Connecting USB Storage

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Joe101010
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:32    Post subject: Connecting USB Storage Reply with quote
Hi all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to dd-wrt or Linux.

I'm trying to connect a 4TB WD USB drive to my USB enabled router (Netgear WNDR3400).

I was following the instructions on this page: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/USB_storage
But with no success. I was getting Status: "Not mounted - Unsupported file system or disk not formated."

Initially I was using a 2.6 mega build (dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k.bin), but it didn't even recognize my drive size correctly.
I then upgraded to dd-wrt.v24-24461_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k.bin, as I read that it supports big drives.
The new kernel identifies the drive size correctly, but still, it can't mount any partition.

I tried creating 3 ext3 partitions (as in the link above), or a single ext4 partition, but I always get the "Status: Not mounted - Unsupported file system or disk not formated" message.

Here is the output for the single ext4 partition:
--- /dev/sda
Block device, size 3.639 TiB (4000752599040 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 465.7 GiB (500093943808 bytes, 976745984 sectors from 256)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
First 124 KiB are blank
Status: Not mounted - Unsupported file system or disk not formated

I connected to the router using telnet\ssh and tried to issue a mount command:
mount -t ext4 /dev/sda1 /mnt

There were no errors, but when I check the state with "mount", /mnt doesn't appear in the list.

What am I doing wrong?
Are there any updated instructions for kernel 3.X on how to mount a USB drive to a dd-wrt router?

Thanks,
Joe.
Sponsor
Joe101010
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 4:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi again,

I checked the supported filesystems on my DD-WRT installation by doing: more /proc/filesystems.