wifi 2.4 and 5 Ghz

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
AreA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 15:41    Post subject: wifi 2.4 and 5 Ghz Reply with quote
Hello

I am trying to test the Linksys EA6350. I am wondering about the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz

For the SSID should the same SSID be put in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz so that the client automatically connects to the best according to his device? There will be no conflict?

Regarding the WDS laision how is it handled? Need to configure the MAC address only in 2.4Ghz and / or 5Ghz? Have the same SSID?

Can you tell me the best 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz configuration for customers and WDS links?

Thank you.
Sponsor
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1118
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 17:30    Post subject: Re: wifi 2.4 and 5 Ghz Reply with quote
AreA wrote:
For the SSID should the same SSID be put in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz so that the client automatically connects to the best according to his device? There will be no conflict?
It should be ok to do that...I never have though; you'll just have to try it.
AreA wrote:
Regarding the WDS laision how is it handled? Need to configure the MAC address only in 2.4Ghz and / or 5Ghz? Have the same SSID?

Can you tell me the best 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz configuration for customers and WDS links?
For WDS/Client/Repeater modes, only use one radio for the upstream connection; the other can be an AP, or disabled if unneeded.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 pfSense 2.4.0rc|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.68_2|33215: WNDR4500v2 & WNDR4000@533 k3, 31825: WRT54GSv6@250 µ
& GLv1.1@250 VoIP
|GLv1.1@250 TM 1.28.7636 VPN|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod, HWREN1v1-HWABN1v1 mod
TheTech
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Aug 2017
Posts: 9
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 19:05    Post subject: Re: wifi 2.4 and 5 Ghz Reply with quote
AreA wrote:
Hello

I am trying to test the Linksys EA6350. I am wondering about the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz

For the SSID should the same SSID be put in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz so that the client automatically connects to the best according to his device? There will be no conflict?

Regarding the WDS laision how is it handled? Need to configure the MAC address only in 2.4Ghz and / or 5Ghz? Have the same SSID?

Can you tell me the best 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz configuration for customers and WDS links?

Thank you.


I use the same SSID and security configuration for both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands on my DIR-880L without any issues to report. I find that if the client device supports 5GHz bands, it will often choose that over the 2.4GHz band.
(It only appears as one connection, even if the device supports both bands.)

_________________
Network equipment

D-Link DIR-880L (AP)
Linksys WRT54G v8 v24-sp2 micro - 14929 (AP)
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
As said you won't have any troubles. Even though, I prefer to have them separated so for example for my phone I use 2.4 since bandwidth used by it is minimum and I have it on my pocket so less signal, going here and there around the house, etc, so if I would use 5ghz it would be wasting more battery because of phone antenna trying max power due to low signal. On the contrary for stationary PCs or laptop and my fire stick I use 5ghz.
_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
AreA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for your answers. I forgot to mention that I am going to use the Linksys EA6350 with the Hotspot system (Chillispot) and therefore according to the area to put networked repeaters connected to the main terminal or WDS.

When customers go away they will not go back on the band 2.4Ghz if it is the same SSID and so re-enter the code on the captive portal because of the disconnection or is it transparent?
AreA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
AreA wrote:
Thank you for your answers. I forgot to mention that I am going to use the Linksys EA6350 with the Hotspot system (Chillispot) and therefore according to the area to put networked repeaters connected to the main terminal or WDS.

When customers go away they will not go back on the band 2.4Ghz if it is the same SSID and so re-enter the code on the captive portal because of the disconnection or is it transparent?


Up Wink
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum