your router's IP address was 192.168.1.1, then you would set the IP address to telnet into as 192.168.1.1. Simple. I suggest trying telnet before you actually need to, so that you have it set up, but that part's totally up to you *smile*.


As mentioned above, my router IP is 192.168.2.1. I am on Windows 7, and using the builtin telnet via command prompt, I typed "telnet 192.168.2.1" and got the response:
"Connecting To 192.168.2.1...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed"
What port do I need to use?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7209
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't think you can telnet into the router with stock firmware running.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
tonyca
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 2:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
my router with latest dd-wrt firmware is not working with remote desktop connection within the local network.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 60, 61, 62 ... 152, 153, 154  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 61 of 154
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum